
Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection 
Division of State Police 
Special Licensing & Firearms Unit 
(Rev. 1/14/19) 

 
ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTIVES TO APPLICANTS SEEKING 

LICENSURE OR CERTIFICATION 
 

Pursuant to Connecticut General State Statutes, Chapter 534, Section 29-152u through Section 
29-161aa, the Commissioner of Public Safety may grant a license upon being satisfied after the 
investigation of the competency, integrity and good character of an applicant. 
 
If you are applying as a Private Detective, Security Service or Agency license, please 
complete all items below, numbers 1-18. 
If you are applying as an Instructor, please complete item numbers 1-5, 8, 10 and 12. 
 
 
To expedite this character investigation and aid the investigating trooper, the following is required 
from the prospective applicant. 
 

1. The enclosed application must be accurately completed and notarized; 
2. Two (2) recent photographs, (2” x 2”) full face, passport style; 
3. Return completed fingerprint card- one (1) green State of Connecticut, two (2) separate 

Cashier’s Checks or Money Orders only, one in the amount of ($75.00) and one in the 
amount of ($13.25), both made payable to the Treasurer, State of Connecticut; 

4. A copy of the applicants current driving operators license; 
5. If the applicant has been in the military, a copy of his/her DD-214, NGB-22 or other 

documentation to indicate type of discharge and reenlistment codes; 
6. Motor vehicle abstract (driving record) for the past three (3) years from the motor vehicle 

agency in the state in which the applicant resides; 
7. Four (4) letters of character reference signed by the persons providing the reference.  

These letters are to be sent directly from the authors to the Special Licensing & Firearms 
Unit.  The letters must include the addresses and telephone numbers of the authors; 
Letters sent by the applicant’s immediate family and form letters are not 
acceptable and will be returned.  We will not accept those letters mailed to or hand 
carried by the applicant.  The letters must be submitted directly to this office within 60 
days of submission of the application; 

8. If the applicant is retired or separated from a Federal, State of Local Police Department, a 
letter of discharge must be sent from the former employer to this department.  The letter 
from said department must include length of service, title(s) held, duties performed and 
date of retirement or separation; 

9. A recent credit bureau report (applicant only); 
10. Minimum High School Education, provide a copy of high school diploma, GED 

certification, college transcript or proof of training; 
11. If the applicant is currently under any psychiatric care, a letter from the attending 

psychologist is to be sent to this office to verify the applicants ability to hold the sought 
after license; 

12. The applicant must be a U.S. Citizen, a naturalized U.S. Citizen or a Legal Resident 
Alien.  Proof of said documentation is required. (i.e. birth certificate); 

13. If the applicant is seeking a license as a private detective, they must meet the five (5) 
year full-time investigative experience under a licensed agency, or five (5) years 
experience as an investigator within a federal, state or organized municipal police 
department or ten (10) years experience as a police officer.  If the applicant is seeking a 
license for security service, they must meet the five (5) years experience in a 
supervisory management capacity in industrial security, or a supervisor within a federal or 
state security agency, or within a state or organized municipal police department or shall 
have had at least ten (10) years experience as a police officer with a state ors organized 



municipal police department.  (Please reference Connecticut General State Statutes, 
Chapter 534, Sections 29-153 through 29-161k); 

14. Documentation from previous investigative or security employment verifying license 
eligibility must indicate, in chronological order, the following: date of hire and termination, 
duties performed (what, where and how long) in each position and reason for leaving 
employment.  All information from previous employer(s) must be sent directly from 
past employers(s) to the Special Licensing & Firearms Unit.  All letters must 
include telephone numbers and addresses of past employer(s); 

15. Out of state applicants must submit written verification from the state agency regulating 
private detective/security companies stating the applicants name, type of license held, 
length of time the applicant has been the license holder and if the license is current and 
in good standing;  

16. If a Corporate license or an LLC is being sought, a copy of the Certificate of 
Incorporation or LLC documentation from the Connecticut Secretary of State must be 
submitted.  If the corporate entity is an out-of-state corporation, a copy of the Certificate 
of Authority to do Business as a Foreign Corporation from the Connecticut Secretary 
of State must be included.  No corporate license will be issued until said documentation 
has been supplied to the Special Licensing & Firearms Unit; 

17. Corporate Officials.  All persons engaged as Corporate Officials must be registered with 
the Special Licensing & Firearms Unit.  (Corporate Official refers to President, Vice 
President, Secretary or Treasurer only).  Failure to register a Corporate Official may 
result in your license not being issued.  Refer to Connecticut General State Statutes, 
Chapter 534, Section 29-154a and Section 29-161h.  (Corporate Officials may not work in 
the capacity of investigator, security guard, or body guard, unless he/she is properly 
registered as such); 

18. Corporate Officials.  Each Corporate Official must complete the DPS-366-C, 
(Application for License), indicating that he/she is a Corporate Official.  Each Corporate 
Official must submit two (2) passport style 2” x 2” photographs, full face and one (1) 

fingerprint card (State of Connecticut), along with two (2) separate Cashier’s Checks or 
Money Orders payable to the Treasurer, State of Connecticut, one in the amount of 
($75.00) and one in the amount of ($13.25).  

 
 
 

ALL INFORMATION REQUESTED MUST BE SUBMITTED TO THIS OFFICE WITHIN 
SIXTY (60) DAYS OF SUBMISSION OF THE APPLICATION.  FAILURE TO SUBMIT 
REQUIRED INFORMATION WITHIN THE SIXTY (60) DAYS WILL REQUIRE 
ANOTHER COMPLETED APPLICATION AND THE PROCESS WILL BE TREATED AS 
A NEW APPLICATION.  CHARACTER REFERENCES MUST COME DIRECTLY FROM 
THE AUTHORS TO THE SPECIAL LICENSING & FIREARMS UNIT.  WE WILL NOT 
ACCEPT THOSE LETTERS MAILED OR HAND CARRIED BY THE APPLICANT. 

 
Return “Completed” applications to: 

State of Connecticut 
Special Licensing & Firearms Unit 

Attn: Security 
1111 Country Club Rd. 
Middletown, CT 06457 

 
Visit our web site at: www.ct.gov/despp 

 
 
 
 
 
 

An Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer 

http://www.ct.gov/despp

