STATE OF CONNECTICUT DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER PROTECTION COMMISSION OF PHARMACY March 13, 2019

- 10:00 a.m. The regular meeting of the Commission of Pharmacy was called to order by Commissioner DeFazio. The meeting was held in Plaza North Room C&D, 450 Columbus Boulevard, Hartford, CT 06103
- Commissioners Present: Angelo DeFazio, Chairperson Richard Carbray Debbie Chisolm Mary Inguanti Kristin Linder
- Staff Present: Heather Hoynes, Board Administrator

Interview of Reciprocity Candidate(s)

The following candidate(s) were interviewed over the telephone and attested that the information provided was true and accurate to the best of their belief and understood that any misrepresentation of the facts could result in a fine and/or denial of pharmacist licensure in Connecticut.

Amanda Blount Reciprocity from North Carolina Vishal Doshi **Reciprocity from Florida Reciprocity from Tennessee** Tyler Finocchio Hillery Gibbons Reciprocity from New York David Gowarty Reciprocity from North Carolina Tiffanie Hennard Reciprocity from Michigan Reciprocity from Illinois Dale Kim Reciprocity from New York Lin Leung Aydah Mwangi **Reciprocity from Massachusetts** Shivani Sharma Reciprocity from New York Michael Sotelo **Reciprocity from Illinois Reciprocity from Illinois** Lauren Verner **Commission Action:** Commissioner Linder moved, seconded by

Commission Action: Commissioner Linder moved, seconded by Commissioner Chisholm and passed by a vote of 5-0 to accept the above application(s) for licensure by reciprocity.

Request(s) for Pharmacy Internship(s)

Faisal Shamshad appeared before the Commission of Pharmacy to request a pharmacy internship. The Commission of Pharmacy granted Faisal Shamshad permission to apply for a pharmacy internship.

New Pharmacy Application(s)

ShopRite of Cromwell 45 Shunpike Rd Cromwell, CT 06416 Sarah Khalil, Pharmacy Manager

> **Commission Action:** Commissioner Carbray moved, seconded by Commissioner Inguanti and passed by a vote of 5-0 to approve the above request for a new pharmacy premise provided all the requirements set forth in the Connecticut Pharmacy and Drug Laws as enforced by the Commission of Pharmacy are met.

Pharmacy Relocation(s)

CVS/Pharmacy #1284 From: 14 East Main Street Clinton, CT 06413 Donald Zettervall, Phar

To: 17 West Main Street Clinton, CT 06413

Donald Zettervall, Pharmacy Manager

Commission Action: The pharmacy did not show for the meeting, they will be placed on the April agenda.

Pharmacy Remodel(s)

CVS/Pharmacy #2259 215 Whalley Ave.

New Haven, CT 06511

Commission Action: The pharmacy did not show for the meeting, they will be placed on the April agenda.

CVS/Pharmacy #1912

1968 Black Rock Turnpike Fairway Plaza Fairfield, CT 06825

> **Commission Action:** Commissioner Carbray moved, seconded by Commissioner Inguanti and passed by a vote of 5-0 to approve the above pharmacy remodel plans provided all the requirements set forth in the Connecticut Pharmacy and Drug Laws as enforced by the Commission of Pharmacy are met.

'First Time' Pharmacy Manager(s)

Commissioner DeFazio provided a summary of the responsibilities that a first-time pharmacy manager has and appreciated their appearance before the Commission. Commissioner DeFazio emphasized the importance of the pharmacy manager's role in contrast to the front-store manager (in many retail settings). Some responsibilities include leadership, technician registration, license renewals, and prescription error reporting.

	1 0
Hyejeong Eom	Walgreens – Norwalk
Kyle McLaughlin	Danielson Pharmacy – Danielson
Lajward Khan	CVS Pharmacy – Middletown
Shafali Verma	CVS Pharmacy – Farmington

Hilary Rodriguez **CVS Pharmacy - West Hartford** Edward Korobkov CVS Pharmacy - Canton Melissa Bulnes CVS Pharmacy – Newington Megan Bourne Stop & Shop Pharmacy – Meriden CVS Pharmacy - Mansfield Amanda Bellezza Jason Jeffrey Walgreen - Torrington Julie Goldman Wal-Mart Pharmacy - New Haven Anchor Health Pharmacy – Stamford Victoria Tizzano Stop & Shop Pharmacy - Windsor Monica Mistry Stop & Shop Pharmacy – Glastonbury Anika Rehman Sarah Netz Stop & Shop Pharmacy – Simsbury Nesti Risto Stop & Shop Pharmacy – Hartford Brian Tse CVS/Pharmacy - Cromwell CVS/Pharmacy - Ansonia Elaine Zimnoski CVS/Pharmacy – Manchester Stafi Dalal Walgreens - Riverside Connie Levy Walgreens - Stamford Zheng Zhang CVS/Pharmacy - Manchester Stephen Dias Stop & Shop Pharmacy – Waterbury Eric Davies

Request(s) for Continuing Education Program Approval

Hospital of Central Connecticut 2018 Law Update, 1 Live Law April 18, 2019, 9:30 – 10:30 a.m., 100 Grand Street New Britain **Commission Action:** Commissioner DeFazio moved, seconded by Commissioner Linder and passed by a vote of 5-0 to accept Commissioner Inguanti's recommendation to approve the above continuing education program.

Request(s) for Non-Resident Pharmacy Approval

Avella of Tampa – Brandon, FL Cordette Pharmacy - New York, NY Good Day Pharmacy - Middleburg, FL Hollis Prescription Center - Hollis, NY Kastoria Chemists - Flushing, NY Milton Medical & Drug Co. - Miami Beach, FL Northern Light Pharmacy – Brewer, ME Quick Mart Pharmacy & Convenience, LLC - Milltown, NJ Ruskin Pharmacy – Ruskin, FL Soleo Health Inc. - Woodridge, IL **Commission Action:** Commissioner Carbray moved, seconded by Commissioner Linder and passed by a vote of 5-0 to accept the above non-resident pharmacy applications. Contract Pharmacy Services - Warrington, PA Genoa Healthcare, LLC - Springfield, MA Hartley Medical Center Pharmacy - Long Beach, CA MC Rx Inc. - White Plains, NY NYU Langone Hospitals Ambulatory Care Pharmacy - New York, NY

One Choice Pharmacy – Stafford, TX

Riverside Community Pharmacy, Inc. – Miami, FL

Stellar Rx – Avondale, PA

Superior Drugmart – Flushing, NY

The Wellness Corner – Prairieville, LA

Commission Action: Commissioner Inguanti is requesting additional documents for the above non-resident pharmacy applications for further review.

Approval to Accept Commission of Pharmacy Meeting Minute(s)

January 30, 2019

Commission Action: Commissioner Inguanti moved, seconded by Commissioner Linder and passed by a vote of 5-0 to accept the above Commission of Pharmacy Meeting Minutes.

There being no further business, Commissioner DeFazio adjourned the meeting. Respectfully Submitted,

Angelo De Fazio

Angelo DeFazio, Chairperson

Prepared by,

Heather Hoynes

Heather Hoynes, Board Administrator