STATE OF CONNECTICUT DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER PROTECTION COMMISSION OF PHARMACY September 28, 2022

10:00 a.m. The regular meeting of the Commission of Pharmacy was called to

order by Commissioner DeFazio. The meeting was held virtually on

Zoom.

Commissioners Present: Angelo DeFazio, Chairperson

Richard Carbray Bryan Cafferelli Debbie Chisolm Mary Inguanti Kristin Linder

Staff Present: Gina Samples, Board Administrator

New Pharmacy Applications (s)

Barnum Ave Pharmacy LLC 1853 Barnum Avenue Bridgeport, CT 06610 Mahboob UR Rehman, Pharmacy Manager

Commission Action: Commissioner Carbray moved, seconded by Commissioner Chisolm and passed by a vote of 6-0 to approve the above request for a new pharmacy premise provided all the requirements set forth in the Connecticut Pharmacy and Drug Laws as enforced by the

Commission of Pharmacy are met.

Branford Pharmacy 972 W Main Street Branford, CT 06405 Fady Grace, Pharmacy Manager

Commission Action: Commissioner Carbray moved, seconded by Commissioner Chisolm and passed by a vote of 6-0 to approve the above request for a new pharmacy premise provided all the requirements set forth in the Connecticut Pharmacy and Drug Laws as enforced by the Commission of Pharmacy are met.

Genoa Healthcare LLC 525 Wolcott Street Waterbury, CT 06705 Arthur Tipton, Pharmacy Manager

Commission Action: Commissioner Carbray moved, seconded by Commissioner Chisolm and passed by a vote of 6-0 to approve the above request for a new pharmacy premise provided all the requirements set forth in the Connecticut Pharmacy and Drug Laws as enforced by the Commission of Pharmacy are met.

Middletown Pharmacy Inc 682 Main Street Middletown, CT 06457 Muhammad Atif Ishtiaq, Pharmacy Manager

Commission Action: Commissioner Carbray moved, seconded by Commissioner Chisolm and passed by a vote of 6-0 to approve the above request for a new pharmacy premise provided all the requirements set forth in the Connecticut Pharmacy and Drug Laws as enforced by the Commission of Pharmacy are met.

Pharmacy Remodel (s)

CVS #2018 Pharmacy 540 West Main Street Meriden, CT 06451

Commission Action: Commissioner Carbray moved, seconded by Commissioner Chisolm and passed by a vote of 6-0 to approve the above remodel request provided all the requirements set forth in the Connecticut Pharmacy and Drug Laws as enforced by the Commission of Pharmacy are met.

CVS #185 Pharmacy 215 West Main Street Seymour, CT 06483

Commission Action: Commissioner Carbray moved, seconded by Commissioner Chisolm and passed by a vote of 6-0 to approve the above remodel request provided all the requirements set forth in the Connecticut Pharmacy and Drug Laws as enforced by the Commission of Pharmacy are met.

'First Time' Pharmacy Manager(s)

The following pharmacists presented themselves to the Commission of Pharmacy as 'first time' pharmacy managers in the State of Connecticut:

Commissioner DeFazio provided a summary of the responsibilities that a first-time pharmacy manager has and appreciated their appearance before the Commission. Commissioner DeFazio emphasized the importance of the pharmacy manager's role in contrast to the front-store manager (in many retail settings). Some responsibilities include leadership, technician registration, license renewals, and prescription error reporting.

Daniel Cardin CVS Pharmacy – Waterford

Charmin Contractor

Ashley Gould

Ashley Gould

Michelle Jones

Kaitlin Corrigible

Youseph Makkowi

Ryan Vecchitto

CVS Pharmacy – Bloomfield

Price Chopper Pharmacy – Torrington

Danielson Pharmacy – Danielson

CVS Pharmacy – Vernon/Rockville

Walmart Pharmacy – North Windham

Nutmeg Pharmacy – New London

Request(s) for Continuing Education Program Approval

Tom Knight, Invistics

A Patient Safety Imperative: Diversion of Injectable Drugs

1.0 CEU Live

August 4, 2022, 2:00 – 3:00 p.m., WebEx

Commission Action: Commissioner DeFazio moved, seconded by Commissioner Linder and passed by a vote of 6-0 to approve the above continuing education program credit.

Tom Knight, Invistics
DEA Expectations & Best Practices: How to Investigate & Report
Suspected Drug Diversion in Your Healthcare Facility
1.0 CEU Live Law

August 25, 2022, 2:00 – 3:00 p.m., WebEx

Commission Action: Commissioner DeFazio moved, seconded by Commissioner Linder and passed by a vote of 6-0 to approve the above continuing education program credit.

Request(s) for Non-Resident Pharmacy Approval

B&B Drugs Inc dba Epic Pharmacy – Metairie, LA BMS Pharmacy Inc – Wappingers Falls, NY Healthsource Pharmacy Inc – New York, NY Pharmko Inc – Lawrence, NY Quark Inc – Sunnyvale, CA

Request(s) for Non-Resident Pharmacy Approval Cont.

RX 2 You Inc – Lehigh Acres, FL VRX Solutions LLC – Framingham, MA Westbury Drug Corp – Westbury, NY

Commission Action: Commissioner DeFazio moved, seconded by Commissioner Linder and passed by a vote of 5-0 to accept the above non-resident pharmacy applications.

Epic Scripts– Richardson, TX
Everwell Specialty Pharmacy Inc – Los Angeles, CA
Fletcher Panacea Inc – Arden, NC
Medication Management Partners LLC – Crestwood, IL
OSRX Inc #2865 – Missoula, MT

Commission Action: Commissioner Inguanti is requesting additional documents for the above non-resident pharmacy applications for further review.

Approval to Accept Commission of Pharmacy Meeting Minute(s)

August 31, 2022

Commission Action: Commissioner DeFazio moved, seconded by Commissioner Linder seconded and passed by a vote of 6-0 to accept the above Commission of Pharmacy Meeting Minutes.

Open Discussion / Question Submitted Technician Ratio

Nathan Tinker, CEO Connecticut Pharmacists Association

A question was submitted of concern of the Pharmacist/Tech Ratio upcoming

Commissioner DeFazio addressed the question and directed Mr. Tinker to address his concerns in writing and send to Department of Consumer Protection The current 4.1 Technician Ratio is in effect until December 31, 2022

There being no further business, Commissioner DeFazio adjourned the meeting.

Commission Action: Commissioner DeFazio moved, seconded by

Commissioner Cafferelli seconded and passed by a vote of 6-0 to adjourn

Respectively Submitted,
Angelo De Fazio
Angelo DeFazio, Chairperson
Prepared by
Gina Samples
Gina Samples Board Administrato