Press Releases

Lt. Governor Susan Bysiewicz


Lt. Governor Bysiewicz, Commissioner Saadi Announce 10 New Inductees Into Connecticut Veterans Hall of Fame

December 6th Induction Ceremony Will Recognize Service to Community

(HARTFORD, CT)— Lt. Governor Susan Bysiewicz and Department of Veterans Affairs Commissioner Thomas Saadi today announced ten veterans who will be inducted into the Connecticut Veterans Hall of Fame as the Class of 2019. The Hall of Fame recognizes distinguished Connecticut veterans who have made significant contributions to their communities after leaving military service.

“Even though they had already sacrificed so much through their military service, each one of these inductees continued to go above and beyond the call of duty to give back to their communities here at home,” Lt. Governor Bysiewicz said. “Some dedicated their lives to helping their fellow veterans or mentoring youth, while others volunteered to serve on state boards and commissions, or became medical volunteers. By naming these men and women to the Veterans Hall of Fame, we are ensuring that their contributions are not forgotten by future generations.”

“We are proud of Connecticut’s strong community of veterans and their commitment to serving our nation,” Governor Ned Lamont said. “These honorees not only have given so much to all of us through their military service, but they’ve each continued giving back to our communities long after they returned to civilian life, and we want to honor and celebrate their contributions.”

“These honorees, living and posthumous, collectively served for decades in the military - in WWII, Korea, Vietnam War, during the Cold War, and in Operation Iraqi Freedom,” Commissioner Saadi said. “Their courage and commitment, as demonstrated through their military service, set the foundation for their continued contributions in their post military lives – we honor their military service and their contributions achieved for others – for their neighbors, Veterans, and communities, causes and residents across this state.”

Bysiewicz and Saadi will be joined by leaders of the state’s veterans’ community at the Connecticut Veterans Hall of Fame Class of 2019 induction ceremony on Friday, December 6, 2019 at 5:00 p.m. in the Atrium of the Legislative Office Building in Hartford. Each inductee will receive a commemorative medallion and certificate recognizing their induction.

The 2019 Connecticut Veterans Hall of Fame inductees are:

Robert T. Cahill, Sr. – U.S. Army Air Corps – posthumous - Waterbury

Alfred H. Comeau – U.S. Army - Waterbury

Richard King Gorman – U.S. Navy -Enfield

Jesse Monroe Harrison – U.S. Army Air Corps – posthumous - Rocky Hill

Lenell Kittlitz – U.S. Coast Guard - Bloomfield

Leonard Gene Lanza – U.S. Navy - Simsbury

Patrick R. Nelligan – U.S. Army Reserve - Bristol

Morton Melvin Pear – U.S. Air Force - Middletown

John A. Sarlo – U.S. Army - Waterbury

John “Jack” Shea – U.S. Army - Waterbury


Twitter: Twitter
Facebook: Facebook

Juliemar Ortiz 

Press Secretary

O: 860-524-7346

C: 860.278.6809