Press Releases

Governor Ned Lamont


Governor Lamont Says He Looks Forward to Signing Minimum Wage Increase in the Coming Days

Legislation Triggers Series of Increases Over the Next Several Years, With the First Increase Happening on October 1

(HARTFORD, CT) – Governor Ned Lamont and Lt. Governor Susan Bysiewicz are cheering the Connecticut State Senate for giving final approval to legislation that will raise the minimum wage in the state to $15.00 through a series of gradual increases over the next several years. The minimum wage will then grow with the economy, so everyone can share in Connecticut’s prosperity.

The State Senate approved the bill today by a vote of 21-14. It already received approval in the House of Representatives last week, and will next be transmitted in the coming days to Governor Lamont, who said that he will sign it into law.

“Working families are the backbone of our state – if they are not financially stable, Connecticut will never be,” Governor Lamont said. “With this increase in minimum wage, thousands of hardworking women and men – many of whom are supporting families – will get a modest increase that will help lift them out of poverty, combat persistent pay disparities between races and genders, and stimulate our economy. This is a fair, gradual increase for the working women and men who will invest the money right back into our economy and continue supporting local businesses in their communities. I’m proud that Democrats came together and took another strong step forward to protect working families. I particularly want to acknowledge State Representative Robyn Porter and State Senator Julie Kushner, whose leadership in their respective chambers ensured this bill received final legislative approval.”

“Raising the minimum wage to $15 an hour brings Connecticut one step closer to eliminating the gender pay gap because nearly 60 percent of minimum wage earners in our state are women,” Lt. Governor Susan Bysiewicz said. “I applaud the members of the State Senate for standing with women across our state and voting in favor of legislation to increase the minimum wage. Women’s issues are economic issues and if we want to grow our economy, we need to ensure that women have financial security in order to provide for their families.”

Once enacted, the bill will result in the state’s minimum hourly wage being increased from its current level of $10.10 to:

  • $11.00 on October 1, 2019;
  • $12.00 on September 1, 2020;
  • $13.00 on August 1, 2021;
  • $14.00 on July 1, 2022; and
  • $15.00 on June 1, 2023.

Ultimately, beginning January 1, 2024, the minimum wage will be indexed to the employment cost index, which is calculated by the U.S. Department of Labor.

The legislation is House Bill 5004, An Act Increasing the Minimum Fair Wage.

Twitter: @GovNedLamont
Facebook: Office of Governor Ned Lamont