Puerto Rico's New Birth Certificate Law

Puerto Rico to Cancel Birth Certificates Issued Before July 1, 2010

Special Note: Effective July 1, 2010, Puerto Rico-issued birth certificates dated before July 1, 2010, need to be replaced by October 30, 2010.

Under a new law in Puerto Rico, all Puerto Rico-issued birth certificates dated before July 1, 2010, will be cancelled as of October 30, 2010, so that new, more secure certificates can be re-issued. Until that date, all birth certificates will remain valid.

This new law is based on collaboration with the U.S. Department of State and the U.S. Department of Homeland Security to address the fraudulent use of Puerto Rico-issued birth certificates. They have been used illegally to obtain U.S. passports, Social Security benefits and other federal services.  The government of Puerto Rico has enacted the new law to combat fraud and protect the identity and credit of all people born in Puerto Rico.

Obtaining a Birth Certificate

The Government of Puerto Rico has partnered with document provider VitalChek to provide an expedited method for ordering new birth certificates. To apply through this method please visit:  www.vitalchek.com. Vital Check also offers a bilingual call center available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Processing and shipping fees apply. To apply through this method please call:(866) 842-6765.

Only people who have a specific need for their birth certificate for official purposes should request a new birth certificate on or after July 1, 2010, which is when the Government of Puerto Rico plans to begin issuing the new birth certificates.

If you plan to access services with a state or federal agency, check first on whether a new birth certificate is needed for any identification purposes.  Please consult for contact information the State of Connecticut web site  for a listing of state agencies and the United States Government for federal agencies. 

Those Puerto Rican-born and living in the states will be able to request and receive their new birth certificates through a simple process by mail.  The fee is $5, but will be waived for people over 60 and veterans.

Puerto Rico Birth Certificate Fact Sheet/FAQ's on How to Obtain a New Birth Certificate (
Please note: Fact sheet may not include recent change by Puerto Rico authorities to extend the cancelation date to October 30 for all birth certificates issued prior to July 1, 2010. )

Fact sheet/ FAQ's (English)

Fact Sheet/ FAQ's (Spanish)

Birth Certificate Request Form

Application for Puerto Rican Birth Certificate (English)

Application for Puerto Rican Birth Certificate (Spanish)

Online applications

For further Information

Government of Puerto Rico (Spanish)

Specific Information You Should Know From Connecticut State Agencies

  • Department of Motor Vehicles Licensing and Identification
    Anyone born in Puerto Rico born before July 1, 2010, will need a new birth certificate,  if they don't have a valid passport, to conduct the following transactions:        
     - New Driver's License          
    - Transfer of Driver's License from another state          
    - New Identification Card         
    - Learner's Permit

New birth certificates will not be needed to renew a valid driver's license or identity card at this time. Replacing a lost, stolen or damaged license or identity card generally does not require that you show a birth certificate, providing DMV has your photo on file.