Aquifer Protection Area Program Status

As of January 2020


Implementation of the Aquifer Protection Area Program is ongoing.

At the state level, the DEEP is:
  • continuing to review and approve Level A final aquifer protection area mapping submitted by water companies
  • continuing to review and approve local aquifer protection area regulations submitted by municipalities in the program
  • assisting towns with implementation, including map delineation, regulation adoption, registration requirements, and education and outreach
  • developing new guidance and training materials
  • conducting municipal training
At the local level the municipalities, who have Level A final aquifer protection mapping, are:
  • delineating DEEP approved aquifer protection area boundaries on their town zoning map
  • adopting aquifer protection area regulations
  • registering facilities
  • conducting site visits to ensure compliance with best management practices
  • engaging in enforcement
The water companies are:
  • continuing to map Level A aquifer protection areas for remaining well fields
  • submitting Level A aquifer mapping to DEEP for approval
  • reviewing local aquifer protection area regulations and registrations
Water companies have mapped all 122 active well fields to preliminary Level B standards. Final Level A mapping for 115 well fields have been completed and approved by DEEP. (See Aquifer Protection Area Maps.)


Municipalities with final Level A mapping that have delineated the aquifer protection area boundary on the town zoning map and adopted local aquifer protection area regulations consistent with the state regulations include: 


 Avon  East Windsor  North Canaan  Thomaston
 Beacon Falls  Enfield  North Haven  Thompson
 Berlin  Essex  North Stonington  Tolland
 Bethany  Farmington  Norwalk  Wallingford
 Bethel  Glastonbury  Old Saybrook  Watertown
 Bethlehem  Goshen  Oxford  Westbrook
 Bolton  Griswold  Plainfield  Weston
 Bristol  Guilford  Plainville  Westport
 Brookfield  Hamden  Portland  Willington
 Brooklyn  Killingly  Prospect  Wilton
 Burlington  Ledyard  Putnam  Woodbury
 Canterbury  Litchfield  Ridgefield
 Canton  Madison  Rocky Hill
 Cheshire  Manchester  Salisbury
 Clinton  Mansfield  Seymour
 Colchester  Meriden  Shelton
 Coventry  Middletown  Simsbury
 Cromwell  Naugatuck  Southbury
 Danbury  New Britain  Southington
 Darien  New Hartford  Sprague
 Derby  New Milford  Stamford
 East Lyme  Newtown  Stonington
For more information on towns in the program, see Tracking Table of Municipal Aquifer Protection Area Programs.
For a list of municipal contacts, see Connecticut Aquifer Protection Agency Directory 
For a list of water company contacts, see DEEP's water company contact list.
To view the statutory time frames of the aquifer protection area program, see the Implementation Schedule.
Connecticut's Aquifer Protection Area Program Municipal Manual 2011  This manual provides Connecticut's Municipal Aquifer Protection Agencies with comprehensive technical guidance and reference materials needed to regulate aquifer protection areas.


Aquifer Protection Program Home

Content last updated on January 21, 2020.