Press Releases



Monday, September 19, 2016 - The Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection is pleased to announce that Commissioner Jonathan A. Harris has appointed three additional physicians to the Medical Marijuana Program’s Board of Physicians.  With these appointments, there are no remaining vacancies on the Board.  In addition, the Department has fulfilled the statutory mandate that, with the availability of medical marijuana to pediatric patients beginning October 1, one of the Board members should be a board certified pediatrician.

“The Board of Physicians is an important part of the Medical Marijuana Program,” explained Commissioner Harris.  “The Board is charged with advising the Department on the medical aspects of the program, including whether additional medical conditions, treatments or diseases should qualify for the palliative use of medical marijuana.  We take their advice and recommendations very seriously.”

The physicians joining the Board are:

Dr. William T. Zempsky, MD, MPH, appointed in consultation with the Connecticut Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics, graduated from Cornell and the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, where he also served his residency.  He is currently affiliated with Connecticut Children’s Medical Center.  Dr. Zempsky is a Professor of Pediatrics at the University of the Connecticut School of Medicine where he specializes in pediatric pain management.  Dr. Zempsky is the lead author on the American Academy of Pediatrics policy statement concerning pain management in emergency medical systems for children.

Dr. Linda Barry, MD, F.A.C.S., Assistant Professor, Department of Surgery, University of Connecticut Health Center.  Dr. Barry is a board certified liver and pancreas surgeon.  Dr. Barry also serves as Chief Operating Officer and Assistant Director, Connecticut Institute for Clinical and Translational Science (CICATS) at the University of Connecticut.  Dr. Barry graduated from Yale University and Cornell University Medical College.  She is also the co-managing editor of The Journal of Racial and Ethnic Health Disparities.

Dr. Andrew L. Salner, M.D., F.A.C.R., is the Director of the Cancer Program at Helen and Harry Gray Cancer Center of Hartford Hospital.  Dr. Salner specializes in radiation oncology, and has served as Director of Radiation Oncology at Hartford Hospital.  Dr. Salner also teaches at the University of Connecticut School of Medicine and is currently researching cancer communications for patients and families and cancer early detection for the underserved.  He graduated from Brown University School of Medicine and served his residency at Harvard School of Medicine.

“I am very pleased to appoint these highly qualified physicians.  Their extensive and diverse medical experiences will be a tremendous value to the Medical Marijuana Program and the citizens of Connecticut.  I thank them for their willingness to serve,” said Commissioner Harris.



Leslie O’Brien


Medical Marijuana Program Board of Physicians


Jonathan A. Harris, Commissioner, Ex Officio 

 Jonathan A. Kost, MD

Deepak Cyril D'Souza, MD 

Godfrey D. Pearlson, MD    

Vincent R. Carlesi, MD 

Mitchell Prywes, MD

Dr. William T. Zempsky, MD

Dr. Linda Barry, MD

Dr. Andrew L. Salner, MD

Twitter: DCP on Twitter
Facebook: DCP on Facebook