Press Releases

Denise W. Merrill Secretary of the State Connecticut - Seal


Secretary of the State Merrill, Treasurer Wooden, and Comptroller Lembo Officially Certify Connecticut Election Results

Final tally shows statewide turnout of close to 80 percent

HARTFORD – Secretary of the State Denise Merrill, Treasurer Shawn Wooden, and Comptroller Kevin Lembo officially certified the results of the November 3 General Election for Presidential electors and the offices of United States Senator, Representatives in Congress, and Connecticut General Assembly. A record 1,861,086 people cast a ballot out of a record 2,334,979 registered voters, for an overall turnout of 79.7%.

“Despite a once-in-a-century pandemic and a major change to Connecticut’s election administration to allow every voter to vote by absentee ballot if they chose, Connecticut’s local election officials, poll workers, and volunteers came together to conduct an election with more votes cast than any election in Connecticut’s history,” said Secretary Merrill. “The smooth, trouble-free election is a testament to the hard work of Connecticut’s registrars, town clerks, and the tens of thousands of Connecticut citizens who stepped up to be democracy heroes and work at the polls on Election Day – conducting an election in the face of the COVID-19 pandemic would have been impossible without their efforts. With a record number of voters casting their ballots this year, it is clear that Connecticut voters appreciated their opportunity to make their voices heard!”

Democrats Joe Biden and Kamala Harris won the Presidential vote in Connecticut. Democrats John Larson (CT-1), Joe Courtney (CT-2), Rosa DeLauro (CT-3), Jim Himes (CT-4), and Jahana Hayes (CT-5) were elected to Congress. In the Connecticut General Assembly, Democratic candidates were elected to 97 seats in the state House of Representatives and 24 seats in the state Senate. Republican candidates were elected to 54 seats in the House of Representatives and 12 seats in the state Senate.

A full Statement of the Vote including final vote tallies for candidates for President of the United States, Members of Congress, General Assembly, and Registrars of Voters by town, county, Congressional District, and Legislative District will be published by the beginning of the General Assembly’s 2021 legislative session in January. State law requires that the Secretary of the State, the State Treasurer, and the State Comptroller, must “declare what persons are elected” on the last Wednesday of the month of the election. Connecticut’s electors will meet on December 14 to cast Connecticut’s seven electoral votes.

Recent turnout by presidential election year:

2020: 1,861,086 (79.70 percent)

2016: 1,675,955 (76.94 percent)

2012: 1,560,640 (73.89 percent)

2008: 1,644,845 (78.14 percent)

2004: 1,607,808 (78.65 percent)

2000: 1,474,103 (77.54 percent)


Twitter: Secretary of State on Twitter
Facebook: Secretary of State on Facebook