Connecticut schools and institutions that participate in the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Child Nutrition Programs must comply with all applicable requirements of Connecticut Public Health Code (PHC) Section 19-13-B42. Child care centers, family day care homes, and adult day care centers that participate in the Child and Adult Care Food Program (CACFP) must follow the USDA's food safety requirements and, as applicable, the Connecticut PHC. The USDA’s food safety guidance follows the Food and Drug Administration's (FDA) Food Code.
During the 2017 Connecticut legislative session, Senate Bill 901 was passed to adopt the FDA Food Code. The new code will replace the following current food regulations: 19-13-B40, 19-13-B42, 19-13-B48, and 19-13-B49. Public Act 18-168 (approved June 13, 2018) included language that extends the date for adoption of the FDA Food Code to “Not later than January 1, 2019.” However, the state regulations to implement the FDA Food Code are still in the regulation review process. Therefore, as of January 1, 2019, the current food regulations (19-13-B42; 19-13-B40; 19-13-B48; and 19-13-B49) are still in effect and enforceable by local certified food inspectors, until the state regulations are approved. Food service operations should contact their local health department for more information.
Effective October 1, 2017, hot and cold holding temperatures for foods that require temperature control to prevent bacterial growth must follow the FDA Food Code.
|Process||FDA Food Code 2017|
|Hot Holding||135 °F or above|
|Cold Holding||41 °F or below|
|Cooling||135 °F to 70 °F within 2 hours
70 °F to 41 °F within 6 hours