American Rescue Plan & Federal Programs
IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR ALL UNEMPLOYMENT FILERS
FEDERAL PROGRAMS END
Federal unemployment programs authorized under the CARES Act expire on September 4, 2021 in Connecticut. Here’s what you need to know:
- Federal Pandemic Unemployment Compensation (FPUC), the $300/week supplement will no longer be available. After September 4, 2021, regular state unemployment and Extended Benefits filers will continue to do their weekly certification with no interruption in benefits, but benefits will no longer include the FPUC.
- Pandemic Emergency Unemployment Compensation (PEUC) will end; filers who are eligible to transition to regular state unemployment benefits or state extended benefits will be notified by email with instructions on how to file.
- Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA).
- Mixed Earner Unemployment Compensation (MEUC).
PEUC, PUA, and MEUC programs will not be paid for any weeks after 9/4/21 regardless of the benefits remaining in a claimant’s balance, however, some filers, such as those who have open claims in the adjudications or appeals process, may still be eligible for payments for benefit weeks prior to 9/4/21.
Example: A filer has their claim approved on September 15th and it includes weeks from August. Those weeks prior to September 4, 2021 are paid including the $300 FPUC. The weeks after are paid without the FPUC.
High Extended Benefits End September 11, 2021
Under federal law, 7 weeks of High Extended Benefits (HEB) become available when the Bureau of Labor Statistics determines that Connecticut’s three-month average unemployment rate is at or above 8%. Filers who exhaust regular unemployment benefits (26 weeks) may then file for Extended Benefits (13 weeks) and then file for High Extended Benefits (7 weeks.) This gives claimants 46 weeks of benefits during periods of high unemployment.
When the state’s three-month average unemployment rate drops below 8%, the Connecticut Department of Labor is no longer allowed to pay benefits under the High Extended Benefits program. Filers may collect their regular state benefits (26 weeks) and Extended Benefits (13 weeks), if eligible .
Currently, Connecticut’s three-month average unemployment rate is below 8%, which means that filers are no longer allowed to collect benefits under the HEB program. In accordance with federal law, the last HEB payment will go out the week ending September 11, 2021.
What this means for filers:
- As of September 11, 2021, if you have collected 13 or more weeks of EB you will not be entitled to receive any further benefits on that claim.
- If you have not yet collected 13 weeks of EB by September 11, 2021 and you are still eligible, you are entitled to the remaining weeks, so long as you are otherwise eligible.
CARES Act Provisions That End:
- The 50% and 75% reimbursement provision for local and state government and nonprofit organizations.
Filers at Benefit Year End:
- Each unemployment claim is effective for 52 weeks. After that time, claimants must re-apply for benefits using the blue button on www.FileCTUI.com.
- When you are at the end of your benefit year, you will be notified to re-submit your unemployment claim using the blue button on www.FileCTUI.com.
- You are not able to file weekly certification on your claim until it has been processed
Please visit our press releases page for information related to unemployment programs.
Check your benefits:
Your account balance will reflect your remaining weeks of eligibility. You can navigate to your account page from www.FileCTUI.com. For security purposes, CTDOL will never send a link directly to your account login page. We urge you to navigate to your account using the official CTDOL website. Never give out your username or password.
If you need additional help:
The United Way's 2-1-1 program is a free referral service with information about community services, basic needs assistance, crisis intervention, and more. The program operates 24 hours a day, 365 days a year and offers multilingual operators and TTY access. You can reach this service by calling 2-1-1, toll-free, from anywhere in Connecticut.
If you have any questions, please call the Consumer Contact Center. Calling in the morning at the end of the week can help avoid a wait for a claims agent, or schedule a callback using our appointment feature.