CT Opioid Settlement Advisory Committee


Katherine Ramos, LCSW, (860) 418-6935, Katherine.Ramos@ct.gov


During the 2022 legislative session Public Act 22-48, AN ACT IMPLEMENTING THE GOVERNOR’S BUDGET RECOMMENDATIONS REGARDING THE USE OF OPIOID LITIGATION PROCEEDS was passed into law. The Act establishes a new Advisory Committee, co-chaired by DMHAS and a representative from the municipalities, to ensure the proceeds received by the state as part of the opioid litigation settlement agreements are allocated appropriately. The Act specifies the proceeds will be spent on substance use disorder abatement infrastructure, programs, services, supports, and resources for prevention, treatment, recovery, and harm reduction with public involvement, transparency, and accountability.


  • Commissioner Nancy Navarretta, DMHAS (Co-Chair)
  • Neil O’Leary, Mayor, City of Waterbury (Co-Chair)
  • Judy Dowd, OPM Budget Analyst (Designee, OPM Secretary)
  • Timothy Birch, Attorney (Designee, Attorney General)
  • Commissioner Vannessa Dorantes, DCF (Ex-Officio) (DCF Commissioner)
  • Commissioner Manisha Juthani, MD, DPH (Ex-Officio) (DPH Commissioner)
  • Susan Campion, New Haven (Designee, Senate President)
  • Kimberly Grove, West Hartford (Designee, House Speaker)
  • Liz Fitzgerald, Southington (Designee, Senate Majority Leader)
  • Sen. Kevin Kelly (Senate Minority Leader or Designee)
  • Kyle Zimmer (Designee, House Majority Leader)
  • Lisa Deane, Madison (Designee, House Minority Leader)
  • Sen. Catherine Osten (Senate Appropriations Chair or Designee)
  • Rep. Toni Walker (House Appropriations Chair)
  • Luke Bronin, Mayor, City of Hartford (Municipal Representative)
  • Elinor Carbone, Mayor, City of Torrington (Municipal Representative)
  • Donna Culbert, Town of Newtown (Municipal Representative)
  • Dr. Mehul Dalal, Health and Human Services Director, City of New Haven (Municipal Representative)
  • Thomas Dunn, Mayor, Town of Wolcott (Municipal Representative)
  • Bridget Fox, Chief of Staff to the Mayor, City of Stamford (Municipal Representative)
  • Tracey Hanson, First Selectwoman, Town of Voluntown (Municipal Representative)
  • Paul Januszewski, Fire Chief/Emergency Management Director, Town of North Haven (Municipal Representative)
  • Rudy Marconi, First Selectman, Town of Ridgefield (Municipal Representative)
  • Lisa Marotta, Mayor, Town of Rocky Hill (Municipal Representative)
  • Jeanne Milstein, Director of Human Services, City of New London (Municipal Representative)
  • Maureen Nicholson, First Selectwoman, Town of Pomfret (Municipal Representative)
  • Ebony Jackson-Shaheed, Public Health, Bridgeport (Municipal Representative)
  • Dawn Niles, Town Council Member, Town of Windham (Municipal Representative)
  • Erica Teixeira, Assistant Director for Social, Youth & Senior Services, Town of Wethersfield (Municipal Representative)
  • Russell Melmed, Colchester (Municipal Representative)
  • Pareesa Charmchi-Goodwin (Executive Director, Commission on Racial Equity in Public Health)
  • Jennifer Kolakowski (Provider of Community-Based Substance Use Treatment for Adults)
  • Shayne Ember (Provider of Community-Based Substance Use Treatment for Adolescents)
  • Dr. Srinivas Muvvala (Addiction Medicine Licensed Health Care Professional with Prescribing Ability)
  • John Lally (Persons/Family Members with Lived Experience)
  • Christine Gagnon (Persons/Family Members with Lived Experience)
  • Kennard Ray (Persons/Family Members with Lived Experience)