9-1-1 Telecommunications Fund
Surcharge RatesFunding for E9-1-1 services is generated by a surcharge levied on all phone lines of all types: wired, Voice over IP, wireless and prepaid wireless. Customers pay this surcharge to their telephone service provider who, in turn, remits it to the Division of Statewide Emergency Telecommunications (DSET). These funds pay for a number of 9-1-1 programs, including but not limited to: PSAP equipment and enhancements, network and database expenses, telecommunicator training, and subsidies to regional and multi-town dispatch centers, cities and coordinated medical emergency direction centers (CMEDs). The rate assessed by the Public Utilities Regulatory Authority (PURA) for FY 2023/24 is $0.68.
The rate assessed by PURA is the result of an annual proceeding performed pursuant to Section 16-256g of the Connecticut General Statutes. As required by Connecticut Agencies Regulations Section 28-24-10(h), DSET submits its proposed budget to PURA each year for their review. The results of the rate-setting proceeding for fiscal year 2023-2024 are shown below:
Below is the line-by-line DSET operational budget for the fiscal year:
FY 2023-2024 DSET Budget (Coming soon)
E9-1-1 Fee Assessment
Prepaid Wireless Telecommunications Service
Prepaid wireless telecommunications service means a wireless telephone service that a consumer pays for in advance that allows the consumer to access the E 9-1-1 system by dialing 9-1-1, and that is sold in predetermined units or dollars that decline with use. Prepaid wireless telecommunications includes prepaid wireless phone cards, recharge or refill authorization codes, and prepaid cell phones or other prepaid wireless devices preloaded with airtime minutes. Prepaid wireless telecommunications service fee collection does not include wireless telecommunications services that are not paid for in advance (“post paid”), or for flat rate (non-declining balance) telecommunications services, even if they are prepaid. These services continue to follow the existing post- paid rules.
Collecting Fees - Prepaid
Retailers must collect the E-911 fee on each retail purchase of prepaid wireless telecommunications service occurring in Connecticut on or after January 1, 2013. A retail transaction subject to the E-911 fee occurs in this state if the retail transaction is subject to Connecticut sales tax. In addition, each separately priced prepaid wireless item sold is subject to the fee. For example, if two prepaid phone cards are sold to a consumer, the retailer must collect E-911 fees from the consumer in the amount of $1.36 ($0.68 for each retail transaction).
Telephone or telecommunications companies providing local telephone service, and each provider of voice over internet protocol Service shall assess against each subscriber the fee established by PURA, which shall be remitted to the Office of State Treasurer for deposit into the Enhanced 9-1-1 Telecommunications Fund not later than the fifteenth day of each month.
Collecting Fees - Wireline and VoIP
- The rate assessed by the Public Utilities Regulatory Authority for FY 2023/24 is $0.68.
- The sliding scale for customers with multiple wireline phones is shown below:
|# of Lines||Per-line Assessment|
|1||$0.68 per line|
|2||$0.51 per line|
|3||$0.46 per line|
|4 - 5||$0.41 per line|
|6-10||$0.34 per line|
|11-25||$0.27 per line|
|26-50||$0.22 per line|
|51-99||$0.17 per line|
|100 +||$0.14 per line|
- Wireline Form - E-911 Remittance_FY2023-2024
- VoIP Form - E911 Remittance_FY2023-2024
- Wireline Form - E-911 Remittance_FY2022-2023
- VoIP Form - E-911 Remittance_FY2022-2023
Wireless/Commercial Mobile Radio Service
Each telephone or telecommunications company providing local telephone service and each provider of commercial mobile radio service shall assess against each subscriber the fee established by PURA.
Collecting Fees - Wireless and Commercial Mobile Radio Service
The surcharge rate for FY 2023/24 is $0.68 cents. The progressive wireline inclusion schedule does not apply to wireless and commercial mobile radio service.
All E-911 payments must be submitted to DSET along with the correct filing form (filled out in its entirety).
Payments shall be made payable to:
- Division of Statewide Emergency Telecommunications
and mailed to:
- Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection
Division of Statewide Emergency Telecommunications
1111 Country Club Road
Middletown, CT 06457
- Please direct any questions to DSET, at 860-685-8080
Pursuant to Conn. Gen. Stat. § 16-256g and Conn. Agencies Regs. § 28-24-8(a), the Authority has prescribed an E-911 funding assessment schedule to generate sufficient revenues to fund the FY 2022 Operating Budget submitted by DESPP. All incumbent LECs, CLECs, CMRS, COCOT and VoIP providers shall assess a fee to their respective subscribers in accordance with the requirements in Section II.B. of this Decision. Provider's that did not respond to the Authority's interrogatories will be assessed the single line fee of $0.68.
Pursuant to Conn. Gen. Stat. §16-256g and Conn. Agencies Regs. §28-24-10(a), the Authority and the DESPP have prescribed an E-911 funding assessment schedule based on budget requirements and anticipated revenues. All incumbent LECs, CLECs, CMRS, COCOT and VoIP providers are required for FY 2023/24 to continue to assess their respective subscribers based on a per-line or telephone number assessment ranging from $0.68 to $0.14, depending upon the subscribed number of access lines and telephone numbers. Pursuant to Conn. Gen. Stat. §28-24-10(a), the maximum allowed per line/telephone number surcharge rate is $0.75. The companies that did not respond to the Authority's interrogatories will be assessed the single line rate.
Public Utilities Regulatory Authority
For the following Orders, the Company shall submit one original of the required documentation to the Executive Secretary, 10 Franklin Square, New Britain, Connecticut 06051 AND file an electronic version through the Authority’s website at ct.gov/pura. Submissions filed in compliance with the Authority’s Orders must be identified by all three of the following: Docket Number, Title and Order Number.
- Commencing July 1, 2023 until June 30, 2024, each incumbent LEC, CLEC, CMRS, COCOT and VoIP provider shall assess each subscriber a monthly fee as prescribed herein.
- No later than October 25, 2023, and quarterly thereafter, (January 25, 2024; April 25, 2024; and July 25, 2024), all telephone or telecommunications companies providing local telephone service and CMRS, COCOT and VoIP providers shall report to the Authority, in accordance with the Table below, and pursuant to a protective order, the E-911 surcharges collected from such providers’ end-users for the previous three months as reflected on the E-911 Surcharge Remittance Form. In addition, each provider is required to submit to the Authority a copy of the monthly remittance forms filed with DESPP. Non-DESPP forms, incomplete forms or forms not filed by the quarterly due dates will not be considered timely filed. Forms can be found on the DESPP website at ct.gov/despp. The Authority will not accept a payment report unless it is in the prescribed format as described in the DESPP’s website. Any reports not in compliance with this format for this Docket and any future dockets will need to be refiled to be in compliance.
|Quarters||E-911 Surcharges Collected for the Following Months||Due Date|
|3||July, August, September||Oct. 25, 2023|
|4||October, November, December||Jan. 25, 2024|
|1||January, February, March||April 25, 2024|
|2||April, May, June||July 25, 2024|