Special Licensing and Firearms

Bump Stock Ban

Pursuant to Public Act 18-29, effective October 1, 2018, no person other than a licensed firearms manufacturer under 18 USC 923(i) fulfilling a military contract, may sell, offer to sell, otherwise transfer or offer to transfer, purchase, possess, use or manufacture any "rate of fire enhancement." For purposes of this section, a rate of fire enhancement is any device, component, part, combination of parts, attachment or accessory that: (1) Uses energy from the recoil of a firearm to generate a reciprocating action that causes repeated function of the trigger, including, but not limited to, a bump stock; (2) repeatedly pulls the trigger of a firearm through the use of a crank, lever or other part, including, but not limited to, a trigger crank; or (3) causes a semiautomatic firearm to fire more than one round per operation of the trigger, where the trigger pull and reset constitute a single operation of the trigger, including, but not limited to, a binary trigger system. Violation of this prohibition is a class D felony, except that first offenses for individuals with a valid pistol permit, eligibility certificate, or ammunition certificate is a class D Misdemeanor.

Prior to October 1, 2018, anyone in possession of a rate of fire enhancement must render it permanently inoperable, remove it from the state, or surrender it to the Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection (DESPP) for destruction. Any member of the military returning from deployment, or anyone moving into the state, who is in lawful possession of a rate of fire enhancement, must render it permanently inoperable, remove it from the state, or surrender it to DESPP for destruction within ninety days.

Additionally, if the court finds that a violation of this section is not of a serious nature and that the person charged with such violation (1) will probably not offend in the future, (2) has not previously been convicted of a violation of this section, and (3) has not previously had a prosecution under this section suspended pursuant to this subsection, it may order suspension of prosecution.

The full text of P.A. 18-29 can be found on the Connecticut General Assembly website at https://www.cga.ct.gov/2018/ACT/pa/pdf/2018PA-00029-R00HB-05542-PA.pdf

 

Effective November 9, 2016, Troop E, Montville's schedule will be changing:

  • Schedule will now be Tuesday and Saturday 8 am - 12pm & 12:30 pm - 3:45 pm, Thursday 11 am - 2 pm & 2:30 pm - 6:45 pm
  • (Closed Wednesday and Friday til further notice)
  • Troop G in Bridgeport and Headquarters in Middletown will remain unchanged for all your permitting needs.
  • All locations closed on state and federal holidays.

Division of State Police - HQ

State of Connecticut
Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection
Division of State Police - HQ
Special Licensing and Firearms Unit
1111 Country Club Road
Middletown, CT 06457

Telephone (860) 685-8290
Email: dps.spec.licensing@po.state.ct.us


Special Licensing & Firearms Unit - HQ
  • Effective December 1, 2017, the State Criminal History Record search rate will increase from $50.00 to $75.00

The Special Licensing and Firearms Unit (SLFU) is responsible for the issuance of the following:

The unit is located at Connecticut State Police Headquarters in Middletown, CT. We also have a satellite office at Troop G in Bridgeport and Troop E in Montville to process pistol permit applications and renewal paperwork.

The unit is also responsible for investigating violations of state law relating to the purchase, sale and transfer of firearms, and violations of statutes relating to the various professional licenses it issues.

Office Hours

Special Licensing & Firearms Unit - HQ
1111 Country Club Road
Middletown, CT 06457
Tel. (860) 685-8290

  • Monday through Friday: 8:30 am - 4:15 pm

Directions:

91 South from Hartford:

  • Exit 20 for Middle Street
  • Turn Left on Middle Street
  • 1st right on Country Club
  • Destination will be on the left

91 North toward Hartford:

  • Exit 20 for Middle Street
  • Turn left on Country Club Road
  • Destination will be on the left

Troop G - Bridgeport

149 Prospect Street
Bridgeport, CT 06604
Tel. (203) 696-2532

  • Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday and Saturday: 8 am - 12 pm & 12:30 pm - 3:45 pm
  • Thursday: 11 am - 2 pm & 2:30 pm - 6:45 pm

Directions:

95 South:

  • Exit 27 toward Lafayette Boulevar
  • Take 27A on the left for Trumbull
  • Merge onto South Ave.
  • Turn right on Warren Street
  • Take the 1st right onto Prospect Street

95 North toward New Haven:

  • Take Exit 27 toward Lafayette Boulevard
  • Slight right onto South Frontage Road
  • Take 1st left onto Warren Street
  • Turn right onto Prospect Street
  • Destination will be on the right

Troop E - Montville

I-395 North (Between exits 6 & 9)
Montville, CT 06382
Tel. (860) 848-6539

  • Tuesday and Saturday: 8 am - 12pm & 12:30 pm - 3:45 pm
  • Thursday: 11 am - 2 pm & 2:30 pm - 6:45 pm

Directions:

  • Located on 395 North between exits 79 & 79A

 

*Attention Active Military Personnel and Veterans*

MOS Security Training and Licensing Fee Waiver for qualifying armed forces personnel.

Public Act 14-131: Effective October 1, 2014, military personnel seeking license as a security officer in Connecticut may qualify for a waiver of the required security training course and licensing fee. Please contact the Special Licensing and Firearms Unit at 860- 685-8494 to speak to security licensing personnel for additional information and specific requirements.

Link to Public Act 14-131