Building Resilient Infrastructure and Communities Program (BRIC)


The Building Resilient Infrastructure and Communities program (BRIC) grant program application period is now open for the 2023 grant cycle. Applications must be submitted into FEMA GO System by 3:00 PM by January 9th, 2024. 

Click on the Apply Section to learn more

The Division of Emergency Management and Homeland Security is pleased to announce the release of the Fiscal Year (FY) 2023, Building Resilient Infrastructure and Communities (BRIC), and Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) program application period is open. These programs funded by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), enables municipalities, private-nonprofit partners, and state government entities to apply for eligible projects through the Division of Emergency Engagement and Homeland Security's Hazard Mitigation Unit. 

The Building Resilient Infrastructure and Communities program (BRIC) Formally known as Pre-Disaster Mitigation (PDM) is an annual Hazard Mitigation Grant Program that provides funds for projects which reduce the overall risk to population and structures from future hazard events, while also reducing the reliance on federal funding from future disasters.  BRIC is a nationwide competitive program.


Federal Program Priorities:

  • Activities that incentivize natural hazard risk reduction activities that mitigate risk to public infrastructure.
  • Activities that prioritize benefits to disadvantaged communities
  • Activities that incorporate nature-based solutions
  • Activities that enhance climate resilience and adaptation
  • Activities that facilitate the adoption and enforcement of the latest published editions of building codes


For more information how to apply, click on the Apply link.