Governor Lamont extends Connecticut's State of Emergency to February 15, 2022 which suspends certain legal restraints enabling DEEP and our partners to provide on-line safe boating courses during the COVID-19 pandemic. Commissioner Dykes also issued an Order with details for this effort. Specifically, the on-line classes will be held on an interactive videoconferencing platform which provide the opportunity for dialog between the instructors and students. DEEP will now also allow the boating safety course students or those wishing to take an equivalency examination to take an on-line examination.
Information for classes can be found below:
Successful completion of the class qualifies a person to purchase for $50 their Certificate of Personal Watercraft Operation (CPWO) on the Online Sportsmen Licensing System. The CPWO allows an individual to operate any recreational vessel up to 65ft. including a personal watercraft. Please check age restrictions for operating vessels with engines greater than 10 horsepower and personal watercraft.
The on-line classes are 8 hours long and will be held on an interactive videoconferencing platform which provides the opportunity for dialogue between the instructors and students. As part of this instruction, a proctored exam will be administered and graded at the end of the class. Each student must have their own device (i.e. laptop, tablet or smartphone) with audio and video capabilities.
|Jan 3 & 4||4 p.m. to 8 p.m.||Closed||N/A||None|
|Feb 7 & 8||4 p.m. to 8 p.m.||Closed||N/A||None|
|Mar 7 & 8||4 p.m. to 8 p.m.||Closed||N/A||None|
|April 4 & 5||4 p.m. to 8 p.m.||Closed||N/A||None|
|May 2 & 3||4 p.m. to 8 p.m.||Closed||N/A||None|
|No Other DEEP Classes Scheduled. Other Class Options.|
These classes are at least 8 hours long and range between two and four sessions.
|Ledyard||Ledyard Parks & Rec Dept.||Ledyard Middle School
|February 7,9,14,16||6 p.m. to
Out of Town: $20
|Norwalk||Norwalk Community College||Norwalk Community College||April
5, 7 & 12
|6 p.m. to
Safe Boating Course Agents (Private Providers)
Approved Safe Boating Course Agents are organizations that are approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) and the State of Connecticut to teach boating education that will lead to certification.
|America’s Boating Club / (US Power Squadrons)
America’s Boating Club offers in-person boating courses from 18 squadrons located throughout the state of Connecticut. Be aware that CT does not accept diplomas from outside of CT or the national online course.
Find a course near you by clicking the link:
|Boat Safe Connecticut, LLC
Contact: Mark Vining
|Connecticut Boating Certificate, LLC
Contact: Glenn Dean
|Current Boating Education, LLC
Contact: Patrick Kilby
|Green Marine Education
Contact: Yale Greenman
|Landfall Navigation Limited
Contact: William Jessup
|Northeast Marine Education
Contact: Jeffrey Hotsky
|Safe Boating America, Inc.
Contact: Richard Werner
|Sea Safe Boating
Contact: Karl Koch
|Sound Environment Associates, LLC
Contact: Greg Trotta
|United States Coast Guard Auxiliary*
USCG Auxiliary teaches offers in-person boating courses throughout state. Be aware that only courses taught in Connecticut are accepted for Connecticut boating certificates. Check availability for the “Boat America" formerly known as "About Boating Safely” classes by clicking the link:www.cgaux.org/boatinged/
Contact: Peri Burns
Personal Watercraft Classes are 2 1/2 hours long. They are intended for individuals who would like to upgrade their Safe Boating Certificate to the Certificate of Personal Watercraft Operation or to be eligible for a temporary personal watercraft certificate for first-time registered owners of a personal watercraft.
On-Line Personal Watercraft Classes
|Dates||Time||Class Status||To Register:||Class Fee|
|July 14, 2021||5 pm to 7:30 pm||CLOSED||N/A||None|
|No Other DEEP Classes Scheduled. Other Class Options.