State's Lemon Law Program Returns Record Number of Dollars to Consumers in 2018
Thursday, May 2nd, 2019 – The Department of Consumer Protection (DCP) announced today that the state’s Lemon Law Program gave $2,621,831.00 back to consumers in refunds or returns, an increase of over $300,000.00 from 2017. DCP processed 81 lemon law cases through the program this year, an increase of 17 cases from 2017.
“We’re pleased to see that more families in our state are aware of this program,” said Consumer Protection Commissioner Michelle H. Seagull, “When a family invests in something as expensive as a vehicle, and they find there are problems, it’s more than a financial burden, it’s a safety concern, and I’m happy the state can help. We encourage anyone who has questions about the program to consult the manual we’ve developed for the public, and reach out to our staff with any questions.”
Case numbers and dollar amounts processed by the Lemon Law Program in the past few years are as follows:
|Year||Cases||Returned to Consumers|
All new car dealers in Connecticut are required to post lemon law information in their service department and provide purchasers lemon law program information at the time of sale for new vehicle and lease purchases, including motorcycles. More information about dealer’s requirements can be found by visiting ct.gov/dcp/lemon and clicking on “For Dealers”. Consumers who suspect their dealer is not in compliance are encouraged to contact DCP.
For more information about Connecticut’s Lemon Law Program, consumers and businesses may visit www.ct.gov/DCP/lemon. DCP has also produced a consumer guide to the Lemon Law Program, which is available for download here.
Those with questions may contact the program by emailing email@example.com, or by calling (800) 538-CARS (2277), or (860) 713-6120.
Lora Rae Anderson
(860) 713-6019 (office)
(860) 247-8711 (cell)
- Twitter: DCP on Twitter
- Facebook: DCP on Facebook