Lottery Sales Agent
Persons interested in becoming a Lottery Sales Agent must apply at the Connecticut Lottery Corporation (CLC). When the applicant's application package is completed, the Department of Consumer Protection will administer a criminal background check and financial suitability assessment. Once the applicant has completed the CLC training and has been reviewed and approved by the Department of Consumer Protection, a Lottery Sales Agent license will be granted.
Connecticut Lottery Corporation Retailer Services
777 Brook Street
Rocky Hill, CT 06067
Lottery Sales Agent licenses expire annually on March 31st. There is no fee required to renew such license. Renewals submitted after the expiration date may be subject to a civil penalty or fine by the Department.
To download a paper renewal application click on the link below:
To complete the renewal online, you may request your User ID and Password by emailing the following information to firstname.lastname@example.org:
- License type
- License number
- Email address
To report a change in the PIC, the owner and PIC must complete and sign the application below. The change must be reported within 15 days.
Lottery Sales Agent Application for Interest Rate Hardship Waiver
A lottery sales agent whose account was determined delinquent at a hearing and the debt was subject to compounding interest on or before June 30, 2022, may apply to the commissioner for a hardship waiver to reduce the amount of delinquent interest to an amount based on simple interest.
Simple interest is calculated only on the principal amount of a debt. In contrast, compound interest is based on the principal amount of the debt and the interest that accumulates on it in every period.
If an individual has a debt of $100 and it is subject to simple interest at the rate of 1.5% per month then the amount owed after 5 years would be $190 (the original debt of $100 plus the amount of interest owed of $90).
If an individual has a debt of $100 and it is subject to compound interest at the rate of 1.5% per month then the amount owed after 5 years would be $244.32 (the original debt of $100 plus the amount of interest owed of $144.32). In this case the amount of the hardship waiver would be $54.32. The difference between the amount of compound vs. simple interest. If approved, the lottery retailer would owe the state $190 (the underlying debt plus simple interest calculated at 1.5% per month).
NOTE: The hardship waiver does not waive the underlying debt that the lottery sales agent owes to the state.
Lottery sales agents with a delinquent account may electronically complete and submit this application:
Please direct any questions to email@example.com.