Search Department of Consumer Protection Filtered Topic Search

Controlled Substance Practitioner Registration

Purpose:

This registration permits practitioners to distribute, dispense, conduct research, administer, or procure controlled substances in the course of their professional practice as permitted by the Department of Public Health or other governing agency.

Practitioners include but are not limited to:

  • Medical Doctors (MD)
  • Osteopaths (DO)
  • Dentists (DDS, DMD)
  • Veterinarians (DVM)
  • Advanced Practice Registered Nurses (APRN)
  • Physician Assistants (PA)
  • Scientific Investigators

Prerequisites:

An individual applying for this registration MUST have a valid active registration with the Department of Public Health.


Required Documentation:

  • No additional documentation is required unless you have been convicted of a felony or have had your license surrendered, revoked, suspended, limited, denied or if any such action is pending.
Applications and Forms:  
Please Note: This is a mandatory requirement for licensed medical personnel who prescribe controlled substances in Connecticut.

apply online button

Application Fee:

  • Initial Application Fee- $40
  • Renewal Application Fee- $40 (Biennial expiration on February 28th of every odd-numbered year) Renewal Information
  • To reinstate an expired registration click here 

Other Important Information

***ALL PRACTITIONERS WHO POSSESS A CONNECTICUT CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE REGISTRATION MUST REGISTER IN THE CONNECTICUT PRESCRIPTION MONITORING AND REPORTING SYSTEM*** at https://connecticut.pmpaware.net

Mailing Address:

Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection
License Services Division
450 Columbus Blvd, Ste. 801
Hartford, CT 06103


Email Address: