Important Information: Surety Bail Bonds - January 19, 2005
Surety Bail Bond Agents (Individuals and Business Entities) licensure and activities fall under the jurisdiction of the State of Connecticut Insurance Department. Surety Bail Bond Agents act on behalf of authorized insurance/surety companies. Licenses remain in effect until January 31 of every even-numbered year, unless cancelled by the Department or at the licensee’s request prior to January 31 of every even-numbered year.
All individuals and business entities (legal entities or business trade names) involved in soliciting, negotiating or writing Bail Bonds are required to hold an active Connecticut Surety Bail Bond Agent license AND an appointment from each insurance/surety company they represent. Licensees MUST show their current (expiry date of 01/31/2006) Surety Bail Bond Agent Photo Identification license AND a Power of Attorney from the insurance/surety company they are writing on behalf of (appointed by), each time they write a Bond. The writing Agent's name MUST be clearly written on the Appearance Bond, as well as on the Power.
Using unlicensed names is not allowed. CGS 38a-660 (c) states that any person who solicits or negotiates Bail Bonds without a license shall be guilty of a Class D Felony. Such person is subject to arrest upon failure to provide evidence of licensure when soliciting, negotiating, or writing a Bail Bond. Conviction of any felony, or certain misdemeanors, will result in automatic license revocation.
Changes to employer, home or business address, as well as home or business telephone number, MUST be reported to the Insurance Department, in writing, within 30 days.
Conviction(s) of a crime (felony, misdemeanor, or military offense) MUST be reported to the Insurance Department, in writing, within 30 days.
Rates are filed with the Insurance Department by the insurance/surety companies authorized to offer them to the public in this state. Charging more OR less than the filed rates is not allowed. Undercutting is a form of rebating and is in violation of CGS 38a-825. Questions should be directed to the Insurance Department's Bail Bond Licensing Unit. A receipt evidencing a breakdown of premium and expenses, as well as any collateral taken, must be approved by, and given to, the indemnitor (co-signer or payer), at the time the Bail Bond is written. A copy of the receipt must be kept in the Bail Bond Agent's files, as well as all related documentation, for auditing purposes. The commissioner may, as often as (s)he deems necessary, examine the books and records of any licensee to ensure continued eligibility.
Complaints, including supporting documentation, should be sent to the Insurance Department's Licensing Division via E-mail to firstname.lastname@example.org, via FAX to 860.297.3978 (Attention: Andre Pomerleau), or by US Mail to: Bail Bond Licensing Unit, State of CT Ins Dept, PO Box 816, Hartford, CT 06142-0816.
Contact the Special Licensing & Firearms Unit, Dept of Public Safety, 860.685.8449 for more information on the following:
Skip Tracing/Bounty Hunting
The Surety Bail Bond Agent bonding the defendant out is the ONLY person who can apprehend the defendant, without requiring a Bail Enforcement Agent license.
Wearing, Carrying or Displaying a Uniform, Badge or other Insignia of Governmental Official or Employee
No Surety Bail Bond Agent shall wear, carry or display any uniform, badge, shield or other insignia or emblems that purport to indicate they are an employee, officer or agent of the state or any political subdivision of the state or of the federal government.
No Surety Bail Bond Agent shall carry a pistol, revolver or other firearm while engaging in the business of a Surety Bail Bond Agent or while traveling to or from such business unless they obtain a special permit from the Commissioner of Public Safety.