History of the Attorney General's Office

The Office of the Attorney General was officially created by the Connecticut General Assembly in 1897.  Read The Act Creating the Office! The first Attorney General was Charles Phelps, who was elected in 1898 and served as Attorney General from 1899 to 1903. There have been 23 Attorneys General to date in Connecticut's history.

Special thanks for developing the information and this site to Superior Court Judge Henry Cohn (a former assistant attorney general and unofficial office historian), Attorney General's Office interns Armen Babajanian of the University of California at Los Angeles, Isabel Corte-Real of Trinity College in Hartford, Conn., Jill Crowley of Trinity College in Hartford, Patty Ryan of Trinity College in Hartford, Conn., and Madeline Laboy of Hartford Public High School.