Commission on the Standardization of the Collection
of Evidence in Sexual Assault Investigations

Commission Members


Sharmese L. Walcott
State’s Attorney, Judicial District of Hartford
Designee of Chief State’s Attorney Richard J. Colangelo, Jr.


Linda J. Cimino
Office of Victim Services
Connecticut Judicial Branch

Bethany Hamilton
Connecticut Alliance to End Sexual Violence

Marielle Daniels
The Connecticut Hospital Association

Chief James Kenny
Connecticut Police Chiefs Association

Candida Fusco MSN, RN, SANE - A
Connecticut Nurses Association

Sergeant Brian L. Narkewicz
Connecticut State Police

Scott Casper, M.D.
Gynecology and Obstetrics
Yale New Haven Hospital

Lisa Pavlovic, M.D.
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pediatrics
Yale New Haven Hospital

Karen Jubanyik MD
Associate Professor
Yale Department of Emergency Medicine

Patti LaMonica
Connecticut Emergency Nurses Association

Monica Polzella
Department of Children and Families

Rosemary Lopez
The Commission on Women, Children, Seniors, Equity, and Opportunity

Joy Reho
DESPP - Division of Scientific Services



The Commission on the Standardization of the Collection of Evidence in Sexual Assault Investigations thanks all those who have contributed their time and expertise to this work and acknowledges that their dedication and commitment have been instrumental to the completion and revision of the Technical Guidelines.

Thank you to Bonnie Bentley, Diane Carberry, Margo George, Elaine Pagliaro and Shery Watson for their tireless efforts with the initial version of the Technical Guidelines.

Thank you also to the Commission Subcommittee that worked to review and revise the 2013 edition of the Guidelines: Linda J. Cimino, Laura Cordes, Denise Covington, Marielle Daniels, Anna Doroghazi, Candida Fusco, Patti LaMonica, Michelle Noehren, and Joy Reho, with special thanks to Anna Doroghazi and Michelle Noehren for editing this version of the Technical Guidelines.

The Commission additionally thanks the work groups and members of the 2017 Revision of the Technical Guidelines Subcommittee who contributed so generously of their time, work and expertise: Laura Cordes, Elise Delacruz (Advocacy), Cheryl Carreiro, Kevin MacMillan, Karen Lamy, Michael Rickenbach, Mark Anderson, Robert DeLuca, Joy Reho and Guy Vallaro (CT DESPP, Division of Scientific Services), Candida Fusco, Kristin Loranger, Carol Michalak (Healthcare), James Kenny, Robin Montgomery, Marc Montminy (Law Enforcement), Anne Mahoney, Bonnie Bentley,  Brenda Hans, Elizabeth Leaming, Michele Lukban (Legal), Linda Cimino, Anna Fidyk, Rachel McKnight (OVS), John Leventhal, Audrey Courtney, Nina Livingston, Kirsten Bechtel (Pediatrics), Marielle Daniels, Michelle Noehren, Jenna LoGiudice, Denise Covington and Jennifer Cox (Reviewers).

And thank you to the following who gave again so generously of their time and expertise for the 2021 revision:


Subcommittee Chair:  Denise Covington


Connecticut Alliance to End Sexual Violence Work Group: Bethany Hamilton (Commission), Jeannette DeJesus

Connecticut Coalition Against Domestic Violence Work GroupAshley Starr Frechette

Connecticut DESPP, Division of Scientific Services, Forensic Laboratory Work Group: Cheryl Carreiro, Danielle Lindgren, Karen Lamy, Michael, Rickenbach, Mark Anderson, Kristin Sasinouski (Commission), Guy Vallaro

Health Care Work Group: Candida Fusco (Commission), Kristin Loranger, Patricia Moriarty


Law Enforcement Work Group: James Kenny (Commission), Marshall Porter


Legal Work GroupAnne Mahoney (Commission appointed), Bonnie Bentley, Brenda Hans, Elizabeth Leaming, Michele Lukban


Office of Victim Services Work GroupLinda J. Cimino (Commission), Anna Fidyk, Rachel McKnight


Pediatric and Adolescent Work GroupLisa Pavlovic (Commission), Kirsten Bechtel, Audrey Courtney, Nina Livingston


Reviewers: Linda J. Cimino (Commission), Marielle Daniels (Commission).