Unit Design - Mastery-Based Learning


Because mastery-based learning focuses on results, the Backward Design approach to unit design fits well. In brief, the stages of the Backward Design approach are summarized below: 

Stages of Backward Design

  1. Desired Results-What students will  know and be able to do? 
  2. Determine acceptable evidence-How students will demonstrate learning? 
  3. Design relevant Instruction-learning experiences and formative feedback 

Differences in unit design for mastery-based learning include but are not limited to:

  1. Design of competencies that include content application and creation of knowledge. 
  2. Opportunities for different pathways to the same outcome. 
  3. Assessments that are part of learning. 
  4. The opportunity to take summative assessments until the content is mastered. 
  5. A design for differentiated supports delivered in a timely manner. 
  6. A design for students to advance upon mastery. 

This section of the web site explores options to create unit designs that focus on these elements of mastery-based learning.

Learn about: Project-Based Learning