|STATE OF CONNECTICUT
Department of Public Safety
1111 Country Club Road
Middletown, Connecticut 06457
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
May 11, 2007
SUMMER DRIVING & SEATBELT ENFORCEMENT
“CLICK IT OR TICKET”
Connecticut Law requires all front seat passengers to buckle up. The law also requires children to be seat belted or in an approved child safety seat. Children must always be seated and restrained in the back seat of the car.
Connecticut State Troopers are on the lookout for unbelted violators. Troopers will be stationed on exit and entrance ramps to the highways and will concentrate their efforts to increase the seatbelt compliance.
The State Police are reminding all motorists and all passengers to buckle up. This is a safety issue. As the summer holidays approach and family and friends travel to celebrations or other social events,
For each ticket issued for a seat belt violation, the fine is $37.00. The ticket for a child not in the proper infant or child safety seat is issued to the driver and the driver can be fined $75.00.
Seat belts do prevent injury and they do save lives. Many people are ejected from cars involved in violent crashes on highways and roads in
The State of
Lt. J. Paul Vance