Reports and Records
Please note: This page is intended to provide access to Connecticut State Police Incident Reports. If you need to access Criminal History Record searches or Fingerprinting Services, please click on the following link: State Police Bureau of Identification
Effective Friday, April 1, 2022
Reports and Records will no longer require appointments. Requests for Connecticut State Police reports may be submitted in person at 1111 Country Club Road, Middletown, CT. Please be aware, requests are limited to 2 per person per day.
Hours: Tuesday – Thursday, 9:00am – 2:00pm
Fee: Payment in the amount of $16.00 per incident requested. Check or Money Order payable to “Treasurer-State of CT”. Cash payments must be the exact dollar amount. Change cannot be provided.
Accident Information Summary
An Accident Information Summary provides preliminary information regarding the parties involved in an accident, vehicles involved, insurance information and a brief summary of the accident. The summary is for informational purposes only and is not the official accident report.Accident Information Summaries are available to the parties involved in an accident on the DESPP Internet website. Accident Information Summaries will be available for thirty (30) days from the date of the accident. Connecticut General Statutes may restrict what information is provided in the summary. In cases where information is restricted, you may visit the State Police Troop in the area in which your accident occurred to obtain a copy of the Accident Information Summary.
For a free copy of an Accident Information Summary, please click this link: https://accidents.despp.ct.gov
A completed case report can be requested, for a non-refundable search fee in the amount of $16.00, pursuant to Connecticut General Statute 29-10b.
- Many simple motor vehicle accidents may be available online at http://www.BuyCrash.com within ten business days following the date of the accident. Additional convenience fees may apply for online requests. Convenience fees are collected by the third party vendor and are not payable to the State of Connecticut.
- Accidents which are not available online within 30 days from the date of the accident and other investigative reports may be requested electronically by clicking here.*
- You may also request a copy of an incident report by mailing a completed request form, DPS-96-C Request for Copy of Report with appropriate payment.
DO NOT E-MAIL or FAX REQUEST, U.S. MAIL only
WHERE DO I SERVE A SUBPOENA FOR A DEPARTMENT OF EMERGENCY SERVICES AND PUBLIC PROTECTION REPORT?
- All subpoenas for Reports and Records must be served at the:
Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection
Connecticut State Police Headquarters
1111 Country Club Road
Middletown, CT 06457