NOTICE: IMPORTANT NOTICE FROM US STATE DEPARTMENT: The US State Department has issued a DO NOT TRAVEL TO CHINA ALERT effective immediately CLICK HERE FOR MORE...

Press Releases

Announcement From The Connecticut Division of Emergency Management and Homeland Security

09/05/2019

FEMA Announces Pre-Disaster Mitigation and Flood Mitigation Assistance Training and Releases Application Guidance

Excerpt from August 26, 2019 FEMA E-Brief

FEMA has posted the Fiscal Year 2019 (FY19) Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) announcements for the Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) and Pre-Disaster Mitigation (PDM) grant programs on www.grants.gov. These NOFOs provide an overview of the grant programs and details about the agency's funding priorities and review process. FEMA will offer a series of webinars in September and October on the FY19 NOFOs for prospective applicants and how to use Mitigation eGrants, the system that FEMA will use to accept and process all grant applications. Applicants may attend any session. Upcoming sessions are listed below. View the complete webinar schedule.

NOFO Overview 
FEMA will offer a webinar on the FY19 NOFOs for prospective applicants. This webinar will be offered three times, and applicants may attend any session.

  • Wednesday, September 4 at 2 pm Eastern Time (1 pm Central, 12 pm Mountain, 11 am Pacific)
  • Tuesday, September 10 at 2 pm Eastern Time (1 pm Central, 12 pm Mountain, 11 am Pacific)
  • Tuesday, September 17 at 2 pm Eastern Time (1 pm Central, 12 pm Mountain, 11 am Pacific)

For the online portion, please join via the Internet: https://fema.connectsolutions.com/fy19nofo/ and for audio, please call 1-800-320-4330 and enter conference code 338559.

NOFO Overview for Tribal Applicants

FEMA will offer a webinar on the FY19 NOFOs for prospective tribal applicants.

  • Wednesday, September 11 at 2 pm Eastern Time (1 pm Central, 12 pm Mountain, 11 am Pacific)

For the online portion, please join via the Internet: https://fema.connectsolutions.com/fy19nofo_tribal/ and for audio, please call 1-800-320-4330 and enter conference code 338559.

 

E-Grants For Beginners
This webinar will be offered four times, and prospective FY19 applicants may attend any session. These webinars will be “MT eGrants 101” for basic users and new users. Topics covered will include how to access the system, where to go for help, and plenty of time for question and answer. Primarily intended for subapplicants and new users.

  • Wednesday, September 18, 2019 at 9 a.m. Eastern Time (8 am Central, 7 am Mountain, 6 am Pacific)
  • Thursday, September 19, 2019 at 5 p.m. Eastern Time (4 pm Central, 3 pm Mountain, 2 pm Pacific)
  • Wednesday, October 16, 2019 at 5 p.m. Eastern Time (4 pm Central, 3 pm Mountain, 2 pm Pacific)
  • Monday, October 21, 2019 at 9 a.m. Eastern Time (8 am Central, 7 am Mountain, 6 am Pacific)

For the online portion, please join via the Internet: https://fema.connectsolutions.com/beginnersegrants/ and for audio, please call 1-800-320-4330 and enter conference code 338559.     

                                   

Avoiding Application Pitfalls 

FEMA will offer a webinar on common Pre-Disaster Mitigation grant application errors and how to avoid them. This webinar will be offered two times, and applicants may attend either session.

  • Tuesday, October 8 at 2 pm Eastern Time (1 pm Central, 12 pm Mountain, 11 am Pacific)

  • Tuesday, October 15 at 2 pm Eastern Time (1 pm Central, 12 pm Mountain, 11 am Pacific)

For the online portion, please join via the Internet:https://fema.connectsolutions.com/application-pitfalls/ and for audio, please call 1-800-320-4330 and enter conference code 338559.

FEMA will open the FY19 application period on September 30, 2019. Eligible applicants must apply for funding through the Mitigation eGrants system on the FEMA Grants Portal accessible at https://portal.fema.gov. All applications must be submitted no later than 3 pm Eastern Time on January 31, 2020.

 

 

Program Contact:

DEMHS.HMGP@ct.gov

Phone: 860-685-8531