Commission on the Standardization of the Collection of Evidence in Sexual Assault Investigations

Minutes of the Meeting of December 11, 2017
Office of the Chief State's Attorney
Rocky Hill, Connecticut

Attendance: Maureen Platt, Chair, Brian Narkewicz, Jim Kenny, Scott Casper, M.D., Karen Jubayik, M.D., Joy Reho, Ashlei Flemming, Marielle Daniels, Denise Covington, Linda Cimino, Candide Fusco, John Leventhal, M.D.

The meeting was called to order at 3:01p.m.

New Members Scott Casper, M.D., and Karen Jubanyik, M.D., were introduced to the group. All members gave a brief explanation of their experience and role on the commission. 

Jim Kenny made a motion to approve the minutes of the September meeting approved with one minor revision. This motion was seconded by Joy Reho.

The motion passed unanimously with Linda Cimino abstaining.

Linda Cimino gave the report of the Bill Paying Subcommittee. She reported that the fund appears to be within budget for the current fiscal year and has provided funding for 450 forensic interviews and 209 adult examinations. She also discussed the new tracking systems for the kits. Dr. Jubayik suggested that all kits be marked with the instruction that they should be opened only when used for when performing an examination, and not be opened merely for training purposes in order to better track the use of the kits.

Denise Covington provided the Sexual Assault Forensic Examiner (SAFE) report. She stated that the program has been activated 111 times during this fiscal year and has responded 82 times. She reported that six individuals have recently completed the SAFE training, and the program is now accepting applicants for the Spring training. The group also discussed  the that the gray top tubes in the CT-400 kits are often expired, and how to best solved this problem. The group agreed that additional training to hospitals must be given to address this concern.

The group also discussed the issue of when parental notification must be given when a minor victim is being examined for the collection of evidence in sexual assault cases. It was agreed that a subcommittee should be formed to discuss this issue and make recommendations to the Commission. Dr. Leventhal agreed to chair this subcommittee. Linda Cimino, Laura Cordes, Dr. Jubanyik and Marielle Daniels were appointed as members. Additionally, it was agreed that there should be a representative from the Division of Children and Families and the Division of Criminal Justice. Dr. Leventhal was a given authority to appoint these members and appoint other members as he feels appropriate. 

New Business:

Linda Cimino reported that there was a vendor error in the new CT-100-b kits. This error has been corrected, and new instructions have been provided in the kits which have already been distributed.

Joy Reho stated that when new kits are being ordered, a tape to seal the bags should be contained within the kit.

It was agreed that in future meetings, members should have the option of phoning in to participate.

It was agreed that the Commission will meet on the following days in 2018:

  • March 19, 2018
  • June 18, 2018
  • September 17, 2018
  • December 10, 2018

All meetings will be held at the Office of the Chief State's Attorney, 300 Corporate Place, Rocky Hill from 3 p.m. to 4:30pm.

After a motion by Jim Kenny which was seconded by Joy Reho, the meeting was adjourned at 4:30 p.m.