Valley Laboratory

The Connecticut Valley, with its deep fertile soils and accommodating climate attracted the first settlers and remains the center of the State’s agriculture today. The Valley Laboratory in Windsor was established by the Board of Control in 1921 to investigate cigar wrapper tobacco production and disease control. While research on the culture of shade and broadleaf tobacco continues today,  scientists now seek practical methods for controlling plant diseases, insect pests and weeds in a variety of crops including fruits, vegetables, ornamental trees and shrubs. In forests, entomologists are exploring biological control of introduced insect pests including hemlock woolly adelgid. Diagnostic services are provided to commercial growers and homeowners to identify plants, plant pathogens and diseases and insect pests of plants and human health concern as well as provide knowledge of the current management tools that are available and appropriate.  Soil nutrient and pH testing is also conducted to allow successful plant growth on farms and landscapes while protecting environmental resources.

Valley Laboratory, Windsor, CT
Connecticut Nursery and Landscape Association Discovery and Education Garden
Garden Brochure / Garden Listing

 

The Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station
Valley Laboratory
153 Cook Hill Road
P.O. Box 248
Windsor, CT 06095
Fax: (860) 683-4987

 

LaMondia, James A.: Chief Scientist, Department Head

E-mail: James.LaMondia@ct.gov

Voice: (860) 683-4982

 

Aulakh, Jatinder S.: Assistant Agricultural Scientist II

E-mail: Jatinder.Aulakh@ct.gov

Voice: (860) 683-4984

 

Cheah, Carole A.: Assistant Agricultural Scientist II

E-mail: Carole.Cheah@ct.gov

Voice: (860) 683-4980 

 

Cowles, Richard S.: Agricultural Scientist

E-mail: Richard.Cowles@ct.gov

Voice: (860) 683-4983

 

Fengler, Jeffrey: Agricultural Research Technician I

E-mail: Jeffrey.Fengler@ct.gov

Voice: (860) 285-7418

 

Kodati, Srikanth: Agricultural Postdoctoral Scientist

E-mail: Srikanth.Kodati@ct.gov 

Voice: (860) 683-4985 

 

Li, DeWei: Agricultural Scientist

E-mail: DeWei.Li@ct.gov

Voice: (860) 683-4979

 

Paine, Ethan: Agricultural Research Technician I

E-mail: Ethan.Paine@ct.gov

Voice:  (860) 683-4977

 

Preste, James J.: Research Farm Manager

E-mail: James.Preste@ct.gov

Voice: (860) 683-4981

 

Riddle, Diane C.: Agricultural Research Technician I

E-mail: Diane.Riddle@ct.gov

Voice: (860) 683-4977

 

Salvas, Michelle R.: Agricultural Research Technician I

E-mail: Michelle.Salvas@ct.gov

Voice: (860) 683-4977

 

EMERITUS

Rathier, Thomas M.

E-mail: Thomas.Rathier@ct.gov

Voice: (860) 683-4977