
Statutory Fees, Interest, Penalties and Fines  

 

The Connecticut Department of Labor is governed by state and federal laws that require fees, interest, penalties, and fines in certain 

circumstances applicable to Connecticut Unemployment Insurance Taxes.  The following is a complete list of the type of late charge or fine, the 

relevant Connecticut General Statute (CGS) and the amount.    

 

Type                             CGS     Amount 

 

Late Filing Fee             31-225a(j)(3)    $25.00 

Interest on unpaid taxes as of due date   31-265     1% per month 

Penalty  on unpaid taxes 30 days from due date  12-35      $50 or 10% of balance,  
            whichever is greater 
 
Untimely Registration Civil Penalty      31-223(h)    $50.00 

Non-Electronic Registration Civil Penalty   31-223(h)    $50.00 

Untimely Notice of Acquisition Civil Penalty  31-223(h)    $50.00 

Non-Electronic Notice of Acquisition Civil Penalty             31-223(h)    $50.00 

SUTA Dumping Penalty/Fine    31-223b(d)(1); 31-223b(e)  Penalty tax rate of 2% for four 

years, plus a maximum $2000 fine. 

 

Willful Failure to Declare Payment of wages Penalty 31-273(e)                 10% of additional taxes due, 

plus, requirements to pay taxes at the 

maximum rate for up to 4 years. 

 

For assistance, please contact the Delinquent Account Unit at DOL.DelinquentAccounts@ct.gov 
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