IMPORTANT NOTICE: Voicemail at Headquarters is down until further notice. We apologize for any inconvenience. Thank you.

State Police Bureau of Identification

Please note:  This page is intended to provide access to the Connecticut State Police Bureau of Identification for Criminal History Record Checks and Fingerprinting Services.  If you need access to Connecticut State Police Incident Reports, please click the following linkState Police Incident Reports

State Police Bureau of Identification

  • Effective June 15, 2020, DESPP-HQ Fingerprint Identification Unit will re-open for in person fingerprinting requests by appointment only
  • Anyone who is currently sick or experiencing any symptoms associated with Covid-19 is asked to delay scheduling an appointment until the individual has been symptom free for 14 days.
  • For information or to schedule your appointment:
  • All non-DPH fingerprint appointments : click HERE.
  • Fingerprint Appointments - Extended Hours - Tuesday Evenings & Saturdays : click HERE.
  • You will be required to bring the following:

    1. Appointment confirmation code from Everbrite.
    2. Valid Government issued photo ID. (Driver's License, Connecticut ID Card or Passport)
    3. $15 Fingerprinting Fee. $75 for a State Criminal History Check. $13.25 for a Federal Criminal History Check. NOTE: not all fees are required for all services requested. Federal Criminal History Check is only available in accordance with applicable State Statute or Federal Act.
    4. All fees must be paid separately in check, money order or cash (if paying in cash, all fees are to be exact change only. No change will be made at the window) If you are unsure of the amount of your fees, please contact SPBI at 860-845-8480.
  • Upon your arrival you will be required to:
    1. Submit to temporal scan. Anyone with an elevated temperature will be asked to reschedule their appointment once their temperature has normalized. Anyone refusing the temporal scan will not be admitted into the building
    2. Wear a mask at all times
    3. Maintain the required social distancing protocols
    4. Only the person being fingerprinted will be allowed in to the building. The exceptions to this are: someone acting as a translator, someone accompanying a minor (age 16 or 17 only), or someone providing medical assistance services to the person being printed.
  • If there are any questions please call 860-685-8270

Note: ALL fees must be made in separate, exact amounts.  At this time, only fingerprint services are being honored by appointment.  All other services that require Criminal History Record Checks should be sent in via mail.  We are not accepting any drop off or pick up services.

  

State Police Fingerprint Identification Unit 

Fingerprinting Services:

HQ will reopen for in-person fingerprinting services on Monday, June 15, 2020. These services will be by appointment only through an online scheduling service. Appointments will be taken from 8:30am- 4:00pm, Monday through Friday. The only appointments that should be made are for services requiring fingerprints to be taken. These include, but are not limit to: Letters of Good Conduct, Guard Cards, Pardon requests, fingerprint supported Criminal History Record Checks, and fingerprints associated with other types of employment or licensing not specifically mentioned. All other services we provide will be accepted only by mail. We will not offer pickup or drop-off requests of any kind. Any appointments made for non-fingerprint services will be turned away and asked for the request to be mailed in to our office. All results will be sent to requestors via email or USPS. Note: some services are not available to send results by email and require a hard copy to be sent. 

 

State Police Criminal Records Unit

Note: ALL fees must be made in separate, exact amounts.  At this time, only fingerprint services are being honored by appointment.  All other services that require Criminal History Record Checks should be sent in via mail.  We are not accepting any drop off or pick up services

All requests for criminal history should be mailed to:

Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection
State Police Bureau of Identification
1111 Country Club Road
Middletown, CT 06457
(860) 685-8480

Please note that there are rate changes effective December 1, 2017 to request the following records.

How do I request a criminal history record?

  • *NOTE: This is not to be used for Visas, Foreign Adoption, Immigration, etc.
    Please use "Letter of Good Conduct Form"

    Click on the following for the form and instructions: 
    DPS-0846-C

How do I request a letter of good conduct?

  • THIS FORM IS REQUIRED WHEN ENTERING THE UNITED STATES OR A FOREIGN COUNTRY.
    (i.e. Visas, Immigration, Foreign Adoption)

    Click on the following for the form and instructions: 
    DPS-181-C

*DO NOT E-MAIL or FAX REQUESTS, U.S. MAIL ONLY

  • Please note, fingerprinting for criminal record checks must be completed by a law enforcement agency. Fingerprints taken by the Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection are subject to a fee of $15.00.
  • Rate Change Information - Effective January 1, 2019