
Frequently Asked Questions 

 

 

Q: What are the criteria to qualify as social equity applicant? 

A: A “social equity applicant” is an applicant for a cannabis establishment license, where the applicant is 

at least 65% owned and controlled by an individual or individuals, or the applicant is an individual, who 

meets the following criteria: 

 

• Income – Average household income must have been less than 300% of the state median over 

the three tax years immediately before the application. 

• Residency – Applicant must be resident in a DIA for at least 5 of the 10 years immediately 

before applying for the license or 9 years before they turn 18. 

• Ownership and Control – The Social Equity applicant must own at least 65% interest in the 

cannabis establishment. 

 

Q: What is the meaning of the average household income? 

A: The annual household income is the total income of all the members of the household, regardless of 

relationship (i.e., roommates, friends, relatives, and any other individual living in the household), that 

are 21 years and older.  

 

Q: What is the state’s median income? 

A: The state’s median income was established by using the 2019 U.S. Census Bureau data. The state 

median income being used to calculate the annual household income for application year 2022 (first 

round of the lottery) is $78,444 per year. 

 

Q: How do you calculate the annual household income? 

A: The annual household income is 300% of the state median income. In 2022 the annual household 

income per year cannot exceed $235,332 for each of the 3 years immediately before the application.  

median household income x 3 yrs. = annual household income 

$78,444 X 3yrs = $235,332(annual household income) 

 

Q: What documentation is need for proof of household income? 

A: Please click on the link for the income requirement documentation:  

Revised-Income-and-Residency.pdf (ct.gov) 

 

Q: Do I have to be a CT resident to apply as a social equity applicant? 

A: You do not have to be a Connecticut resident to apply. However, there is a residence period 

requirement. An applicant must have been a resident in a Connecticut DIA for at least 5 of the 10 years 

immediately before applying for the license or 9 years before they turn 18. 

 

Q: What does a disproportionately impacted area (DIA) mean? 

A: Connecticut defines a DIA as a United States census tract in the state that has (A) a historical 

conviction rate for drug-related offenses greater than one-tenth, or (B) an unemployment rate greater 

than ten per cent. 

https://portal.ct.gov/cannabis/-/media/Social-Equity-Council/Meeting-Files/Revised-Income-and-Residency.pdf


Q: How do I know if my house is or was in a DIA? 

A: Please go to the following link for the ability to search an exact address: Disproportionately Impacted 

Areas, Identified for Public Act 21-1, An Act Concerning Responsible and Equitable Regulation of Adult-

Use Cannabis | Connecticut Data 

 

Q: What documentation is needed for proof of residency? 

A: Please click on the following link for proof of residency documentation: Revised-Income-and-

Residency.pdf (ct.gov) 

 

Q: Should I create an LLC or a business before submitting the application? 

A: A social equity applicant is not required to create an LLC or another form of corporation before 

submitting an application. 

 

Q: Do I need to open a bank account before submitting the application? 

A: A social equity applicant is not required to open a bank account before submitting an application. A 

social equity applicant is also not required to submit a bank statement for the cannabis establishment 

before submitting an application. 

 

Q: What do I do if the document requested for the application is not available at the time of 

submission? 

A: If the application system requires documents that are not available at the time of submission, please 

upload a sheet of paper with a note indicating “not applicable”, “not available”, or any other reason that 

applies to your particular situation. 

 

Q: What is the definition of a backer? 

A: A "Backer" means any individual with a direct or indirect financial interest in a cannabis 

establishment. "Backer" does not include an individual with an investment interest in a cannabis 

establishment if (A) the interest held by such individual and such individual's spouse, parent or 

child, in the aggregate, does not exceed five per cent of the total ownership or interest rights in 

such cannabis establishment, and (B) such individual does not participate directly or indirectly in the 

control, management or operation of the cannabis establishment. 

 

Q: Can the backer be a business or nonprofit? 

A: Under PA 21-1 RERACA, a backer is an individual. 

 

Q: What are the fees for the licenses? 

A:   Click here for more information regarding licensure fees: What are the license fees? (ct.gov) 

 

Q: How many times can I apply for a license through the lottery application process? 

A: Currently, applicants are not limited nor restricted by the number of times they can apply for 

multiple licenses and license types. However, DCP will not/ is prohibited from awarding a license to any 

applicant selected through the lottery that already has two or more licenses of the same type, or in the 

same license category. 

 

https://data.ct.gov/stories/s/Disproportionately-Impacted-Areas-Identified-for-P/8nin-pkqb/?msclkid=ad556378c72b11ec8a6728f785b05d69
https://data.ct.gov/stories/s/Disproportionately-Impacted-Areas-Identified-for-P/8nin-pkqb/?msclkid=ad556378c72b11ec8a6728f785b05d69
https://data.ct.gov/stories/s/Disproportionately-Impacted-Areas-Identified-for-P/8nin-pkqb/?msclkid=ad556378c72b11ec8a6728f785b05d69
https://portal.ct.gov/cannabis/-/media/Social-Equity-Council/Meeting-Files/Revised-Income-and-Residency.pdf
https://portal.ct.gov/cannabis/-/media/Social-Equity-Council/Meeting-Files/Revised-Income-and-Residency.pdf
https://portal.ct.gov/cannabis/Knowledge-Base/Articles/Adult-use-cannabis-license-fees?language=en_US


Q: Are the lottery and license application fees refundable? 

A: No. Lottery and license application fees are non-refundable. Please ensure your application is 

complete before submitting your application and fee. 

 

Q: What is the application timeline? 

A: There is a 90-day application period for each license issued by the Department of Consumer 

Protection. Each license application period closing is staggered. 

 

➢ DIA Cultivator:   11:59 p.m. EST May 3, 2022   
➢ Retailer    11:59 p.m. EST May 4, 2022   
➢ Micro-Cultivator:  11:59 p.m. EST, May 11, 2022  
➢ Delivery Service:  11:59 p.m. EST, May 18, 2022  
➢ Hybrid Retailer:   11:59 p.m. EST, May 25, 2022  
➢ Food & Beverage:  11:59 p.m. EST, June 1, 2022   
➢ Product Manufacturer:  11:59 p.m. EST, June 8, 2022    
➢ Product Packager:  11:59 p.m. EST, June 15, 2022   
➢ Transporter:   11:59 p.m. EST, June 22, 2022  

 


