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We've gathered resources to help school districts
understand certification requirements for CT
teachers.

Educator certification fication information is a

able to the public. Confirm staff credentials using our
online tool.
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COMPLIANCE SUBSTITUTE TEACHING DSAP
st hold a eertificate for the position in School districts can authorize dally classra stitutes fssing sentl
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background.
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Emergency Coaching Permit Charter School Education Freedom of Information Act Forms for District Use
Permit

Learn about temporary one-year Learn about the data we collect

permits for coaching shortages. A CSEP authorizes service in and how te submit a FOIA request

approved public charter schools.



Statutory Requirements

Connecticut General Statutes state:

“No teacher, supervisor, administrator, special service staff member or school superintendent
shall be employed in any of the schools of any local or regional board of education unless
such person possesses an appropriate state certificate [CONNECTICUT] nor shall any such

person be entitled to any salary unless such person can produce such certificate dated
previous to or on the first day of employment.” (Sec. 10-145(a))

Appropriate authorization is required prior to signing a formal employment contract.



Statutory Reguirements

(Continued)

Connecticut General Statutes state:

“If the State Board of Education determines that a local or regional board of education is not
in compliance with any provisions of sections 10-144o0 to 10-149, inclusive, and section 10-
220a, the State Board of Education may require the local or regional board of education to
forfeit of the total sum which is paid to such a board of education from the State Treasury an
amount to be determined by the State Board of Education...” (Sec. 10-145(b))

Service without an active, grade/subject appropriate certificate places the teacher out-of-
compliance and jeopardizes any potential Teacher Retirement Credit (TRB) as directed in

Connecticut General Statutes, Section 10-183b(26).



Mandated Background Checks

CONNECTICUT STATE
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

CRIMINAL HISTORY

A criminal history records check is conducted by the State Police on ALL applicants seeking certification. The Bureau has no control over
the timeline for routine background checks

DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILIES (DCF)

C.G.S. 10-221d(g) requires a records check for ALL applicants seeking certification. If notification is received that the applicant is listed on
the DCF child abuse and neglect registry, the application for the certificate, authorization or permit must be denied.

DISTRICT RESPONSIBILITY

® Required to fingerprint each person hired within 30 days of employment.

 If the district receives notice of a conviction of a crime by a person holding a certificate, authorization or permit issued by the State
Board of Education, the district must notify the Bureau of Investigations and Professional Practices.

Note: Educators on DCF registry may work directly with DCF to be removed from registry.



#
THE SKY
IS NOT
+ THE LIMIT

Types of Certificates

CONNECTICUT STATE
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

Initial Educator Certificate

e Valid for three years

* To advance: 10 months of appropriate service under the Initial Certificate & completion of TEAM; or 20 months of appropriate
service in another state; or 30 months of appropriate service in an approved Connecticut nonpublic school

e May be renewed if educator has not served under the certificate

Provisional Educator Certificate

e Valid for eight years

* To advance: 30 school months of successful service under the Provisional Certificate in Connecticut and advanced coursework
e May be renewed if educator has not met requirements to advance.

* Note: to advance an #092 certificate to professional requires 30 credits beyond master’s degree

Professional Educator Certificate

* Valid for ten years



Types of Certificates

(Continued)

Temporary Certificates/Permits/Authorizations

e Nonrenewable Interim Educator Certificate

e Temporary 90-Day Certificate

e Resident Educator Certificate

e Durational Shortage Area Permit (DSAP)

* Visiting International Teacher Permit (VITP)

e Long-Term Substitute Authorization

e Temporary Authorization for Minor Assignment
e Charter School Educator Permit (CSEP)

e Military Spouse Teacher Permit



Assessment Deferral

Nonrenewable Interim Certificate

e Issued at the Initial or Provisional level

e Must meet all certification requirements other than assessments

e Valid for three years

* Must pass all deferred assessments prior to the expiration date to prevent lapse in certification

If all deferred assessments are met prior to the expiration date of the interim certificate, deficiencies are
removed, and a new certificate is issued. If certificate expires prior to testing being met, a new application
must be submitted.

*Applicable to candidates who do not qualify for testing waiver*



Transitional Certification

Temporary 90-Day Permit
[ssued to candidates who have completed an approved Connecticut alternate route to certification program:

Requires district request (ED 172); candidate must be entered in EDS
90-Day period can start no earlier than date the application is submitted to CSDE

When calculating 90-day period, do not include holidays or weekends

*  Position should ideally be one expected to extend beyond the 90-day period

e  All assessment requirements must be met; no testing deferrals

Following the successful 90-day period, candidate applies for Initial Educator Certificate (ED 172A); district
attestation to successful service under 90-Day Certificate should be signed no earlier than two weeks prior to the
expiration of the 90-Day Certificate




Transitional Certification

Resident Educator Certificate

Available to candidates enrolled in an approved program with an established residency model:

e Valid for two years; may be extended for one additional year
Requires district submission of form ED 199 and program submission of ED 199 Attachment
Requires at least one of the following:
Passing scores on all assessments required for endorsement; or
e  Major or 30 credits in endorsement area; or
e  Completion of at least one year in the residency program
 Following at least one year of successful service as teacher of record under Resident Educator Certificate,

candidate then applies for Initial Educator Certificate with form ED 170A
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Durational Shortage Area Permits

CONNECTICUT STATE
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

Required Qualifications

* Bachelor’s degree from an accredited institution
* 12 semester hours of credit in the subject/endorsement area sought

* Enrollment in approved certification program, if required (many cross endorsements do not require enrollment in a program)
* District must apply for the DSAP

* Application ED 177

* ED 177 Attachment (evidence of enrollment) requires signature of both the district and the certification officer

Option for first issuance without support of institution
* Not ideal; be very thoughtful in considering
* Inlieu of ED 177 Attachment, candidate must confirm enrollment and provide a full plan of study toward program completion

Only valid for service in the requesting district

May be renewed twice if:
* District submits new ED 177 requesting reissuance
* (Candidate has made progress in program (completed an additional nine credits during previous DSAP period)
* Note: Renewal of DSAP for Special Education (#165) requires passing score on the Praxis Il Special Education test



[ssued for one year - renewable up to four times, as long as the candidate holds the J-1 visa

Teachers come from Spain, China and other countries via approved US Dept of State exchange programs
under J-1 Visas

[ssued only in academic content areas designated as shortage areas, and in bilingual education

Candidates are fully certified in their home country, most have master’s degrees and at least 2 years of
teaching experience

Passing scores on ACTFL OPI in English or approved equivalent required

District Responsibility: work with sponsoring agency, provide salary and benefits, provide mentoring,
support and professional development

For additional information, email Wendy.Harwin@ct.gov


mailto:Wendy.Harwin@ct.gov
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Substitute Authorizations

CONNECTICUT STATE
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

Daily Substitutes w/Bachelors Degree
* Hired at the local level; require no authorization from CSDE
e Cannot exceed 40 days in the same assignment during the school year*
*Can only serve as “Ms. Smith, grade 4” for 40 days in the academic year

Daily Substitutes w/out a Bachelors Degree

e Minimum requirements: At least 18 years old, high school diploma or equivalent, and experience with school-age children
e Cannot exceed 40 days in the same assignment
 Districts apply directly through website (Qualtrics Survey)

Long-Term Substitute Teacher Authorization

* For service in the same assignment for 40+ days in a given school year

* You cannot remove someone after 39 days and then place them back in the same position for another 40 days

Requires bachelor’s degree and 12 credits in the subject area

Cannot be issued for special service or administrative endorsements
Form ED 175
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CONNECTICUT STATE
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

§ Special Authorizations

Emergency Endorsements (2023-24 will only be available to Provisional & Professional cert holders)

 Available only to educators who hold a valid Initial, Provisional, or Professional teaching certificate

 District must provide rationale and supports that will be made available to the teacher

 Service under an Emergency Endorsement is applicable for TRB credit

e Types:
* Emergency Generalist, PK-8 (#201) - extends EC, elem, or middle school endorsement to cover all content in grades PreK-8
 Emergency Generalist, 7-12 (#202) - extends middle school or secondary endorsement to cover all subject areas (grades 5-12)
* Emergency Teacher of English Language Learner (#204) - allows TESOL, World Language, or Bilingual certified educators to

teach bilingual education and/or TESOL
* Emergency PreK Authorization for Comprehensive Special Education (#205) - extends K-12 Special Ed endorsement to PreK

Temporary Authorization for Minor Assignment (TAMA)
e Candidate must have a primary assignment in the district in an area for which they hold a valid certificate
* Authorizes educator to teach up to 2 periods per day in separate subject area
* Requires 12 credits (6 with good cause) in subject area for which the minor assignment is requested
e Educators who hold only elementary certification are not eligible



G4
/,

Additional Authorizations o

CONNECTICUT STATE
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

Charter School Educator Permit (CSEP)
* Only authorizes service in a specific charter school - noted on permit
* Requires a bachelor’s degree and passing scores on all tests corresponding to the endorsement sought
* Length of permit aligns with the school’s charter dates
» Experience under a CSEP cannot be accepted to waive recommendation for regular certificate
* Educators serving under CSEP cannot contribute to TRB
e No more than 30% of staff in a charter school may serve under a CSEP

Military Spouse Teacher Permit

 Available to educators whose spouses have military orders directing them to Connecticut

Educator must document at least two years of successful teaching experience in another state, under a valid certificate

Valid for a period of three years

Does not require Connecticut assessments to be met

May be renewed, as long as educator documents completion of the 36 clock-hour course of study in special education
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CONNECTICUT STATE
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

Certification Flexibility

e Kindergarten Authorization and Birth to Three Authorization

e Educators who hold an Elementary, 1-6 (#305) certificate can request approval from Commissioner to serve in
kindergarten for one school year

e Educators who hold a comprehensive special education, integrated early childhood and special education, partially
sighted, blind, or hard of hearing endorsement can request approval from Commissioner to serve in a Connecticut
Birth-to-Three program

* Online application is available on District Resources page (Qualtrics Survey)

e Science Crosswalk - Explains which science endorsements authorize the teaching of various science classes



ParaEducator Equivalency

Paraeducator Equivalency for Temporary Special Education Authorizations

A district may pursue a Temporary Authorization (Long Term Substitute or Durational Shortage Area Permit)
in special education for someone who has served successfully for at least 20 months as a special education

paraeducator.

e Candidate must meet all other requirements for corresponding temporary authorization (e.g., hold a
bachelor’s degree, enrolled in an approved program)

e Para experience can be accepted in lieu of the 12 credits normally required for issuance of a DSAP or LTS

 Recommending institution does not accept experience toward requirements for full certificate



Out-of-State Applicants

RECIPROCITY AGREEMENT

e Applicable to Delaware, District of Columbia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New
Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, Vermont, and Virginia

e (Candidate must hold valid certificate in other state that is equivalent to at least our Initial Certificate

e Allows for issuance of closest equivalent endorsement (e.g., Elem, PK-6 in other state = Elem, 1-6 in CT)
 Exempts educator from Connecticut testing

 Administration and special service candidates must verify applicable graduate degree

e Experience in other state required to determine level of Connecticut certificate



Out-of-State Applicants
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: ACSDE
CONNECTICUT STATE
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

INTERSTATE AGREEMENT

e Facilitates certification of teachers and special service educators from other states

e Applicable to all 50 states, D.C. and Puerto Rico

 Does not waive degree, experience, or assessment requirements, although some out-of-state tests may
be accepted as equivalent and/or assessments may be deferred for three years

 Agreement does not apply to administrative certificates

*  You may direct candidates to the “Out of State Educators” section of the website

OUT OF STATE EDUCATORS
Bring your talents to
e — Connecticut CERTIFIED TEACHERS 3 SPECIAL SERVICES ADMINISTRATIVE
PERSONMEL » PERSONMEL »
Connecticul eases the path
whether you're certified in another state or far many applieants by Learn how to submil your Learn how you can become a

]

‘.

b 1
¢

another country, we can help you become participaling in interslale

i i E Nenls.
an educator in Connecticut. agreamenl

'

US EDUCATORS >
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International Applicants

CONNECTICUT STATE
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

How do teachers from other countries apply for certification in

. = . [ 4
e Information is available under the “Educators” tab Connecticut?

On the main page Of Our WebSite i Date: June 21, 2022
e  Foreign credential analysis is mandatory for review et 2 minuies
e  Be aware that processing will take longer

How to apply from other countries

) Wi ask teachers from other countries to submit specific information to us and approved agencies for
[tgo | Bureau oF cermFicATION Language

avalustion:
Home  Educ Ad trators  Coac Schao s Guides & Fact Sheets  End sents  News FAQ  Abo Department of Education 1. Application farm

Complete the online or papar-bases

pplhication. Include your nonrefundable 350 application review

payment

IMPORTANT. Wa don't accept parsonal chacks. If you apply by mail, please pay with a cashier's check,
SDE - Bureau of Certification International Educators x ¢ g
certified bank check, or money arder made payable to: Treasurer, State of Connecticut.

- 2. Additional forms and documentation
Welcome to Connecticut!

Teaching certificate: Mail a copy of your valid licens

and certificatels
ED 125 Statement of Preparing Higher Education Institution: If you comp

for all years of sarvice.
We have many excellent opportunities for teaching in our state. Follow the links below to apply for certification and

ed a teacher preparation
submit information about your education and teaching experience. Thank you.

program, please have the college, uriver

y. or ather program provider completa this form and mail it to
us.

ED 126 Statements of Professional Experience: If you have any teaching expenenca in grades K-12 within

the past 10 years, please have the superintendent, district head, Ministry aof Education, or ather authorized

agency complets this form and mail it to us.
,—Q El FORTANT: Any docurmant in a language other than English must be accompanied by a notanzed
translation of all information in t riginal
APPLY FOR CERTIFICATION HOW TO USE CECS -
Follow this precess Lo apply for your certificate by mail. View this video absut our anline spplication system and how Lo use L 3 Transl::rlpts from U5, Dullegﬂsand universities
‘fou can aithar
= Mail us your officia undergraduate and graduate transcripts
EDUCATOR FAQS s Hava tha U'II\'EIL{I[:-‘[IES: mail your transcripts to us or send your e-transeripls to
How do teachers from other countries apply for Do | need to take a test to become a teacher in What teaching certificates are available to teachers from teacheratranscr _i‘-’.?‘
certification in Cannecticut? » Connecticut? » other countries? >
What are Connecticut's cartification requirements for Where can | read sbout the Connecticut Code of . . . .
teachers from ather countries? > Professional Responsibility for Teachers? » 4. Transcripts from colleges and universities outside the US.

Please work with one of the follow ng companias to have your coursework evaluated far our final review:
» Educational Credential Evalustors, Inc.

» Global Credential Ev

W

aluators, Inc.

s Josef Silny 8

= SpanTran: Company




Assessment Exemption

* For out-of-state applicants who do not qualify for certification via enhanced reciprocity

e Educator must hold a valid certificate in another state (equivalent to at least a CT Initial Educator
Certificate); and have one of the following:

* Three years of successful, full-time, appropriately licensed teaching experience in the endorsement area sought,
within the past 10 years; or

* A master’s degree in the academic subject area for which certification is sought. Note: Pedagogical degrees
(elementary education, special education, etc.) are not applicable.



Cross-Endorsements

e Designated Subject Shortage Areas™* only require passing Praxis [I/ACTFL scores to be eligible for the
cross-endorsement:

Mathematics (middle and secondary)

Science (middles and secondary)

World Languages (secondary)

Technology Education (PK-12)

Computer Science (P.A. 19-128)

History & Social Studies (middle and secondary as of July 1, 2023)

*Not applicable to: Special Education, TESOL, School Library Media, Bilingual or Special Service areas

e Requirements to add other endorsement areas include both coursework and testing

* To add one of the integrated early childhood endorsements or the remedial reading endorsement, completion of an
approved program (leading to institutional recommendation) is required

* Special service and administrative certificates are issued separately and cannot be added as a cross-endorsement
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Validity of Certificates

CONNECTICUT STATE
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

Integrated Early Childhood/Special Education:
e  #112 authorizes regular and/or special education in Birth to K settings
e  #113 authorizes regular education in PreK - grade 3 and special education only in grades PreK/K

Elementary and Middle Grades endorsements:
* May teach only grades and subject area(s) covered by the certificate

* May not teach up or down a grade level

» Elementary (#013) authorizes K-6 only
» Elementary (#305) authorizes 1-6 only

Elementary Bilingual (#902):

* Authorizes teaching in grades K-9

Secondary Subjects, Grades 7-12:

* May teach subject down to grade 5 in a departmentalized setting
* World language endorsements authorize teaching of the language down to grade 4



Obsolete Endorsements

PK-8 (001)
PK-6 (002)

PK-3 (003)
Grades 1-8 (004)
Elementary K-6 (013)
Middle Grades 4-8 (006)

Although no longer issued to new educators, these endorsements still authorize the teaching of all academic subject areas in grades listed

Bilingual, PreK-12 (009)

Although no longer issued to new educators, this endorsement still authorizes the teaching of all academic subject areas to bilingual
students
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ACSDE

CONNECTICUT STATE
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

Coaching Permits

Any athletic coach of intramural or interscholastic athletics in elementary, middle or high schools, must hold a valid
coaching permit, regardless of coaching assignment or compensation.

 Five-Year Renewable Coaching Permit
. Requested by candidate (ED 185)

. Requires a valid CT Educator Certificate or completion of approved 45-clock hour coaching course
. Valid First Aid and CPR (online only not acceptable)
. Renewal requires 15 clock hours in workshops, seminars or coursework

e Temporary Emergency Coaching Permit
. Requested by district (ED 186)

. Valid for service in requesting district only
. May be reissued one time with proof of enrollment in a coaching course
. First Aid and CPR completed within one year of application (online only is not acceptable)

All coaching permits require concussion and head injury training (module 15) from CIAC.
Concussion refresher module required every five years.
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ACSDE

CONNECTICUT STATE
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

Lapsed Certificates

Encourage all certified staff to monitor their certificates to avoid a lapse

Encourage all certified staff to regularly confirm contact information is correct in the CECS

Lapse in certification may result in:

e Testing to regain endorsement

e A change in endorsement (may lose authorization to teach certain grades)
e An impact on teacher retirement contributions

* Compliance issues for the district

Educators are responsible for maintaining their certificates (renewing and/or advancing the certificate)

Districts are encouraged to monitor certification status by running report for “expiring certificates”



Educator Certification Look-Up

CONNECTICUT STATE
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

Certification Look-Up

We've gathered resources to help school districts T mm—
| understand certification requirements for CT b
teachers.

Educator certification verification information is available to the public. Confirm staff credentials using our

*First Name | Type First Name Here

*| ast Name | Type Last Name Here

District Look-Up is located at the top of the «Date of Birth [Type Dt o B Hore (8

District Resources page and allows you «SSN Last Four Digits|Type SSN Last Four Digits Hers
to print a copy of the certificate

1) Please enter the required information (First Name, Last Name, Date of Birth and
SSN).
2) Click "Submit"




EdSight Secure — Active Certificate Search

CONNECTICUT STATE
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

Ctgou | eosigur £ Language

To create a list of certified educators for the purpose of

recruitment, start on the main EdSight page.
EdSight

Connecticut's official source for education data

SAS® Visual Anslybics - Explore and Visualice

Welcome to EdSight

. R X A P Welcome to EdSight Secure! S M I 1 |
Interactive data portal for Connecticut’s public districts, schools, and programs g :
v BV il : 2 Educator Preparation Prowiders (EPPs) . Click here to access the
__EdSight ez E——
— SECURE

Educators Performance

@ Login to EdSight Secure

4 Resource Allocation Review (RAR) euiud Lotvarl Geadutin Bt
Swdents Receiving Rigorous C ke Letter CMT/CAPT Science
Connecticut 3AT Schoed Day (Vpdated 7/13/22)
om this

Connecticut SAT School Doy - PRINTABLE Student Beport (for
surent students onlyl

Effect of SASID Changes on Secure Student Growth Reparts
LAS Links Achisvement/Mastery {Updated 6/16/22)

The login for EdSight Secure
is at the bottom of the page. ' e AT

Asseszment (Update

Smarter Balanced Achievement (Updated B/E22]

Smarier Balanced Grawth (Updated 8/17/22)

Mew! EdSight Secure Resource Library Need Help? Contact Us ccessibili i ati EdSight Public

EdSight Secure contains personally identifiable information that is confidential pursuant to federal and state law. By legging onto and accessing these data, | hereby acknowledge thal the information contained therein shall only bo disclosed (o authorized

personnel and used as permitled by fedecal and state law.
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Annual Compliance Review XCSoE

CONNECTICUT STATE
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

Annual Certified Staff File Information (EDS)

+

Annual Certification Database Information (CECS)

Annual Compliance Report
(Certification Verification Survey)

. Educators must hold an appropriate certificate for the position(s) in which they are serving.
. The CSDE no longer sends a fall report to districts, as compliance status is continuously available in the EDS.
. Use the appropriate assignment code to reflect educator’s position.

. Districts with educators serving in “unlisted teaching” or “unlisted non-teaching” positions are listed under separate 90990/90995
report. Use of these assignment codes requires prior authorization from the CSDE.

. Districts are expected to regularly monitor compliance status throughout the entire school year.

. Educators who remain out of compliance will be notified in the spring, in writing. If compliance is not resolved, both the district and

TRB will be formally notified of this noncompliance at the end of the school year.
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Assignment Codes

RCSDE

CONNECTICUT STATE
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

Each certified staff member should be entered into the EDS with the assignment code(s) that best represents

their particular position(s).

* Please refer to assignment code descriptions list for guidance (located under “Compliance” link ﬁﬁ

on District Resources page of the website).
* Review the assignment codes each year, as additional categories are often added.

e Ifunsure of correct code, email full job description to juliannefrost@ct.gov for review.

Information in the EDS must align with information provided to the
Bureau of Educator Standards and Certification on ED 126 forms.

e The CSDE relies on accurate entries in the EDS to determine both educator compliance
and their eligibility to obtain, maintain, and advance certificates.

* A written explanation will be required from the district if there are inconsistencies
between the assignment in the EDS and the position listed on ED 126.

COMPLIANCE

T )
goooooooo gogooooono o
e v T i

...........


mailto:JulianneFrost@ct.gov
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CONNECTICUT STATE
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

Statement of Professional Experience (ED 126)

List only endorsement(s) under which the educator has served; educator will not lose an endorsement because they
haven’t worked under it.

e If educator served in multiple assignments, each should be reflected in the EDS, and district should list experience on a
separate line of the ED 126 form (e.g., classroom teacher and department chair).

e Include percentage of time for each assignment (FT = 0.5 FTE or greater / PT = less than 0.5 FTE)

e Listleave of absence on a separate line of the ED 126 form.

 ED 126 grid should not be completed by the educator; central office must provide all information

* Mustinclude signature of Superintendent unless a letter authorizing another designee is on file with the CSDE
 Remember to indicate successful /unsuccessful service

e May be submitted by district to SDEdistricts.cert@ct.gov

Successful vs. Unsuccessful Service:

* District determines whether service was successful or unsuccessful

» Examples of unsuccessful service: misconduct; failure to meet district expectations

* Unsuccessful service will require written district explanation

* Unsuccessful service is not counted for advancement but will not necessarily result in loss of certificate


mailto:SDEdistricts.cert@ct.gov
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CONNECTICUT STATE
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

Common Compliance Errors

Check that the assignment code and grade levels are in agreement (e.g. “elementary” assignment code cannot be used for
kindergarten or grade 7 position)

Pay attention to the endorsement that authorizes the position (e.g. an elementary certified educator teaching math in
grade six should be entered with “elementary” assignment code, while a middle or secondary math certified educator
teaching math in grade six should be entered with the “mathematics” assignment code)

Use of “S” for grade level indicates a systemwide administrative position. If educator is providing service across all
grades levels, list all of the grades

Educators serving in multiple roles will likely have more than one assignment listed (e.g. teaching 0.8 FTE and
department chair 0.2 FTE)

Intervention/Academic Support is authorized under grade or subject-appropriate endorsement

Administrative endorsements do not authorize teaching

Take note of “remedial reading” vs. “non-remedial reading” assignment codes (remedial reading requires #102)

Curriculum/Program Director (#092) vs. Reading Consultant (#097)

Occupational Subjects (#098) vs. Technology Education (#047)



Approved Designees

e District-based forms can only be accepted if sighed by the Superintendent/Executive
Director or someone who has been appointed as a designee

e CSDE maintains a list of approved designees for each district; notify us of any changes
(i.e. authorized staff no longer serving in the district should be removed /newly appointed
designees should be added)

 The Superintendent or Executive Director should submit any designee changes in writing,

to the designated district email address



Districts must notify the Connecticut State Department of Education and receive

approval for any person serving as Superintendent or Interim Superintendent.

Process of appointing new superintendent:
e District Board Chair submits letter to the Commissioner of Education

e Letter of approval is then sent to the Board Chair



Human Resource Best Practices

e Designate time during the August and January professional development meetings for
certified staff members to log into the CECS account to check certification status and
update their contact information.

Note: The CSDE no longer sends notification letters to educators regarding their
certification’s expiration date.

e Contact our office to inquire about specific applicants for temporary authorizations, and
the appropriate authorization to cover the assignment (e.g., LTS vs. DSAP).

* Once certification alerts are sent to superintendents, the CSDE also sends them directly to
our district HR partners. Please ensure that we have the appropriate contact email to
ensure these HR alerts are being received.



Contact Information for the Public

Website: www.ct.gov/sde/cert Email: teacher.cert@ct.gov Telephone: 860-713-6969
(Monday & Thursday, Noon - 2:00 p.m.)

Submission of Documents

Electronic Transcripts: teacher.etranscript@ct.gov

Paper Transcripts, Signed Forms, and All Other Documents:

Mailing Address: Street Address:
Bureau of Educator Certification Bureau of Educator Certification
P.O. Box 150471 450 Columbus Boulevard
Hartford, CT 06115 Hartford, CT 06103

(Lobby Hours for leaving materials in SDE Drop Box:
Monday-Friday, 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m.)


http://www.ct.gov/sde/cert
mailto:teacher.cert@ct.gov
mailto:teacher.etranscript@ct.gov

Contact Information for District Personnel

Website (District Resources):
https://portal.ct.gov/sdecertification/Districts?language=en US

Email: SDEDistricts.Cert@ct.gov

Designated Superintendents’ Telephone Lines

NOTE: Please DO NOT share the designated district email address or designated phone numbers with the public


https://portal.ct.gov/sdecertification/Districts?language=en_US
mailto:SDEDistricts.Cert@ct.gov

Questions?

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
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