# CERTIFICATION ALERT Connecticut Educator Certification News from the Connecticut State Department of Education

#### February 2025

## Implementation of Public Act No. 24-41 (Effective July 1, 2025)

- Initial Educator Certificates will be valid for a period of ten (10) years
- Educator Certification levels change from 3-tier to 2-tier (Initial & Professional)
- · New requirements to be eligible for a Professional Certificate
- · New grade span for elementary endorsements

#### **Ten-Year Initial Certificate**

Any Initial Educator Certificate which is valid on July 1, 2025, will be extended to reflect a ten-year validity period. The effective date of the certificate will not change; the expiration date will be pushed out for seven additional years. Educators do not need to request this change or pay a fee balance. The Connecticut State Department of Education (CSDE) will modify all valid certificates.

**Important Note:** If your current Initial Certificate will expire prior to July 1, 2025, you must submit an application to prevent a lapse. Only those certificates with an expiration date on or after July 1, 2025, will be extended.

Following the change, replacement certificates will not be printed; however, once certificate dates have been modified, educators will be able to log into their CECS accounts and print a copy of their certificates reflecting the new expiration date. Districts may confirm new certification dates by using the Public Look-Up feature on the <a href="website">website</a>, or they may request employees to submit a copy of the updated certificate.

#### **Two-Tier Certification**

The Provisional Certificate will be discontinued. Connecticut certificates will be issued as a two-tier continuum—Initial and Professional.

All Provisional Certificates with expiration dates on or after July 1, 2025, will remain valid. However, the CSDE will no longer issue or renew a certificate at the provisional level. Educators holding an Initial or Provisional Certificate must meet requirements for the Professional Certification by the expiration date of their existing certificate, or they will instead be eligible for renewal at the initial level. The Initial Educator Certification may be renewed if the educator has not served under it. If an educator has served under the certification but does not meet requirements to advance it, they may be issued a new 10-year Initial Certificate. Educators who do not meet requirements to advance by the end of the new 10-year certificate may be issued a one-year extension. This extension may be granted up to three times.

continued on next page



### CertAlert | CERTIFICATION ALERT, continued

#### Scenario 1:

#### I have an Initial Certificate that expires prior to July 1, 2025. How will this impact me?

You must submit an application prior to your expiration date to maintain certification. If you are eligible for a Provisional Certificate prior to July 1, 2025, you will be issued an eight-year (Provisional) certificate. If you are not eligible to advance by June 30, 2025, you will instead be eligible for renewal at the initial level. You will then need to complete new requirements for the Professional Certificate by the expiration date of your new 10-year Initial.

#### Scenario 2:

#### I have an Initial Certificate that expires on or after July 1, 2025. How will this impact me?

The expiration date of your Initial Certificate will be extended to reflect the change to 10-year validity. By the new expiration date, you must either have met all requirements for a Professional Certificate, or you will be able to extend your Initial Certificate for an additional year. Example: an Initial Certificate with a current expiration date of July 1, 2025 will change on July 1, and the new expiration date will be July 1, 2032. If educator meets all requirements for Professional Certificate by this new expiration date, they can advance directly from Initial to Professional. If they have not met requirements, they may be issued a one-year extension at the initial level.

#### Scenario 3:

#### I have a Provisional Certificate that expires *prior* to July 1, 2025. How will this impact me?

You must submit an application prior to your expiration date to maintain certification. If you are eligible to advance your certificate prior to July 1, 2025, you will be issued a ten-year Professional Certificate. If you are not eligible to advance to the professional level, you will instead be eligible for another eight-year Provisional Certificate. You must meet requirements to advance to the professional level by the expiration date of this new certificate.

#### Scenario 4:

#### I have a Provisional Certificate that expires on or after July 1, 2025. How will this impact me?

The expiration date of your certificate will not change. By the expiration date, you must either have met requirements to advance to Professional, or you will be eligible for renewal at the initial level (a ten-year certificate).

#### Scenario 5:

I have a Professional Certificate that expires <u>on or after</u> July 1, 2025. How will this impact me? The change in tiers will have no impact on your certification.

continued on next page



## CertAlert | CERTIFICATION ALERT, continued

#### New Requirements to Advance to the Professional Level

To be eligible for a Professional Certificate, educators must document at least 50 school months of successful experience in Connecticut (under an Initial and/or Provisional Educator Certification), have met the teacher education and mentoring (TEAM) program requirements, and hold a master's degree.

Note: Advanced coursework requirements for administrative and special service endorsements will not change. The master's degree requirement is specific to teaching endorsements.

#### **Grade Span for Elementary Endorsements**

Effective July 1, 2025, all "elementary" endorsements (previously and/or newly issued) will authorize the certificate holder to teach in grades PreK to Grade 6. This change will apply to all elementary endorsement codes, including #005, #013, #305.

Educators do not need to request this change. The CSDE will modify all applicable endorsements and the extended grade span will be listed on certificates. New certificates will not be printed; however, once the elementary grade span has been modified, educators will be able to log into their CECS accounts and print a new copy reflecting authorization in grades PreK-6.

Districts may confirm grade span through the Public Look-Up feature on our <u>website</u>, or they may request employees to submit a copy of the updated certificate.

Note: As of July 1, 2025, the Kindergarten Authorization will no longer be available or required.

