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HOUSE BILL 6668
AN ACT MODERNIZING THE PAID SICK LEAVE STATUTES

Connecticut was the first state in the county to provide paid sick days, with Public Act 11-52 in
2011. That law requires certain employers with at least 50 employees to provide up to 40
hours of paid sick leave to “service workers” in certain specified occupations, reaching
approximately 10% of workers statewide.

The Problem

Too many Connecticut residents are forced to make the difficult decision of whether to give up
their day’s paycheck — or even their job — when they have an illness, need to care for a family
member with an illness, or need care for themselves or a family member due to violence or
sexual assault. This is because employees other than service workers, as well as employees
working for companies of fewer than 50 employees, are not currently covered by Connecticut’s
paid sick days law. The current law is also narrow in who qualifies as a “family member” that an
employee can care for and does not address pandemic- and remote work-related issues that
may arise. Our pioneer status in creating paid sick leave has now been overshadowed by our
neighboring states’ more progressive solutions.

Governor Lamont’s Solution

Expanding Paid Sick Days

e All employers with 11 or more employees must provide paid sick leave of at least up to
40 hours per year.

e All employers with 10 or fewer employees must provide unpaid but job-protected sick
leave of at least up to 40 hours per year.

e Family members whom employers may care for with sick days have been expanded,
e.g., to include parents and domestic partners.

Strengthening Employee Protections

e Employers may not require employees to search for a replacement as a condition of
granting sick leave.

e Employees retain their accrued sick leave hours despite transfers to different worksites
or roles, and despite a change in ownership of the employer.
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Safeguarding Employer Rights

e Employers may require reasonable documentation for sick leave of three or more
consecutive days, including that signed by a health care provider.

e Nothing in the statute may be construed to prohibit an employer from taking
disciplinary action against an employee who uses sick leave for some reason not

permitted by law.

Adapting to a Post-Pandemic World

e Employers may take sick leave in certain instances related to a public health emergency,
e.g., because of closure of an employee’s office by a public health authority, or the
closure a family member’s child care facility.



