Connecticut DMV

To renew your Drive Only license you must provide original or certified documents.

Photocopies, notarized photocopies, non-certified copies, and damaged or mutilated documents are
not acceptable. DMV will scan and store images of all documents.

If any document is in a language other than English, it must be translated by a DMV approved
translator. See list of DMV approved translators here.

ct.gov/dmv/driveonly

You can renew at a DMV office ONLY. See a list of office locations here.

IDENTITY:
You must present your Drive Only license. If lost, bring one form of identification from either of the lists below.

PRIMARY document list
[ Foreign Passport (not expired for more than 3 years)
[ Valid, unexpired consular identification document issued by your country of citizenship
*|f you have an expired B-1/B-2 status, you can renew a Drive Only license if you can provide the expired 1-94 or
the B-1/B-2 admission stamp in your foreign passport is older than 1 year.

SECONDARY document list

[ valid foreign national identification card (current or expired)
[ valid, unexpired motor vehicle operator's license, with security features, issued by another state or country

[ Original birth certificate with a raised seal issued by a foreign country
[0 Marriage certificate issued by any state or territory of the United States
AND

CONNECTICUT RESIDENCY:
The Drive Only law requires you to show proof of residency at the time of your renewal, not older than two years from List A or List B. To prove this:

* You must bring two pieces of mail or electronic mail from two different sources that show you receive mail at your home in Connecticut.

As of the date you come to DMV, all mail:

* Must include your name and Connecticut residence address
* Must be dated older than 12 months from List B
« Cannot be dated older than two years

The two proofs of residency can be from either List A or List B.

ListA LiSt B (oider than 12 Months)
Bill from a bank or mortgage company, utility company, credit card [0 Property or excise tax bill
company, doctor or hospital [ Annual benefits summary statement from the Social Security
Bank statement or bank transaction receipt showing the bank's name Administration or other pension or retirement plan
and mailing address [J Homeowner's insurance or renter's insurance policy or motor vehicle
Preprinted pay stub insurance card or policy
Medicaid or Medicare benefit statement [0 Residential mortgage or similar loan contract, lease or rental contract

Postmarked mail showing signatures from all parties needed to execute the agreement

Change of address confirmation from the United States Postal Service
indicating an applicant's current and prior address

Survey of an applicant's real property issued by a licensed surveyor
Official school records showing enroliment
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Parents or legal guardian of minor may provide any two pieces of mail addressed to the parent residing at same address to prove minor residency, or use their
own CT driver license or ID which shows the same address as one of the two required proofs of residency.

AND

NAME CHANGE DOCUMENTS (if applicable):

[ Marriage or civil union certificate (certified copy issued by town/city)
[0 Marriage or civil union dissolution
[] Probate court name change document

If there have been multiple name changes, you must provide documentation to prove the continuity of the names.

DMV If you have a question regarding acceptable documents, please phone the DMV Contact Center 860-263-5700.

SAFETY
SECURITY
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https://www.ct.gov/dmv/cwp/view.asp?a=805&q=558024
https://www.ct.gov/dmv/cwp/view.asp?a=808&q=244586

