
DRIVE ONLY DOCUMENT CHECKLIST
To obtain a new learner permit or renew your Drive Only license you must provide original or certified documents.
Out of state learner permits are not transferable.

Photocopies, notarized photocopies, non-certified copies, and damaged or mutilated documents are not
acceptable.  DMV will scan and store images of all documents.

If any document is in a language other than English, it must be translated by a DMV approved translator.  See list
of DMV approved translators here.

US Citizens and documented immigrants and non-immigrants (including B1 and B2 visitors) are NOT eligible for a
Drive Only credential.

You must schedule an appointment online.

Connecticut DMV

ct.gov/dmv/driveonly

IDENTITY:
You must present two forms of identification; at least one document must be from the Primary document list.

PRIMARY document list
Foreign Passport (not expired for more than 3 years)
Valid, unexpired consular identification document issued by your country of citizenship

SECONDARY document list

AND
CONNECTICUT RESIDENCY:
The Drive Only law requires you to be a resident of Connecticut for at least 90 days.  To prove this:

You must bring two pieces of mail or electronic mail from two different sources that show you receive mail at your home in Connecticut.
If you moved within the past 90 days, you must bring four pieces of mail; two pieces of mail addressed to you at your new address and two pieces of mail
addressed to you at your old Connecticut address that are older than 90 days from List A or older than 12 months from List B as of the date you come to DMV.

As of the date you come to DMV, all mail:

List A (Older than 90 Days)
Bill from a bank or mortgage company, utility company, credit card
company, doctor or hospital
Bank statement or bank transaction receipt showing the bank's name
and mailing address
Preprinted pay stub
Medicaid or Medicare benefit statement
Postmarked mail
Change of address confirmation from the United States Postal Service
indicating an applicant's current and prior address
Survey of an applicant's real property issued by a licensed surveyor
Official school records showing enrollment

List B (Older than 12 Months)
Property or excise tax bill
Annual benefits summary statement from the Social Security
Administration or other pension or retirement plan
Homeowner's insurance or renter's insurance policy or motor vehicle
insurance card or policy
Residential mortgage or similar loan contract, lease or rental contract
showing signatures from all parties needed to execute the agreement

AND
NAME CHANGE DOCUMENTS (if applicable):

Marriage or civil union certificate (certified copy issued by town/city)
Marriage or civil union dissolution
Probate court name change document

If there have been multiple name changes, you must provide documentation to prove the continuity of the names.

When you schedule an appointment online, you will sign an affidavit that you will file an application to legalize your immigration status when you are eligible.
The Connecticut DMV will check your criminal history.  If you have a Connecticut felony, you will not be eligible for a Drive Only credential or a refund of any fees
collected.

If you have a question regarding acceptable documents, please phone the DMV Contact Center 860-263-5700.
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Valid foreign national identification card (current or expired)
Valid, unexpired motor vehicle operator's license, with security features, issued by another state or country
Original birth certificate with a raised seal issued by a foreign country
Marriage certificate issued by any state or territory of the United States

•
•

Must include your name and Connecticut residence address
Must be dated older than 90 days from List A
Must be dated older than 12 months from List B
Cannot be dated older than two years

•
•
•
•

The two proofs of residency can be from either List A or List B.

Parents or legal guardian of minor may provide any two pieces of mail addressed to the parent residing at same address to prove minor residency, or use their
own CT driver license or ID which shows the same address as one of the two required proofs of residency.

If you have an expired B-1/B-2 status, you can obtain a Drive Only license if you can provide the expired I-94 or
the B-1/B-2 admission stamp in your foreign passport is older than 1 year.
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