
                                                                                                                                    

State of Connecticut                     
Department of Developmental Services    

Dannel P. Malloy                     Jordan A. Scheff 
    Governor             Commissioner 
 
                Peter Mason 
                   Deputy Commissioner 
         
            
    

Phone: 860 418-6000  TDD 860 418-6079  Fax: 860 418-6001  

460 Capitol Avenue  Hartford, Connecticut 06106 

www.ct.gov/dds  e-mail: ddsct.co@ct.gov  
An Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer 

 

 

Operations Memo 2019-07 
 

 

TO:  Purchase of Services Contracted Private Providers 

 

FROM:        David David, Director of Service Development and Support, Operations Center 

 

CC:              Jordan Scheff, Commissioner, Peter Mason, Deputy Commissioner, Katie Rock-Burns, Chief of Staff, 

Scott McWilliams, Chief of Fiscal/Administrative Services, Regional Directors, Assistant Regional 

Directors, Resource Administrators, CT Community Nonprofit Alliance, Inc., ARC of CT 

 

DATE:         September 5, 2018 

 

SUBJECT:   FY2018 Financial Reporting Requirements 
 
All residential, day and/or clinical support providers that expended financial compensation from the Department of 

Developmental Services (DDS) and/or other state agencies equal to or in excess of one hundred thousand dollars 

($100,000) during the 2018 fiscal year are subject to financial reporting requirements. The following is a guideline on 

which reports must be completed and the timeline for submission. 

  

Financial Audit Requirements  
Providers that received financial compensation for DDS participants of more than one hundred thousand dollars 

($100,000) must submit one of the following:  

 

 Providers that received financial compensation for DDS participants of more than one hundred thousand dollars 

($100,000) but less than three hundred thousand dollars ($300,000) in FY2018 are required to submit a report 

completed by a Certified Public Accountant detailing the provider’s compliance with the standard DDS Agreed 

upon Procedures. Providers must submit the report no later than December 31, 2018.  

 Non-Profit providers with a total financial compensation of three hundred thousand dollars ($300,000) or more 

paid by any combination of a fiscal intermediary, a purchase of service contract for supports authorized by the 

Department of Developmental Services and all other revenue funded by State of Connecticut agencies shall 

submit a single audit for the fiscal year in accordance with the State Single Audit Act (Sections 4-230 through 4-

236 of the Connecticut General Statutes). The State Single Audit Reports are due to the Office of Policy and 

Management (OPM), who is the cognizant agency for DDS.  

Providers must electronically submit the report by December 31, 2018 for the fiscal year ended June 30, 2018, 

unless an exemption or extension was granted by OPM.  

http://www.ct.gov/dds
mailto:ddsct.co@ct.gov


 For-Profit providers (including LLC’s, Sole Proprietors, Partnerships, S-Corporations, and C corporations) with a 

total financial compensation of three hundred thousand dollars ($300,000) or more by a fiscal intermediary and/or 

a purchase of service contract for supports authorized by the Department of Developmental Services must submit 

a financial audit for the fiscal year July 1, 2017 – June 30, 2018 along with a management letter and audit 

recommendations. The audit must be submitted to the Operations Center at DDS Central Office by December 31, 

2018. Financial audits for a time period other than the State of Connecticut fiscal year must receive prior approval 

from the Operations Center.  

 

Financial Reporting Requirement:  
Providers that received financial compensation for DDS participants of more than one hundred thousand dollars 

($100,000) must submit one of the following:  

 

 A provider that received a total financial compensation for supports authorized by the Department of 

Developmental Services in FY2018 of more than one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) and the financial 

compensation from the Purchase of Service contract was less than three hundred thousand dollars ($300,000) 

shall prepare and deliver an End of Year Expense Report for fiscal year July 1, 2017- June 30, 2018. The End of 

the Year Expense Report can be found on the DDS Website. The report must be electronically filed no later than 

4:00 p.m. on October 31, 2018 to your assigned Operation Center provider specialist.  

 A provider that received financial compensation of three hundred thousand dollars ($300,000) or more through a 

purchase of service contract are required to file the 2018 Annual Report of Residential and Day Services for the 

fiscal year ended June 30, 2018. The report must be uploaded to the Myers and Stauffer website no later than 4:00 

p.m. on October 31, 2018.  

 

Annual Report Requirements:  
Providers that are required to submit the FY2018 Annual Report of Residential and Day Services must submit one of the 

following: 

  

 For-Profit (including LLC’s, Sole Proprietors, Partnerships, S-Corporations, and C corporations) providers are 

required to submit an Annual Report that has been certified by a Certified Public Accountant.  

 Non-Profit providers are required to submit a Reconciliation of Financial Statements to Annual Report of 

Residential and Day Services. The Reconciliation of Financial Statements to Annual Report of Residential and 

Day Services is included in the 2018 Annual Report download. The reconciliation assures the State of 

Connecticut that the expenses reported in the Annual Report are based on the audited costs reported in the 

Financial Statements. The reconciliation must be electronically submitted no later than December 31, 2018.  

 

If the Annual Report is filed late, Regulation Sec. 17-313b-4 notes that for each day that the ACOR (Annual Report of 

Residential and Day Services) is not filed, a penalty shall be assessed. The Commissioner may approve a request for an 

extension to the filing date only if he deems that extraordinary circumstances will prevent the timely filing of the Cost 

Report. The request for an extension should be sent to the attention of Commissioner Scheff in writing prior to October 

31, 2018. It is recommended that the request be submitted as soon as the extraordinary circumstances are identified. 

Approved annual report submission extensions will be effective no earlier than the date the request was received by the 

department.  

 

Financial Reporting Requirements For Agencies with a Purchase of Service Contract That Received Financial 

Compensation less than $100,000  
An agency with a Purchase of Service contract that received financial compensation less than $100,000 is required to file 

an End of Year Expense Report for fiscal year July 1, 2017- June 30, 2018 to your assigned provider specialist no later 

than October 31, 2018.  

 

Financial Reporting Requirements For Agencies with a Total Financial Reimbursement of Less Than $100,000 by 

a Fiscal Intermediary  
None.  

 

Executive Director Maximum Salary Reimbursement  
PA No. 07-238, Sec. 7 (Exec. Director Salary Cap) was signed by the Governor on July 11, 2007. The FY2018 maximum 

allowable salary reimbursement by DDS for the executive director of an agency is $101,000.  

 

 



Related Party Disclosure  
Related Party Disclosure: The provider shall comply with the related party disclosure and reporting requirements 

established by the department. “Related Parties” means persons or organizations related through marriage, ability to 

control, ownership, family or business association. Past exercise or influence or control need not be shown, only the 

potential or ability to directly or indirectly exercise influence or control. Whenever costs are incurred between related 

parties, allowable costs shall be defined as and limited to the cost to the related party. The related party principle applies 

to any transaction between a provider and a related party, including but not limited to one time or multiple transactions 

involving services or supplies and one time sales or lease of the facility itself. Related party transactions must be 

identified as such in the Annual Report or the Attachment D and the unallowable portion excluded in the appropriate 

section of the cost report. All Related Party transactions must be approved by the DDS Ethics Committee on a yearly 

basis. Transactions over $2,500 must receive approval from the Ethics Committee before the cost is incurred. 

Reporting related party transactions on the annual report does not replace the need to submit a request for prior 

approval from DDS in conformance to the DDS Ethics Protocols.  

 

Adherence to the OPM Cost Standards  
Providers are to report costs based on the OPM costs standards. The standards define and enumerate allowable and 

unallowable costs, including Administrative and General (A&G) costs, and require documentation of all allowable 

administrative costs in a formal cost allocation plan. Here is the link to the Cost Standards:  

http://www.ct.gov/opm/cwp/view.asp?a=2981&Q=382994&opmNav_GID=1806  

  

Administrative Vehicle Limit  
The DDS limit for the vehicle lease/loan/rental payment of each administrative vehicle is $4,800 per year. The limit 

applies to the annual payment for the acquisition of the vehicle exclusive of gas and maintenance costs. Effective as of 

FY2014, costs over the $4,800 limit are disallowed and no exceptions will be granted. 
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