

DATE: January 1, 2025

RE: General Letter No. 102 – Personal Leave Days

## **PURPOSE**

The purpose of this General Letter (dated July 5, 1967) refers to "the new State Personnel Act" and announces – at that time - a new benefit to employees: Personal Leave Days. This General Letter supersedes the previous General Letter dated November 4, 2024.

## POLICY

C.G.S. 5-250 (c) references the policy related to vacation and personal leave usage for state employees.

#### **SCOPE**

This General Letter applies to all employees in the Executive Branch under the jurisdiction of the Department of Administrative Services, Human Resources Management covered under Chapter 67 of the Connecticut General Statutes.

#### **REQUIREMENTS**

In accordance with Sec. 5-250(c) of the Connecticut General Statutes, classified and unclassified employees are eligible for three (3) personal leave days per year (Exception: teachers working a 10-month schedule are eligible for two and a half (2.5) days of personal leave per calendar year).

Employees in their initial working test period who are hired between January 1<sup>st</sup> and June 30<sup>th</sup> will receive their full annual allotment of personal leave upon hire.

Employees in their initial working test period who are hired July 1<sup>st</sup> and after will receive their personal leave prorated for their first calendar year of employment. The amount of personal leave granted will be based upon the number of full calendar months remaining in the calendar year after such employee began their employment divided by six:

- An employee hired in July will receive 5/6 of their normal full allotment of personal leave.
- An employee hired in August will receive 4/6 of their normal full allotment of personal leave.
- An employee hired in September will receive 3/6 of their normal full allotment of personal leave.
- An employee hired in October will receive 2/6 of their normal full allotment of personal leave.
- An employee hired in November will receive 1/6 of their normal full allotment of personal leave.
- An employee hired in December will not be eligible to receive any personal leave until the next year.

Part-time managers and some part-time bargaining unit members shall receive pro-rated personal leave based on the ratio of the employee's work schedule. For example, managerial or confidential employees who are regularly assigned to a part-time schedule receive pro-rated personal leave based on the ratio of their work schedule to 40 hours, as averaged over the preceding two months (see MPP 88- 3). Please refer to collective bargaining agreements for information concerning personal leave for permanent, part-time bargaining unit employees as some part-time employees working less than 20 hours per week are not eligible for pro-rated personal leave (i.e., NP-6, P-1, P-4). When there is a change in employment type, please refer to General Letter No. 30 (Impact on an Employee's Personal Leave Time Following a Change in Employment Type) for guidance.

Employees must request and receive approval to use personal leave days. There are at least two collective bargaining agreements (P-3B, P-2) that identify the amount of advance notice that should be given to the supervisor. Again, personal leave days not used within a calendar are NOT carried over to the following calendar year.

# <u>OTHER</u>

Contact any member of the DAS HR Policy and Information Systems unit via e-mail should you have questions concerning this General Letter.