

APPROVED Meeting Minutes

Regular Meeting of the

School Building Projects Advisory Council

June 5, 2024, at 10:00 AM (held via Microsoft Teams)

Meeting video:

https://ctvideo.ct.gov/das/SBPAC Regular Meeting-20240605 100301-Meeting Recording.mp4

Members Present:

Alice Pritchard, Chair Chlo Anne Bobrowski

Angela Cahill Louis Casolo Paul Hinsch

Antonio Iadarola

Don Poulin William Turner

Omarys Vasquez

Members Absent:

Lance Hall Julia McFadden

Departmental staff present:

David Barkin, DAS Eleanor Michael, DAS Nicholas Ross, DAS

Ella Sun, DAS

William Turley, DESPP

- 1. Call to Order by Dr. Alice Pritchard at 10:03am. Chair Pritchard called roll and confirmed the meeting quorum and thanked the Council members for their attendance in today's meeting. In addition, she welcomed the members of the public and state agency partners who joined the meeting. She also noted that CTN was streaming the meeting in addition to the Teams recording. Chair Pritchard noted that Megan Andrewes who had been providing staff support to the Council left for another state agency opportunity and thanked her for her work.
- 2. March 6, 2024, meeting minutes were approved unanimously with a motion to adopt by Angela Cahill and seconded by Lou Casolo.
- 3. Overview of DAS Plan Review and School Grants office

Chair Pritchard noted that she had the opportunity earlier in the year to talk with appointed members of the Council to gather their suggestions on what else the SBPAC should focus on beyond the school safety criteria. She shared her appreciation for the time taken for those calls and the great suggestions offered by the members. One of the topics suggested led to today's agenda item. She introduced Deputy Commissioner Eleanor Michael, David Barkin, Nick Ross, and Ella Sun from DAS to lead today's presentation on the roles and responsibilities of the DAS offices.

Based on the presentation, members raised questions and suggestions for both the grants and plan review offices related to sustainability strategies and costs, square footage calculation issues, space standards, and need for better guidance documents. Chair Pritchard noted that the September meeting was slated to focus on cost effectiveness and fiscal topics and would add these topics to the list for discussion. Several members shared the value of opportunities for informal conversations with the teams as part of their local planning processes. Chair Pritchard and members of the Council thanked the staff for their presentations.

In addition, Deputy Commissioner Michael provided an overview of the results of the legislative session related to school construction. She focused on three main construction bills:

- PA 24-74 AN ACT CONCERNING SCHOOL RESOURCES.
- PA 24-93 AN ACT CONCERNING VARIOUS AND ASSORTED REVISIONS TO THE EDUCATION STATUTES.
- PA 24-151 AN ACT AUTHORIZING AND ADJUSTING BONDS OF THE STATE AND CONCERNING PROVISIONS RELATED TO STATE AND MUNICIPAL TAX ADMINISTRATION, GENERAL GOVERNMENT AND SCHOOL BUILDING PROJECTS.

DAS will issue policies and procedures called for in the new legislation in the coming months. David Barkin shared information on universal design for playgrounds which is addressed in PA 24-93 https://www.asla.org/universalplaygrounds.aspx#:~:text=Universally%2Ddesigned%20playgrounds%20 feature%3A,to%20play%20alongside%20abled%20children.

See attached slide deck for the full presentation. PowerPoint Presentation (ct.gov)

4. Next quarterly meeting: September 11, 2024, at 10am.

Chair Pritchard reminded members of the September meeting. She will poll members to determine interest and availability for an in-person or hybrid meeting rather than fully remote. She also noted that a new calendar invite would be coming for the final two meetings of the year and those sent previously would be deleted.

5. Adjourn

Chair Pritchard apologized for some technical issues at the beginning of the meeting and noted that the full meeting recording would be available (see link at beginning of minutes). With no further business, a motion was made by Omarys Vasquez and seconded by Don Poulin and passed unanimously. The meeting was adjourned at 11:02am.