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Revised July 5, 2024 
Pursuant to CT Public Act 24-44 
 

CLAIMS COMMISSIONER’S OFFICE  
 

CLAIM FORM FOR AN INMATE IN A CONNECTICUT CORRECTIONAL FACILITY 
 
Most claims must be filed within one year after the claim accrues. Claims for injury to person or damage to 
property shall be deemed to accrue on the date when the damage or injury is sustained or discovered or in the 
exercise of reasonable care should have been discovered, provided no claim shall be presented more than three 
years from the date of the act or event complained of.  Connecticut General Statutes Section 4-148.   
 
An inmate must file a claim not later than one year after the date on which the inmate exhausted all 
administrative remedies provided by the Department of Correction.  The legal representative of the estate of an 
inmate may present to the Office of the Claims Commissioner a claim against the state prior to having 
exhausted any administrative remedy.  Connecticut General Statutes Section 5-165b(b).   
 
 
Today’s Date ____________________           Claimant Inmate Number:  _____________________________ 
 
 
Claimant Name ___________________________________________________________________________                    
 
 
Claimant/Attorney Signature_________________________________________________________________ 
 
 
Claimant/Attorney Address and telephone number  
 
___________________________________________________________________   
 
 
IMPORTANT:  Claimant/Attorney Email Address 
 
_________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Explanation of your claim.  On the next page, please explain:  
 
1.a. Please provide a concise statement of the basis of your claim, including the date, time, place and 
circumstances of the act or event complained of.    
 
b. Please explain why you believe that you have a just claim and why the State of Connecticut may be  liable for 
your damage or injury.  
 
c. Please indicate the state agency involved.  
 
d. Please indicate whether you are pursuing an action in any Court or before any other agency relating to the act 
of event that is the subject of this claim.  
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__________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
(please attach additional pages if necessary) 
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2. a. Connecticut General Statutes section 4-165b requires an inmate to exhaust all administrative remedies 
provided by the Department of Correction prior to filing a claim with the Claims Commissioner’s Office. Please 
include below a description of the administrative remedies that have been exhausted.  
 
b. Also, please attach any documents to this form which demonstrate that the administrative remedies have been 
exhausted: 
__________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
(please attach additional pages if necessary) 
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3. Please state the amount of monetary damages requested.  Please minimally state whether the amount is not in 
excess of $50,000 or in excess of $50,000. 
 

Amount:    $__________________________ 
 

 
4.  Are you requesting permission to sue the State in Superior Court?   YES ________    NO __________. 
If YES, is this the exclusive remedy you seek, or do you seek a monetary award or recommendation of damages 
in the alternative?    Exclusive ________  Alternative ________  

 
  
5. If your claim is for $10,000 or less, you may execute this affidavit below so that your claim may be decided 
without a hearing pursuant to Connecticut General Statutes Section 4-151a. 
 
 

Claimant Signature _____________________________________________ 
 
 
Subscribed and sworn to before me on this _________________ day of _________________, 202____ 
 
 
Notary Public/Commissioner the Superior Court___________________________________________ 
 
 
Date Commission Expires ____________________ 

 
 
No fee is required with the filing of this claim. 
 
 
 A copy of this Claim Form with any attachments can be mailed/delivered to the Claims 

Commissioner’s Office: 450 Columbus Blvd., Suite 203, Hartford, CT 06103 
 

OR 
 
 A PDF copy of this Claim Form with any attachments can be emailed to the Claims Commissioner’s 

Office: claims.commissioner@ct.gov with a Subject:  NEW CLAIM.  
 
The claimant or the claimant’s attorney shall notify the Claims Commissioner’s Office of any change n 
address, telephone number or email address.  
 
 
Thank you.  

mailto:claims.commissioner@ct.gov

