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At its December 15, 2016 meeting, the State Marshal Commission voted to adopt a revised Use -
of Force Policy. (See attached Use of Force Policy rev. 12/15/2016). This revised policy
replaces the previous Use of Force Policy adopted on April 30, 2013. Previous versions of this
policy should be discarded.

Summary of Revisions:

Additional Training

The revised Use of Force Policy makes additions to the training requirements for both 1) state
marshals seeking or maintaining membership on the Capias Unit (See attached Use of Force
Policy, Section H); and 2) state marshals seeking or maintaining authorization to carry a firearm
during the course of their official duties (See Use of Force Policy, Section G). In addition, the
training for both of these categories of marshals will now be held at the Police Officer Standards
and Training Council (POSTC) Training Academy. Commission staff is currently working with
officials at the Academy to develop training modules to meet these training requirements. The
Commission will establish a date by which marshals must come into compliance with these
training requirements and Commission staff will advise you of this deadline when it is set.

450 Columbus Blvd., Suite 1504
Hartford, Connecticut 06103
Tel. (860) 713-5372 Fax (860) 622-2938




Less-Than-Lethal Force Options
Under this policy, state marshals who carry firearms while conducting their official duties are
now required to carry, while carrying a firearm, one or more less-than-lethal weapon options (i.¢.

pepper spray or baton) (See Use of Force Policy, Section G.1.¢).

Use of Force/Medical Aid 72-Hour Reporting Requirements

State marshals must report certain uses of force to the Commission within 72 hours. (See
attached Use of Force Policy, Section F). In addition, marshals must also report medical aid
rendered to a person as a result of the marshal’s use of force to the Commission within 72 hours.
(See attached Use of Force Policy, Section E). Note that these reporting requirements are not
new and existed in the previous Use of Force Policy. This policy simply mandates that such
reporting occur within a set timeframe. The Commission has developed a form for making such
mandatory reports (Attached hereto). This form will be available on the State Marshal
Commission website. Reports can be made by filling out and signing this form and sending it
via email to Marshal. Commission/@ct.gov or fax to (860) 622-2938. You may attach any
additional relevant documents (i.e. a police report) to this form that you wish to be considered by
the Commission as part of your report.

Handcuffs
Under this policy, only marshals who are on the Capias Unit may carry or utilize handcuffs
during the course of their official duties. Note that the only use of handcuffs authorized by the

Commission is use while making a civil capias arrest under a valid capias warrant.

Authorization to Carry Pepper Spray/Batons

Under this policy, marshals who are not on the Capias Unit or authorized to carry a firearm, in
order to obtain authorization to carry pepper spray or a baton during the course of their official
duties, must complete the applicable POSTC-approved Less than Lethal (OC or Baton) training
course under the supervision of a Connecticut POST certified law enforcement instructor every
three years and submit a certificate of completion to the State Marshal Commission. Only those
marshals who have submitted the requisite training certificate and have subsequently received
written authorization from the Commission are authorized to carry pepper spray or a baton
during the course of their official duties.




