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I. DEFINITION OF A PRIVATE PLAN  8 

In accordance with Section 31-49o of the Connecticut General Statutes, an employer may apply to use a 9 
private plan to meet its obligations under sections 31-49e to 31-49t of the Connecticut General Statutes, 10 
commonly known as the Connecticut Paid Leave Act.  11 

A. A private plan may consist of either of the following: 12 

1. An insurance policy, the forms of which shall have been approved by the Insurance 13 
Commissioner and be issued by an approved insurer, or 14 

2. A self-insured plan, which shall consist of a self-insurance plan document that complies 15 
with Authority requirements and a surety bond from an approved surety. 16 

 17 
B. Form of an Insurance Policy  18 

1. Form of an Insurance Policy During the Interim Period 19 

a. As set forth in the July 6, 2020 NOTICE TO ALL INSURANCE COMPANIES AUTHORIZED TO 20 
CONDUCT BUSINESS IN CONNECTICUT CONCERNING PAID FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE 21 
INSURANCE (hereinafter referred to as the “July 2020 Notice”), the Connecticut Insurance 22 
Department (hereinafter referred to as the CID) considered a Carrier-issued Declaration of 23 
Insurance as acceptable proof of family and medical leave coverage consistent with the 24 
Authority standards provided that:  25 

• Carriers use the appropriate Declaration of Insurance that is included in the attached 26 
Appendix A to this Notice;  27 

• Carriers develop and submit to the CID a paid family and medical policy form filing 28 
consistent with those Authority standards that will be identified in a forthcoming Policy 29 
Filing Guidance Notice to be issued by the CID; and  30 

• Carriers submit a paid family and medical leave insurance policy form filing within 60 days 31 
following the CID’s issuance of a forthcoming Policy Filing Guidance Notice defining the 32 
contents of an acceptable paid family and medical leave insurance policy. 33 

b. Accordingly, the Authority established an interim period for insured plans during which a 34 
CID-approved Declaration of Insurance qualifies as “an insurance policy, the forms of which 35 
have been approved by the CID” and shall be accepted as such by the CT Paid Leave Authority 36 
as part of the application.   37 

c. The Interim Period for Insured Plans shall be from July 6, 2020, through the later of: 38 

https://portal.ct.gov/-/media/CID/1_Notices/Paid-Family-Medical-Leave-Insurance.pdf
https://portal.ct.gov/-/media/CID/1_Notices/Paid-Family-Medical-Leave-Insurance.pdf
https://portal.ct.gov/-/media/CID/1_Notices/Paid-Family-Medical-Leave-Insurance.pdf
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• the 60th day from the date the CID issues an updated Policy Filing Guidance notice 39 
defining the contents of an acceptable paid family and medical leave insurance policy; 40 
and 41 

• the date the CID approves the carrier’s policy form (provided the carrier files within 42 
60 days of the date the CID issues such notice). 43 

2. Form of an Insurance Policy after the Interim Period Ends 44 

a.   As set forth in the updated Policy Filing Guidance Notice that will be issued by the CID 45 
(hereinafter referred to as the “2021 CT Paid Leave Policy Filing Guidance Notice”), the 46 
Connecticut Insurance Department (CID) will consider Carrier-issued policies as consistent 47 
with Authority standards provided Carriers use the policy template that is attached to the 48 
2021 CT Paid Leave Notice; and Carriers submit their own policy forms that offer benefits 49 
that are at least as beneficial as the requirements of Sections 31-49e through 31-49t of the 50 
Connecticut General Statutes.  Such submitted policy forms may include brackets to allow 51 
variability for product design but all bracketed items should be explained as part of the filing 52 
so that the CID understands that the product will always meet the relevant standards to be 53 
considered an Authority-qualified policy.  Additionally, unless specified in the instructions 54 
within the template, Carriers are allowed to include the provisions in an order that deviates 55 
from the template provided.  However, CID shall have the right to disapprove if the 56 
provisions appear in a manner that is confusing, misleading, or otherwise inconsistent with 57 
the purposes of the CT Paid Family Leave Act. 58 

b. If the CID approves the submitted policy form(s), it shall issue a certified policy form 59 
number for each such approved policy form, shall provide the Authority written notice of 60 
the name and address of the insurer and the certified policy form numbers that it has 61 
approved, and the SERFF Tracking Number and approval date for the policy form filing.   62 

3.  Approved Insurer. The CT Paid Leave Authority shall accept only insurance policies issued by 63 
insurance companies that have received one of the following ratings from AM Best: a-, a, a+, aa-, 64 
aa, aa+, aaa.  65 

C.  Self-Insured Plan 66 

1. As an alternative to obtaining an insurance policy, an employer can apply for approval to 67 
comply with its obligations under the CT Paid Leave Act through a self-insured plan.  As part of 68 
that application, the employer shall attest that it will provide self-insured coverage to the 69 
Employer’s covered individuals for benefits in accordance with the CT Paid Leave Act; that its self-70 
insured plan will comply with all requirements established by the CT Paid Leave Authority; and 71 
that it has sufficient financial resources to pay claims and provide adequate benefits claims 72 
administration to assure that employees have access to benefits as they would if they participated 73 
in the public plan. 74 

2. Self-Insured Plan During the Interim Period 75 

During the Interim Period for self-insured plans, which is defined as the period from July 76 
6, 2020 through October 31, 2021, the CT Paid Leave Authority will accept as an 77 
Employer’s self-insured plan a Self-Insurance Declaration Document that conforms with 78 
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the Declaration of Self-Insurance template issued by the Authority.  As part of the Self-79 
Insurance Declaration Document, the employer shall acknowledge that it shall amend its 80 
self-insured plan document to conform to the requirements of a Self-Insurance Plan Filing 81 
Guidance Notice that will be issued by the CT Paid Leave Authority and provide a copy of 82 
that amended document to the CT Paid Leave Authority. 83 

. As of November 1, 2021,. 84 

3. Self-Insured Plan  As of November 1, 2021. In order to be eligible for approval as a private 85 
plan on or after November 10, 2021, only self-insured plan documents that conform to the 86 
requirements of the Self-Insurance Plan Document attached as Exhibit A to this Policy 87 
(hereinafter, an “self-insured plan document”) will be eligible for approval as a self-insurnance 88 
plan by the CT Paid Leave Authority. 89 

4. Surety Bond.  In order for a self-insured plan to be approved, the employer shall furnish 90 
as part of the application a bond running to the CT Paid Leave Trust Fund with a surety company 91 
authorized to transact business in the state as surety in an amount equal to the estimated total 92 
yearly contributions that would otherwise be owed by the employer’s employees to the CT Paid 93 
Leave Trust Fund.   94 

a. The CT Paid Leave Authority shall accept only surety bonds that have been issued 95 
by surety companies that are on the federal Department of Treasury’s Listing of Approved 96 
Sureties at the time the application is submitted. 97 

b. The surety bond shall be in the form established by the Authority. 98 

II. REQUIREMENTS FOR THE EMPLOYEE VOTE 99 

A.   Section 31-49o of the Connecticut General Statutes mandates that the CT Paid Leave Authority 100 
cannot approve a private plan unless it has been approved by a majority vote of the employer's 101 
employees.  Accordingly, the employer shall hold the vote on the plan before submitting its 102 
application to the CT Paid Leave Authority. 103 

B.   “A majority vote of the employer’s employees” means that at least 50% + 1 of the total number 104 
of employees working in Connecticut for the employer voted in favor the plan.  It does not mean 105 
at least 50% + 1 of the number of employees who participated in the vote. 106 

C.   All employees working in Connecticut on the employer’s payroll as of the date or time period 107 
of the vote, including full-time, part-time and probationary employees, as well as any regular 108 
employees who are on a paid or unpaid leaves of absence (such as vacation, medical, military, 109 
educational, disciplinary, etc.) on the day of the vote, shall be afforded the opportunity to vote. 110 

D.  At least two weeks before the vote commences, the employer shall provide the employees 111 
with a copy of the approved insurance policy or self-insured plan document; a plain language 112 
guide describing the plan that includes, at a minimum, the information contained in the Plain 113 
Language Template attached as Exhibit B to this policy; and instructions about the voting process.  114 
The Employer may provide the insurance policy or self-insured plan document in a sample or draft 115 
format, without customer specific information (e.g. employer name, policy number) and with 116 
watermarks or other details that establish that it is not yet part of the final policy or plan.  117 
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However, such draft must include all substantive language that is intended to be reflected in the 118 
policy or plan.   119 

E.  The employer may provide additional information about the proposed private plan, including 120 
but not limited to information about any benefits provided that exceed the statutory 121 
requirements. 122 

F.   The employer shall not coerce or threaten the employees in any way in connection with the 123 
vote.  Evidence that the employer engaged in any coercive or threatening behavior shall be 124 
grounds for the CT Paid Leave Authority to deny or revoke the private plan approval. 125 

G. The method of distribution of such documents and information shall be at least as efficient and 126 
effective as the manner by which the employer distributes other legally required work-related 127 
postings, such as wage & hour, sexual harassment prevention, and workers’ compensation 128 
information and other benefit information, such as pension/401k summary plan descriptions and 129 
open enrollment materials. 130 

H. The employer shall ensure that the documents and information are accessible to employees 131 
who are on leave. 132 

I. The employer shall ensure that the documents and information comply with federal and state 133 
requirements regarding disability accessibility and language accessibility. 134 

J. The method of voting shall be accessible to employees who are on leave. 135 

K. The method of voting shall comply with federal and state requirements regarding disability 136 
accessibility and language accessibility. 137 

L. The question presented to the employees for the vote shall be: “Do you approve the company’s 138 
private plan to provide benefits required by the CT Paid Family and Medical Leave Insurance Act? 139 
Yes or No.” There shall be no other form of question posted for voting on the private plan. 140 

M.  The method of voting shall be anonymous, unless the employer obtains advance written 141 
permission from the Authority for an exception, and the method of voting shall be capable of 142 
independent, after-the-fact verification. 143 
1. In order to qualify as an anonymous vote, the method of voting must assure that neither 144 

the management of the employer or other employees can determine how any individual 145 
employee voted. 146 

2. The Authority, in its sole discretion, may grant permission for an employer to hold a vote 147 
that is not anonymous if, in advance of holding the vote, the employer makes a written 148 
request to the Authority demonstrating good cause for an exception and explaining its 149 
proposed alternative form of voting.   150 

3. Examples of good cause for an exception include, but are not limited to, having only one 151 
employee in Connecticut, and needing to establish an alternative to an anonymous voting 152 
method in order to comply with federal or state requirements regarding disability 153 
accessibility or language accessibility. 154 
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4. The CT Paid Leave Authority strongly recommends that employers utilize electronic 155 
and/or on-line tools for voting provided the employer assures that all employees have 156 
access to such tools. 157 

 158 

III. APPLICATION PROCESS 159 
 160 

A. EMPLOYERS THAT HAVE RECEIVED PROVISIONAL APPROVAL FOR A PRIVATE PLAN 161 

1.  As set forth in the POLICY & PROCEDURES FOR AN EMPLOYER TO APPLY TO USE A 162 
PRIVATE PLAN TO MEET ITS OBLIGATIONS UNDER THE CONNECTICUT PAID LEAVE PROGRAM, 163 
adopted by the Board in September 2020 (hereinafter referred to as the “September 2020 Policy 164 
& Procedures document”), employers were permitted to apply for permission to utilize a private 165 
plan to meet their obligations under the CT Paid Leave Act on the basis of a Declaration of 166 
Insurance or a Self-Insurance Declaration Document during the “Interim Period.”   167 
 168 
2. Pursuant to the September 2020 Policy and Procedures document, the Interim Period 169 
was originally defined as the period from July 6, 2020, through the 60th day from the date the 170 
CID issues a Policy Filing Guidance notice defining the contents of an acceptable paid family and 171 
medical leave insurance policy and any approval of an application for approval of a private plan 172 
submitted on the basis of a Declaration of Insurance or a Self-Insurance Declaration Document 173 
during this time frame was deemed to be provisional. 174 
 175 
3. By December 1, 2021, each carrier approved by the CID to issue paid family and medical 176 
leave coverage shall submit to the Authority a list of all of the employers to whom it has issued a 177 
Declaration of Insurance. The list shall include the name, address and contact person of each 178 
such employer.    179 
 180 
4. By the later of  December 1, 2021, or 60 days following the date the CID approves the 181 
carrier’s policy filing, each employer that received provisional approval on the basis of an insured 182 
plan shall supplement its application with a copy of the face sheet of the insurance policy, which 183 
shall include the certified policy form number and the unique policy number for the employer. 184 

5. By the later of December 1015, 2021 or 30 days following the approval of these policies, 185 
each employer that received provisional approval on the basis of a self-insured plan shall 186 
supplement its application with a copy of the self-insurance plan document that conforms to the 187 
requirements of the Self-Insurance Plan Document attached as Exhibit A to this Policy.   188 

6. Each such supplemented application will be approved unless the CT Paid Leave Authority 189 
determines that  coverage described in the supplemental documents differs materials from the 190 
documents submitted in connection with the provisionally approved application or the CT Paid 191 
Leave Authority determines that the employer’s updated application should be denied for one or 192 
more of the reasons listed in section IV. 193 
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7.  The CT Paid Leave Authority will revoke the provisional approval if the employer fails to 194 
update its application in accordance with sectons III.A.4 or IIII.A5 as applicable. 195 

86. An employer that has received provisional approval for its private plan from the CT Paid 196 
Leave Authority is exempted from the obligation to remit contributions, unless the employer fails 197 
to update its application as required or the CT Paid Leave Authority denies the employer’s 198 
updated application for one or more of the reasons listed in section IV. 199 

97. If the CT Paid Leave Authority revokes the provisional approval or if, for any other reason, 200 
an employer that has received provisional approval does not have an approved insurance policy 201 
or approved self-insurance plan in effect on January 1, 2022, the employer will be responsible for 202 
all contributions its employees would have paid to the CT Paid Leave Authority pursuant to Conn. 203 
Gen. Stat. § 31-49g, retroactive to January 1, 2021.  The employer is prohibited from collecting 204 
retroactive contributions from covered employees to satisfy this requirement. 205 

 206 

B. APPLICATION PROCESS AFTER THE INTERIM PERIOD ENDS 207 

 208 
1. Employer (hereinafter, all references to “employer” shall include the employer’s authorized 209 

representative, including Third-Party Administrator if applicable) registers with the CT Paid Leave 210 
Authority on its portal, ctpaidleave.org, providing or verifying employer’s name, address, contact 211 
information, industry code and total number of employees working in Connecticut. 212 

2. Employer completes the CT Paid Leave Authority’s application for a private plan: 213 
a. Employer specifies whether the plan is in the form of self-insurance or provides for 214 

insurance. 215 
b. Employer provides the CT Paid Leave Authority with a copy of the plain language guide 216 

provided to its employees and one of the following: 217 
i. The face sheet of the approved insurance policy form (or draft as described in 218 

Section II.D above) 219 
or 220 

ii. The approved self-insured plan document 221 
c. The CT Paid Leave Authority will verify with CID that the CID has approved the form of the 222 

insurance policy. 223 
d. If the Employer is applying on the basis of a self-insured plan, it shall furnish the required 224 

surety bond in an amount equal to the estimated total yearly contributions that would 225 
otherwise be owed by its employees as part of its application. 226 

e. Employer shall attest that the plan has been approved by a majority vote of its employees 227 
working in Connecticut and that the vote complied with the CT Paid Leave Authority 228 
requirements. 229 

f. Employer shall report on the application the total number of employees employed by the 230 
Employer who are working in Connecticut, the total number of employees who voted and 231 
the numbers of votes for and against the plan. 232 

g. The Employer shall attest that it complied with the voting requirements described in 233 
Section II. The CT Paid Leave Authority shall have the authority to audit an employer’s 234 
voting process for compliance with the statute and the Authority’s requirements. 235 
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h. The Employer shall attest that it will comply and will direct its insurer or Third-Party 236 
Administrator (as applicable) to comply with the CT Paid Leave Authority’s reporting 237 
requirements, as set forth in section VI of this Policy. 238 

i. The Employer shall attest that it will comply and will direct its insurer or Third-Party 239 
Administrator (as applicable) to comply with claims administration mandates adopted by 240 
the CT Paid Leave Authority or the CID. 241 

j. The Employer shall attest that it will provide timely and complete responses and will 242 
direct its insurer or Third Party Administrator (as applicable) to provide timely and 243 
complete responses to any requests by the CT Paid Leave Authority, or its designee, for 244 
information relating to claims that the employer threatened or coerced employees in 245 
connection with the private plan vote;  failed to pay benefits; failed to pay benefits timely 246 
and in a manner consistent with the public plan; failed to maintain an adequate surety 247 
bond as required by the CID; misused private plan funds; failed to submit reports as 248 
required; provided materially false information to the CT Paid Leave Authority or the CID; 249 
failed to comply with sections 31-49e to 31-49t, inclusive of the Connecticut General 250 
Statutes; or any other reason related to the Authority’s responsibility to administer CT 251 
Paid Family Leave Act and its policies. 252 

j.k. The Employer shall provide the name and contact details, including the email address and 253 
postal address, of the person designated by the Employer to receive notice of  any appeals 254 
filed with the CT Department of Labor.  Such contact person may be from the Employer, 255 
its insurer, or Third Party Administrator.   256 

3. It is permissible for two or more legal entities, each with its own Federal Employer Identification 257 
Number (“FEIN”) and with employees working in Connecticut, to participate in a single private 258 
plan provided that: 259 

a. The plan documents list each entity that is covered by the plan;  260 
b. Each such entity shall hold a separate vote and a majority of the employees of that entity 261 

vote in favor of the plan; and  262 
c. Each such entity shall file a separate application. 263 

4. The CT Paid Leave Authority will accept applications on a rolling basis.   264 
a. On or after November 1, 2021, applications must be approved no later than 30 calendar 265 

days before the end of the quarter prior to the quarter in which the approval takes effect 266 
and the employer’s obligation to remit contributions to the Authority is waived..  267 

b. For example, in order for contributions to waived for the quarter beginning on January 1, 268 
2022, the application must be approved by the Authority no later than December 1, 2021. 269 

5. The approval for a private plan shall be effective for three years from the date the CT Paid Leave 270 
Authority notifies the employer that its private plan has been approved or until the employer 271 
materially changes its private plan, whichever comes first. 272 

a. An employer may request that the Authority shorten the approval period for an 273 
unchanged plan to less than three years from its approval date.  Any such request shall 274 
be made through the Authority portal at www.ctpaidleave.org and shall explain the 275 
reason for such request.  276 

b. The Authority has the sole discretion to agree to or reject a request to shorten the 277 
approval period for an unchanged plan and shall notify the employer of its decision via 278 
the Authority portal. 279 

http://www.ctpaidleave.org/
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6. If an employer seeks to make a material change to its private plan, it may submit a new application 280 
to the CT Paid Leave Authority, following a vote by its employees in accordance with Section II of 281 
this policy. Such new application shall not terminate the approved status of the previously 282 
approved plan. 283 

a. The factor to consider in determining whether a new application is required is whether 284 
the change is material, from the perspective of covered employees.   285 

b. The following is a non-exclusive list of changes that are considered material: 286 
i. Changes to the plan design related to benefit amounts or durations 287 

ii. Changes to the insurance carrier or claims administrator 288 
iii. Changes to the class of covered employees, including eligibility rules and waiting 289 

period for coverage 290 
iv. Changes to the rate of contribution for the employee 291 
v. Changes to the method of determination of the 12 month benefit period 292 

vi. Changes in how accruals (paid time off, sick bank, etc) are utilized 293 
c. The following changes are not considered to be material: 294 

i. Cosmetic changes to the plan, for example logos, fonts, branding 295 
ii. Changes to the legal name or legal address of the employer, assuming no 296 

changes to the actual ownership of the employer 297 
iii. Changes to the contact information or method for filing claims 298 
iv. Changes that are the result of changes in an employee’s status 299 
v. Changes to correct grammatical or typographical errors. 300 

7. Changes made in order to comply with the law, including but not limited to the Connecticut Paid 301 
Leave Act and related policies, will not require a a new vote or a new application, even if material. 302 

8. If the CT Paid Leave Authority approves the proposed new private plan, the date the new plan is 303 
approved will begin a new three-year approval period. 304 

9. Each employer that has been approved for a self-insured plan shall be required to update its 305 
surety bond on a yearly basis. 306 

10. Pursuant to Section 31-49o, the CT Paid Leave Authority may deny applications for a private plan 307 
option if it determines based upon actuarial principles that the solvency of the Trust may be 308 
jeopardized.  The CT Paid Leave Authority shall draft a policy identifying the factors it will consider 309 
and the procedures it will follow in order to make such a determination 310 

 311 
IV. TERMINATION OF PRIVATE PLAN 312 

A. Employer’s Responsibility for Coverage.  In the event an employer is utilizing a private plan to 313 
provide PFML benefits, it is the employer’s responsibility to keep PFML coverage in force for all 314 
covered employees.   315 

1. If an Employer's plan is terminated during the term of a CT Paid Leave Authority-316 
approved exemption period, and the Employer does not obtain approval from the CT 317 
Paid Leave Authority to provide private plan coverage from another source (either its 318 
own self-insured private plan or another fully insured private plan) the Employer may be 319 
(a) required to remit contributions that its employees would have paid to the CT Paid 320 
Leave Authority pursuant to Conn. Gen. Stat. § 31-49g,  retroactive to either the later of 321 
January 1, 2021  or the start date of the Employer's approved exemption; (b) required to 322 
repay to the CT Paid Leave Trust Fund ("Trust Fund") the cost of total amount of 323 
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benefits paid to Covered Employees who received benefits from the Trust Fund; and (c) 324 
subject to additional interest and penalties established by the CT Paid Leave Authority 325 
for not maintaining a private plan.  326 

2. The employer is prohibited from collecting retroactive contributions from covered 327 
employees to satisfy this requirement 328 

 329 
B. Voluntary Termination of Private Plan.  If an employer voluntarily elects to terminate coverage 330 

in force with a private plan, and instead move coverage to the program administered by the CT 331 
Paid Leave Authority (hereinafter the “public plan”), the following requirements shall apply: 332 

1. Employee Contributions.  Upon transition to the public plan, the employer must remit to 333 
the Authority all funds remaining in their possession or control that have been collected 334 
from employees for the purpose of providing private plan coverage.  Funds that were 335 
collected and are owed to a carrier or Third Party Administrator for the period of time 336 
that the plan was in force shall be remitted to the carrier or TPA rather than the 337 
Authority.  338 

2. Termination at End of Approved Period – Notice Required.  If the transition occurs at the 339 
end of the approved period for the private plan, the employer shall provide notice to 340 
the Authority no less than 90 days from the date coverage will end under the private 341 
plan.  If such notice is not provided, the Authority shall have the right to assess a penalty 342 
up to an amount equal to the first full calendar quarter of  contributions its employees 343 
must pay to the Authority pursuant to Conn. Gen. Stat. § 31-49g.  The penalty must be 344 
paid by the employer by the end of the first full calendar quarter that coverage is in 345 
force under the public plan, and the employer may not deduct from employees’ 346 
earnings in order to pay the penalty.  Coverage under the public plan will begin 347 
immediately following the last day that coverage is in force under the private plan. 348 

3. Termination During the Approval Window.  Private plans are expected to remain in force 349 
for the full period of time that is approved.  In order to ensure the Paid Leave Trust Fund 350 
is able to support additional covered employees, a fee may be charged for employers 351 
who are moving from the private plan to the public plan.  If the transition occurs prior to 352 
the end of the approved period for a private plan, notice should be provided as soon as 353 
possible.  In addition: 354 

a. Reasonable Effort Made to remain under a private plan:  If alternative private 355 
plan coverage was reasonably sought, but unable to be acquired, for example, 356 
due to denial of coverage from insurance carriers or the failure to receive a 357 
majority of employee votes in favor of a replacement plan, coverage under 358 
the public plan will begin immediately following the last day that coverage is 359 
in force under the private plan.  The Authority shall be the sole determiner as 360 
to whether attempts to obtain coverage were reasonable.   361 
i. The Authority shall have the right to assess a penalty up to an amount 362 

equal to 200% of the cost of the first full calendar quarter of 363 
contributions its employees must pay to the Authority pursuant to 364 
Conn. Gen. Stat. § 31-49g.   365 

ii. The penalty must be paid by the employer by the end of the first full 366 
calendar quarter that coverage is in force under the public plan, and the 367 
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employer may not deduct from employees’ earnings in order to pay the 368 
penalty.   369 

b. Reasonable Effort not made to remain under a private plan:  If alternative 370 
private plan coverage was not sought, or the employer is unable to provide 371 
evidence that the Authority finds to be reasonable of an attempt to acquire 372 
alternative coverage, coverage under the public plan will begin immediately 373 
following the last day that coverage is in force under the private plan.   374 
i. The Authority shall have the right to assess a penalty up to an amount 375 

equal to 300% of the cost of the first full calendar quarter of 376 
contributions its employees must pay to the Authority pursuant to 377 
Conn. Gen. Stat. § 31-49g. 378 

ii. The penalty must be paid by the employer by the end of the first full 379 
calendar quarter that coverage is in force under the public plan, and the 380 
employer may not deduct from employees’ earnings in order to pay the 381 
penalty. 382 
 383 

4. Penalties are in Addition to Regular Contributions.  Any penalties assessed will be 384 
independent of contributions employees must pay to the Authority pursuant to Conn. 385 
Gen. Stat. § 31-49g related to on-going coverage under the public plan and amounts 386 
remitted to the Authority that were collected from employees while the private plan 387 
was in force.  388 
 389 

5. Reconsideration of Penalties.  If the Authority assesses a penalty to the employer, the 390 
employer shall be allowed to request reconsideration from the Authority.  The employer 391 
may provide any evidence in support of a waiver or reduction in the penalty amount.  392 
The Authority may waive, in whole or in part, the amount of such penalty if such 393 
payment would be against equity and good conscience. 394 

 395 
C. Involuntary Termination of a Private Plan 396 

1. The CT Paid Leave Authority may deny or withdraw approval for a private plan if the CT 397 
Paid Leave Authority determines that the employer has: 398 

a. Threatened or coerced employees in connection with the private plan vote;  399 
b. Failed to pay benefits;  400 
c. Failed to pay benefits timely and in a manner consistent with the public plan;  401 
d. Failed to maintain an adequate surety bond as required by the CID; misused 402 

private plan funds;  403 
e. Failed to submit reports as required;  404 
f. Provided materially false information to the CT Paid Leave Authority of the CID or 405 

failed to comply with sections 31-49e to 31-49t, inclusive of the Connecticut 406 
General Statutes or  407 

g. Has directed its insurer or Third-Party Administrator to engage in such actions. 408 
2. If the Authority terminates the private plan for any of the reasons listed in Sec. 31-49o (b) 409 

or for failure to meet any other requirements or policies promulgated by the Authority, 410 
coverage will terminate on a date indicated by the Authority.   411 
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a. Coverage will begin under the public plan immediately following the last day 412 
that coverage is in force under the private plan.   413 

b. The Authority shall have the right to assess a penalty up to an amount equal to 414 
400% of the cost of the first full calendar quarter of contributions the 415 
employer’s employees must pay to the Authority pursuant to Conn. Gen. Stat. § 416 
31-49g.  The penalty must be paid by the employer by the end of the first full 417 
calendar quarter that coverage is in force under the public plan, and the 418 
employer may not deduct from the employees’ earnings in order to pay the 419 
penalty. 420 

c. Upon transition to the public plan, the employer must remit to the Authority all 421 
funds remaining in their possession or control that have been collected from 422 
employees for the purpose of providing private plan coverage.  Funds that were 423 
collected and are owed to a carrier or Third Party Administrator for the period 424 
of time that the plan was in force shall be remitted to the carrier or TPA rather 425 
than the Authority. 426 

3. Notice to Employer of Potential Violation.   427 

a. The Authority shall provide written notice to an employer of a potential 428 
violation of the policies relating to private plans, which notice shall include a 429 
statement of the alleged violation, a summary of the information upon which 430 
the Authority relied in making its determination that a potential violation 431 
occurred, and the penalty or penalties the Authority is considering.   432 

b. Not later than twenty days after the date the notice was mailed or sent by 433 
electronic mail, the employer may submit additional information to the 434 
Authority with a request for reconsideration or a request for a hearing.  435 

c. The Authority shall issue a final determination regarding the alleged violation 436 
not later than sixty calendar days after the date the Authority mailed or sent by 437 
electronic mail the notice of the potential violation, which sixty-day period may 438 
be extended for an additional period not to exceed sixty days if (1) the Authority 439 
gives written notice to the employer that it requires additional time, and (2) 440 
such notice is mailed or sent by electronic mail during the initial sixty-day 441 
period.  442 

 443 
4. Request for Reconsideration or Hearing.  An employer who has received notice of a 444 

potential violation may request reconsideration or a hearing with the Authority.   445 
a. Such request shall indicate whether the employer seeks reconsideration or a 446 

hearing; and shall include the employer’s response to the alleged violation and 447 
potential penalty. 448 

b. If the request is for reconsideration, the response shall include all information 449 
the employer wants the Authority to consider in reaching a final 450 
determination. 451 

c. If the request is for a hearing, the response shall include an explanation of why 452 
the employer believes a hearing would be necessary in order for the Authority 453 
to reach a final determination. 454 
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d.c. Such request for a reconsideration or hearing shall be received no more than 455 
twenty calendar days from the date after the notice was mailed or sent by 456 
electronic mail. 457 

d. If no request is received, the employer will be deemed to have admitted to the 458 
violation and accepted the penalty. 459 

e. If the Authority determines that a hearing is necessary to address the request 460 
for reconsideration, it shall advise the employer of the date and time of such 461 
hearing. 462 

 463 
5. Hearing.  In the event that a hearing is requested by the Authority, Tthe Chief Executive 464 

Officer of the Authority, or his or her designee, will act as the Hearing Officer.  Such 465 
Hearing Officer shall not be the same person or persons who investigated or made the 466 
initial determination that the alleged violation occurred.  The Hearing Officer may set a 467 
date, time, and place for the hearing.  Such hearing may be in-person, via telephone, or 468 
other electronic-meeting means.   469 

a. Process.  Hearings shall be as informal as may be reasonable and appropriate 470 
under the circumstances and in accordance with due process principles.  The 471 
employer and/or their representative shall be present as well as a 472 
representative of the Authority other than the Hearing Officer.  Hearings may 473 
be recorded, but need not be transcribed.  An oral or written statement may 474 
be provided by the employer or their representative and by the Authority 475 
representative.  Physical evidence may be presented and witnesses may be 476 
called by either party.  All witnesses shall testify under oath or affirmation, and 477 
may be subject to cross-examination.   478 

b. Evidence.  Formal rules of evidence shall not apply to the hearing.  The Hearing 479 
Officer shall have the discretion to attach as much weight to evidence 480 
presented as he or she deems appropriate and reasonable.  The Hearing Officer 481 
shall have the power to request additional evidence from either party, after 482 
the hearing, if he or she deems necessary.  If a request is made, such evidence 483 
shall be provided to both parties and may be contested by the opposite party 484 
within 5 days. 485 

c. Decision.  The Hearing Officer shall issue a final determination in writing.    In 486 
the written determination, the Hearing Officer shall state the facts relied upon 487 
in order to make the determination of whether or not the employer violated 488 
the policies relating to private plans.  The Hearing Officer may recommend a 489 
penalty or waiver of a penalty, in whole or in part.  However, the assessment of 490 
such a penalty will remain within the power of the Chief Executive Officer of 491 
the Authority, or his or her designee. 492 

 493 
6. Penalties are in Addition to Regular Contributions.  Any penalties assessed will be 494 

independent of amount of contributions employees must pay to the Authority pursuant 495 
to Conn. Gen. Stat. § 31-49g related to maintaining on-going coverage under the public 496 
plan and amounts remitted to the Authority that were collected from employees while 497 
the private plan was in force.  498 



 

 
 

13 

7. Reconsideration of Penalties.  If the Authority assesses a penalty to the employer, the 499 
employer shall be allowed to request reconsideration from the Authority.  The employer 500 
may provide any evidence in support of a waiver or reduction in the penalty amount.  501 
The Authority may waive, in whole or in part, the amount of such penalty if such 502 
payment would be against equity and good conscience. 503 

 504 
D. Requirements Relating to Data Transfer Upon Any Termination of a Private Plan 505 

1. Data Transfer upon transition from a private plan to the public plan 506 
a. The employer, carrier or administrator of the private plan shall provide benefits 507 

utilization data to the Authority or its claims administrator in the file layout 508 
specified by the Authority or, if such layout is not feasible, in an alternative 509 
layout approved by the Authority. 510 

b. Data elements that shall be required to be provided shall include, but may not 511 
be limited to the following: 512 

i. claimant demographics (inclusive of all active employees within 12 513 
weeks prior to public plan start date) 514 

ii. time used per claimant in weeks   515 
iii. minimum leave start date (within 12 months of transition date to public 516 

plan) 517 
c. The employer, carrier or administrator of the private plan shall not be required 518 

to transfer financial data or claim documents to the Authority or its claims 519 
administrator.  520 

d. The employer, carrier or administrator of the private plan shall provide 521 
complete data requested through final date of private plan administration 522 
through 2 separate files: 523 

i. First file due to 30 days in advance of private plan end date, unless 524 
otherwise agreed by the Authority. 525 

ii. Second file due 14 calendar days after private plan end date, unless 526 
otherwise agreed by the Authority. 527 

2. Data Transfer upon transition from a private plan to another private plan 528 
a. The data transfer requirements from a terminating private plan to a new private 529 

plan shall be determined by the employer and the carriers or administrators, if 530 
applicable, of the terminating and new plans.  The employer is responsible for 531 
ensuring that the transition from the terminating private plan to the new 532 
private plan occurs with minimal inconveniences and disruption to its covered 533 
employees.    534 

 535 

V. AUDITS OF PRIVATE PLANS  536 
A. The employer shall maintain and shall require its carrier or administrator, as applicable, to 537 

maintain accurate and complete records relating to the private plan and shall make all such 538 
records available at all reasonable hours for audit and inspection by the Authority, upon 539 
reasonable advance written notice.  Such records may include, but are not limited to, payroll 540 
records; employee schedules and timecards; tax forms, and claim files.  Such records shall be 541 
kept at least three years from the termination of the plan. 542 
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 543 
B. The Authority shall make all requests for any audit or inspection in writing and shall provide the 544 

employer, carrier or administrator with reasonable advance notice prior to the requested audit 545 
and inspection date, provided, however, if the Authority suspects fraud or other abuse, or if the 546 
Authority determines that the need for the audit or inspection is urgent, the Authority is not 547 
obligated to provide any prior notice. 548 
 549 

C. The employer shall preserve and maintain, and shall require its carrier or administrator as 550 
applicable to preserve and maintain any records relating to an audit or inspection until the audit 551 
and any audit-related proceedings are concluded.  552 
 553 

D. The employer shall cooperate fully with the Authority in connection with an audit or inspection, 554 
and shall require its carrier or administrator to cooperate fully with an audit or inspection. 555 

  556 
E. Reasons for Audits.  Audits may be triggered for any number of reasons, including but not 557 

limited to, the following:  558 
1. Random Audits  559 
2. As a result of a complaint  560 
3. As the result of deviations in data collected 561 
4. As a result of any other information received by the Authority that has a direct bearing 562 

on the ability or integrity of the private plan administrator, the plan’s compliance with 563 
state law, or the solvency of plan. 564 

 565 
  566 

  567 
F. Categories of Audits.  Categories of Audits for Private Plans (can include any combination in a 568 

single audit)  569 
1. Related to Establishment of a private plan  570 
2. Related to Contributions  571 
3. Related to Claims  572 
4. Related to Record-keeping  573 

  574 
G. Scope of Audits.  Typically, the audit will specify the scope of an audit to be for a specific 575 

number of plans or specific time period of claims; however, the Authority also reserves the right 576 
to review any and all claims.    The Authority may request a list of all plans or claims and choose 577 
a random number of files to review or it may request specific files. 578 
 579 

H. Subject of Audits.  If necessary, the Authority may contact other parties in connection with the 580 
audit.  For example, if auditing an insurance carrier, the Authority may request information from 581 
an employer whose private plan is administered by the carrier.  582 
 583 

I. Remedies and Penalties.  The Authority has the discretion to determine the appropriate 584 
remedies or penalties that may be appropriate in the event of audit findings, including but not 585 
limited to requiring the employer, carrier or administrator to cure any errors; rescission of 586 
private plan approval; or monetary fines. 587 

 588 
VI.  RECORDS RETENTION AND REPORTING REQUIREMENTS  589 
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A. Not later than April May 1, 2022  and annually thereafter, each Employer shall submit, in a manner 590 
and form to be determined by the Authority, the following information about its plan: 591 

1. the projected and actual participation in the plan  592 
2. the reasons claimants are receiving family and medical leave compensation;  593 
3. de-identified demographic information of claimants, including gender, age, town of 594 

residence and income level;   595 
4. the total number of claims made and claims denied; and  596 
5. the reasons for any denials. 597 

B. Record Retention Obligations 598 
1. The employer shall keep and preserve, or cause the carrier or administrator, as 599 

applicable, to keep and preserve a record of all plan-related documents including but 600 
not limited to: 601 

a. the essential details of the private insurance or self-insured plan coverage that 602 
applies to Covered Employees, which may include wage or payment history if 603 
the Covered Employee's wages are used to determine the benefit amount 604 
and/or premium amount 605 

b. financial data including records relating to the collection, retention and use of 606 
employee contributions and benefit payments 607 

c. Records relating to the contract between the employer and the carrier or 608 
administrator claims documents  609 

2. Such records shall be kept at least three years from the termination of the plan. 610 
 611 

3. The Employer shall furnish these records to the CT Paid Leave Authority upon request. 612 
 613 

 614 

 615 

  616 
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 617 
EXHIBIT A 618 

 619 
 620 

SELF-INSURANCE PLAN DOCUMENT  621 
  622 
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 623 

SELF-INSURANCE PLAN  624 

 625 

1. Employer’s Name, Address, and Contact: 626 
a. [name of employer] 627 
b. [address] 628 
c. Contact: 629 

i. [name] 630 
ii. [email address] 631 

iii. [phone number] 632 
 633 

2. The Administrator of the self-insured plan will be  634 
a. [name of employer or third-party administrator] 635 
b. [address] 636 
c. Contact: 637 

i. [name] 638 
ii. [email address] 639 

iii. [phone number] 640 
d. TPA Contract Number if applicable: [insert] 641 

 642 
3. Certification by Employer 643 

The Employer certifies that it will provide self-insured coverage to the Employer’s covered 644 
individuals for benefits under CT PFML Law.  645 

The Employer certifies that it has sufficient financial resources to pay claims and adequate 646 
benefits claims administration to assure that employees have access to benefits as they would if 647 
they participated in the public plan. 648 

The Employer certifies that the self-insured plan document that is filed will comply with all 649 
requirements of the CT PFML Law including but not limited to the self-insured plan 650 
requirements listed below. 651 

The Employer agrees that it will furnish a surety bond to the CT Paid Leave Authority in an 652 
amount and form required by the Ct Paid Leave Authority 653 

4. Acknowledgement by Employer 654 

The Employer acknowledges and understands that if this self-insured plan document is not in 655 
force on January 1, 2022, the employer will be responsible for contributions pursuant to Conn. 656 
Gen. Stat. § 31-49g, retroactive to January 1, 2021, and furthermore, the Employer may not 657 
collect retroactive contributions from covered employees to satisfy this requirement.  658 

 659 

 660 
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[Employer] 661 

By its duly authorized representative, 662 

 663 

________________________                  _____________________ 664 

[Name]                                                          [Date] 665 

[Title] 666 

  667 
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Notices  668 
(Employers are allowed to utilize modifications to the language in order to fit the employer’s plan 669 
document format – e.g. replacing “Employer” with the actual employer’s company name or claims’ 670 
administrator’s name, as applicable, or “We” -  only as long as they do not alter the intent of the 671 
required notice) 672 

The first page should include a statement that the plan is intended to cover paid leave benefits that 673 
comply with the Connecticut Paid Family and Medical Leave Insurance Authority (“CT Paid Leave 674 
Authority” or “Authority”) standards. The provisions of this Plan must conform with the requirements of 675 
sections 31-49e through 31-49t of the Connecticut General Statutes and the policies promulgated by the 676 
CT Paid Leave Authority (hereinafter respectively referred to as "the CT Paid Leave Act and policies").  If 677 
any Plan provisions do not conform to the requirements of the CT Paid Leave Act and policies, then the 678 
Employer is required to administer paid benefits consistent with the CT Paid Leave Act and policies.  If 679 
there are any conflicts between the plan and the CT Paid Leave Act and policies, the CT Paid Leave Act 680 
and policies will be the controlling requirements, unless the plan provisions are more advantageous to 681 
the Covered Employee in which case the plan terms as to those more advantageous provisions will 682 
prevail. 683 

The first page should acknowledge that if there are any changes, amendments, or regulatory 684 
clarifications to the provisions of the CT Paid Leave Act and policies then the plan will be administered 685 
consistent with the relevant changes, amendments, or clarifications and all claims practices will be 686 
updated to be in compliance with the new requirements. The plan should be reviewed and updated at 687 
least annually to comply with any changes, amendments or clarifications. 688 

The following notice should be on the first or second page of the plan:  An employee covered under the 689 
policy plan shall retain all rights under Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 31-51kk to 31-51qq, inclusive. 690 

The following notice should be on the first or second page of the plan if the Employer requires 691 
contributions from Covered Employees:  Contributions from Covered Employees cannot exceed the 692 
maximum employee contributions as described in the CT Paid Leave Act and policies. This maximum 693 
contribution percentage is subject to an annual adjustment by the CT Paid Leave Authority as specified 694 
in Conn. Gen. Stat. §31-49g(b).  The amount of wages withheld or diverted from employees for 695 
contributions shall not be increased, except on an anniversary of the effective date of private plan or 696 
within thirty days after the state adjusts the contribution rate.  697 

 698 

Employer Obligations: 699 

 700 

Records -Information to Be Furnished 701 

The Employer is required to keep a record of the essential details of the self-insured plan that applies to 702 
Covered Employees, which may include wage or payment history if the Covered Employee's wages are 703 
used to determine the benefit amount and/or premium amount. The Employer is to keep a record of all 704 
details of the plan, including records relating to its Claims Administrator, if any, for a minimum period of 705 



 

 
 

20 

three years after termination of the plan. The Employer shall furnish these records to the CT Paid Leave 706 
Authority upon request. 707 

 708 

Covered Employee Right to Review Policy 709 

Covered employees shall either be given a copy of the plan or have the right to examine the plan upon 710 
request, at a reasonable time and location. 711 

Effective Date of Plan Coverage: 712 

The plan should explain the coverage relevant to the eligibility dates as follows: 713 

Effective Date for Employer [Effective date of coverage]  714 

Employee Eligibility 715 

The plan should indicate that all employees who qualify as Covered Employees under the CT Paid Family 716 
Leave Act and policies will be covered as of the plan effective date.  The plan should also indicate the 717 
effective date of coverage for any new hires or newly eligible employees.  Such time must be no later 718 
than the date required under the CT Paid Family Leave Act and policies. 719 

Benefit Provisions 720 

The plan should describe the following items: 721 

Payment Period: The maximum payment period under the plan.  722 

[Variable by Employer, but the minimum durations of paid leave allowable for qualifying reasons are 12 723 
weeks in a 12-month period for all leave reasons except (1) an eligible employee may receive an 724 
additional 2 weeks of leave for incapacitation during pregnancy and (2) only 12 days of the 12 weeks 725 
may be used for family violence leave. 726 

The plan should state specifically how it is determining the 12-month period, which must correspond to 727 
one of the approved options under the CT Family and Medical Leave Act and regulations issued by the 728 
CT Department of Labor.  The plan must provide the same method for determining the 12-month period 729 
for all leaves, with two exceptions allowed if the plan intends to mirror the measurement method 730 
indicated under such act and regulations: 731 

• For military caregiver leaves, the plan may provide for a 12 month period measured forward 732 
from the first day of leave compensation; 733 

• For leave related to family violence, the plan may provide for utilization on a calendar year basis. 734 

The use of separate methods of calculation is optional.  Either or both of the above leave reasons may 735 
match the method of measurement for all other leaves. 736 

Definition of a work week: The Employer shall calculate the Covered Employee’s work week in 737 
accordance with the section 31-51qq-16 of the Regulations of State Agencies, as may be amended from 738 
time to time by the Connecticut Department of Labor regarding the calculation of a variable work week. 739 

Waiting Period: The Employer may not impose any waiting period on the payment of leave benefits. 740 
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How Payments Start: This provision must meet or exceed the minimum qualifying eligibility conditions 741 
consistent with the CT Paid Leave Act and policies. 742 

If the Employer intends to match the minimum requirements of CT Paid Family Leave Act and policies, it 743 
is recommended that it does not attempt to specifically redefine all the exact reasons for leave in the 744 
policy, in order to avoid any unintended inconsistencies between the plan and the CT Paid Family Leave 745 
Act and policies.  Instead, it is preferable that the plan incorporate by reference the location of the 746 
specific reasons as defined in the CT Paid Family Leave Act in and policies.  However, in order to aid in 747 
understanding, the plan may reference the broad categories of leave: 748 

• Birth, adoption, or placement of child for foster care 749 
• Serious Health Condition of Employee, including pregnancy 750 
• Care for Family Member’s Serious Health Condition 751 
• Employee serving as organ or bone marrow donor 752 
• Military caregiver leave 753 
• Qualified exigency tied to family member’s active duty military service 754 
• Family violence suffered by employee 755 

When Payments End: This provision must meet or exceed the minimum qualifying eligibility conditions 756 
consistent with CT Paid Leave Act and policies.   It may state that this occurs when the Covered 757 
Employee is no longer eligible for paid family or medical leave, no longer has a qualifying reason for 758 
leave, or the person has completed the maximum payment period under the plan. 759 

The plan should state that termination of the plan will have no impact on eligibility for benefits under 760 
any approved leaves that began while the plan was in force (whether block, intermittent, or reduced 761 
leaves), including any approved extensions for the same leave regardless of whether or not the plan was 762 
in force at time of extension.  If a paid leave compensation continues beyond the termination date of 763 
the policyplan, the plan may terminate such benefits at the earlier of: 764 

• The date that a new medical certification is required due to the expiration of the previously 765 
submitted certification; or 766 

•  767 
• 12 months from the date paid leave benefits were initially provided for that leave.However, 768 

benefits may terminate if the same or greater benefits become payable under a new plan for 769 
the same leave. 770 

Intermittent Leave or Reduced Leave Schedule: The plan must indicate that intermittent leave shall be 771 
taken in increments consistent with the established policy the Employer uses to account for use of leave 772 
under the CT Family and Medical Leave Act, Conn. Gen. Stat. §31-51kk et seq and CT Family Violence 773 
Leave Act, Conn. Gen. Stat. §31-51ss.   The plan must also describe any limits on payments, including 774 
when payments may be made, provided that for intermittent leave and reduced leave schedule 775 
absences of less than 4 hours per day, the plan must issue payments for such absences no less 776 
frequently than either every two weeks or semi-monthly.  As Employers' plans may vary, in order to 777 
provide benefits that are more generous than the CT Paid Leave Act and policies, the language of the 778 
plan may include options to account for these variations.  779 

 780 
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• For leave to bond with a Child during the first twelve months after the Child's birth, Adoption, or 781 
Foster Care placement, the plan may state that income replacement compensation may be 782 
provided on an intermittent or reduced leave schedule only if the Employer and the Covered 783 
Employee mutually agree. 784 

 785 
• For leave to care for a Family Member's Serious Health Condition or to care for a Family 786 

Member who is a Covered Service Member, the plan must provide that income replacement 787 
compensation may be provided on an intermittent or reduced leave schedule, if needed.  The 788 
plan may require that the employee provide a certification from Health Care Provider that the 789 
intermittent leave schedule is medically necessary as a condition of coverage.  If the plan 790 
requires this Health Care Provider certification, this must be stated in the plan. 791 
 792 

• For leave due to Family violence suffered by employee or a Qualifying Exigency arising out of a 793 
Family Member's active duty or impending call to active duty in the Armed Forces, the plan must 794 
provide that income replacement compensation may be provided on an intermittent or reduced 795 
leave schedule. 796 
 797 

• For leave due to the Covered Employee's own Serious Health Condition, including acting as an 798 
organ/bone marrow donor, the plan must provide that income replacement compensation may 799 
be provided on an intermittent or reduced leave schedule, if needed. The plan may require that 800 
an employee provide a certification from a Health Care Provider that the intermittent leave or 801 
reduced leave schedule is medically necessary as a condition of coverage. If the plan requires 802 
this Health Care Provider certification, this must be stated in the plan. 803 

 804 

Extension of Paid Leave Benefits: 805 

The plan must indicate that the Covered Employee may submit a request for extension of paid family or 806 
medical leave beyond the initial approved duration. 807 

The Employer may require the Covered Employee to provide notice to the Employer requesting an 808 
extension of leave. This notice period may not be greater than 14 calendar days prior to the date of 809 
expiration of the original approved leave.  If the Employer requires a notice period, it must state ·that 810 
there is a provision allowing a late filed request for an extension for good cause shown. 811 

The Employer may require that a request for an extension of leave include the following information: 812 

• The reason for the extension; 813 
• The requested duration of the extended leave; 814 
• The date on which the Covered Employee provided notice of the request for the extension and 815 
• A newly completed or updated health care certification or supporting document consistent with 816 

the provisions applicable to the rights of employers as set forth in Conn. Gen. Stat. 31-51mm. 817 

Employer-Provided Paid Leave 818 

This section should state that whether the Employer may requires or may permits the Covered 819 
Employee to use any sick or other accrued paid leave or paid time off prior to initiating a claim under the 820 
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plan or while on approved leave.  , provided that In the event that an Employer requires the use of sick 821 
or other accrued paid leave or paid time off, an employee who is taking leave pursuant to Conn. Gen. 822 
Stat. §§ 31-51kk et seq. is able to retain not less than two weeks of such paid time off, as required by 823 
Conn. Gen. Stat. § 31-51ll(e). 824 

When a Covered Employee’s earned or accrued paid leave with the employer is not substituted for the 825 
entire period of unpaid leave to which the employee is entitled under Conn. Gen. State 31-51kk et seq, 826 
the employee shall receive income-replacement benefits under the policy for all or part of any unpaid 827 
federal FMLA or CT FMLA leave. 828 

When the earned or accrued paid leave is equal to the Covered Employee’s regular rate of 829 
compensation, such that the Employee does not qualify for benefits under the policy, such day or days 830 
shall not count against the Employee’s maximum allotment of income replacement benefits in a 12-831 
month period.   832 

When the earned or accrued paid leave is less than the Covered Employee’s regular rate of 833 
compensation, such that the Employee elects to utilize such paid leave to supplement the benefits 834 
received under the policy, such day or days shall count against the Employee’s maximum allotment of 835 
income replacement benefits in a 12-month period. 836 

Benefits for Former Employees 837 

For Covered persons who have been separated for any reason from an Employer for fewer than 12 838 
weeks: 839 

• If the covered person remains unemployed or otherwise not covered by the CT Paid Leave 840 
Program or a private plan approved by the CT Paid Leave Authority on the date that a requested 841 
leave begins, the Covered Employee shall submit an application for benefits with their former 842 
Employer. 843 

• If an individual submitting an application for benefits identifies themselves as a former 844 
Employee, the plan may inquire as to whether the individual has obtained Connecticut paid 845 
leave coverage with another employer following separation from the Employer or is receiving 846 
unemployment insurance benefits. An affirmative answer to any of these questions may be 847 
grounds for denial of a claim.  If such denial is due to separate Connecticut paid leave coverage, 848 
the communication of the denial shall include a notification for the former employee to contact 849 
the Authority or their current employer for more information on how to file a claim for paid 850 
leave compensation. 851 

Verification of Wages 852 

The plan may require the employee to meet financial eligibility requirement set forth in the definition of 853 
“covered employee” set forth in subsection (4) of 31-49e of the Connecticut General Statutes. 854 

The plan is allowed to only utilize wages received from the Employer for the purposes of determining 855 
eligibility under the plan orand the calculation of paid leave compensation.  Alternatively, the plan may 856 
consider earnings from additional employers in order to determine eligibility or compensation amount, 857 
or both.  The plan shall identify which wage sources are factored into the plan. 858 

Calculation of Weekly Benefit Amount and Use of Wages 859 
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This section should clearly state how the Weekly Benefit Amount payable to the Covered Employee is 860 
calculated. Such provisions should indicate the manner in which benefits may be reduced for other 861 
income that the employee may be receiving, and how benefits are calculated for reduced/intermittent 862 
leave or when leave begins or ends during a work week.  The benefit calculation must be at least equal 863 
to the benefits the benefit calculation that would be paid to Covered Employees if participating in the 864 
state plan.  865 

Payments 866 

This section will set forth the timing and manner of benefit payments to Covered Employees. Benefits 867 
should be paid to Covered Employees only.  Benefits cannot be assigned unless such assignment is 868 
required by operation of law, such as child support.  Benefits that are owed but unpaid at time of death 869 
shall be paid to the employee’s estate.  Except in the case of self-employed individuals or sole 870 
proprietors who are both employee and employer, benefits are not allowed to be paid to the employer. 871 

The Employer agrees that it will comply with the time periods and other requirements related to 872 
processing and payment of claims that are set forth in the CT Paid Leave Act and policies. This section 873 
will state that claim payments to a Covered Employee are to be paid not more than 15 calendar days 874 
after approving an application, unless that determination occurs more than 15 calendar days before the 875 
onset of leave or before the employee meets the eligibility requirements, in which case the Employer 876 
shall commence payment of leave benefits as soon as the Employer becomes aware that leave or 877 
eligibility begins. 878 

The Employer is not permitted to offer lump sum payments in lieu of a Weekly Benefit Amount and/or 879 
pay benefits at the beginning of a claim or in higher amount installments at the commencement of a 880 
claim.  The only exception to this rule is if the lump sum is necessary to pay benefits to which the 881 
Covered Employee became entitled prior to the claim determination.  For each request for payment 882 
associated with intermittent leave, the Employer may verify the leave taken prior to issuing a payment.   883 

Offset to Policy Benefits Due to Other Income: 884 

This section will explain the permissible offsets to the Weekly Benefit Amount under the CT Paid Leave 885 
Act and policies.  Employers may not impose additional offsets /reductions but may elect to include any 886 
or all of the reductions available under the CT Paid Leave Act and policies. Under the CT Paid Leave Act 887 
and policies, Covered Employees may receive other income for the same period of time that they are 888 
receiving paid leave compensation.  In order to avoid a Covered Employee receiving greater than 100% 889 
of their regular rate of compensation, the Weekly Benefit Amount payable under the plan may be 890 
reduced by the amount of wages or wage replacement that a Covered Employee on leave receives for 891 
that period from the Employer. 892 

While Employers have the right to not reduce benefits as the result of other income, two restrictions will 893 
continue to apply: 894 

1. Total compensation received by the employee under the plan and other employer-provided 895 
employment benefits cannot exceed such employee’s regular rate of compensation; 896 

2. Employees may not receive benefits under the plan concurrently with Unemployment 897 
Insurance, Workers Compensation, or any other federal or state program that provides wage 898 
replacement. 899 
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Income shall be deemed to be received concurrently with paid leave benefits if it is payable due to the 900 
same period of time that the Covered Employee is receiving paid leave benefits. 901 

Exclusions 902 

The plan should not have any exclusions that are not specifically listed in the CT Paid Leave Act and 903 
policies. If there are future changes to the CT Paid Leave Act and policies, these exclusions should be 904 
consistent with those changes. 905 

[Employers are allowed to indicate that receipt of Connecticut Unemployment Insurance, Connecticut 906 
Workers Compensation, or any other federal state program that provides wage replacement as an 907 
exclusion in this section, rather than the previous section.  However, such payments shall only be an 908 
exclusion if paid concurrently with the period of time that paid leave benefits are requested.] 909 

 910 

Claim Provisions 911 

This section will inform Covered Employees how they may initiate claims for paid leave benefits. 912 

The Employer may not impose requirements related to notice of the need for leave or the filing of a 913 
claim for benefits that are inconsistent with notice provisions in the CT Paid Leave Act and policies.  914 

The Employer shall clearly explain any claim provisions for paid family and/or medical leave. 915 

The Employer shall explain that the individual may be required to provide consent to the Carrier to share 916 
information with the Employer and with the health care provider in order to process the claim. 917 

The Employer may require the Covered Employee to provide a notice of an intent to file a claim to the 918 
Employer not greater than 30 calendar daysmaximum amountperiod allowed by statute prior to the 919 
date that the employee seeks to begin receiving benefits: 7 calendar days for leaves related to family 920 
violence and 30 calendar days for all other leaves . 921 

If the Employer requires a notice period, it must allow an exception for circumstances beyond the 922 
reasonable control of a Covered Employee. In this case, the Employer may require that the notice be 923 
given as soon as practicable. 924 

The Employer may indicate if notice is not given, and no good cause is provided for lack of notice, then 925 
the plan is allowed to wait until the notice period has expired before paying benefits, and further, that if 926 
the notice period extends beyond the end of the leave, then benefits may not be payable.   927 

The Employer may require that in the case of medical leave when planning medical treatment, the 928 
Covered Employee must consult the Employer to schedule treatment that will not unduly disrupt the 929 
Employer's operations.  930 

The Employer should clearly state that decisions on a claim for paid leave benefits will be made within 5 931 
business days of receipt of a complete application, including complete and sufficient certifications, if 932 
required.  If the application is incomplete or insufficient, the Employer shall notify the employee of the 933 
information necessary to complete the claim no later than 5 business days from the date of the request. 934 

 935 
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Certifications and Documentation Requests 936 

This section will describe the permissible certifications and documentation that the Employer may 937 
request from Covered Employees.   The Employer may require that claims for benefits be supported by a 938 
certification evidencing that the leave is for a qualifying reason.  The Employer may not include 939 
certification or other proof requirements in the plan that exceed those permitted to employers under 940 
section 31-51mm of the Connecticut General Statutes and regulations promulgated by the Connecticut 941 
Department of Labor relating to such section. 942 

The Employer may not require the Covered Employee to submit additional evidence unless it is 943 
specifically authorized in the CT Paid Leave Act and policies. 944 

The Employer may describe the information that it will require, with the statement that if there is a 945 
conflict between the plan terms and the certification and documentation that employers may require 946 
pursuant to Section 31-51mm of the Connecticut General Statutes and related regulations, or pursuant 947 
to the CT Paid Leave Act and policies, the terms of the latter statutes, regulations or CT Paid Leave Act 948 
policies prevail. 949 

Certification of Serious Health Condition 950 

 The Employer may require submission of the following necessary information for the following types of 951 
paid family and medical leave. The Employer may require that claims for benefits be supported by a 952 
certification evidencing that the leave is for a qualifying reason. 953 

For Medical Leave for the Individual’s own Serious Health Condition: 954 

 The Employer may require a certification from a health care provider that includes: 955 

•  a A statement that the Covered Employee has a serious health condition, including that they are 956 
an organ or bone marrow donor; 957 

• the The date on which the serious health condition commenced; 958 
• the The probable duration of the serious health condition; 959 
• a A certification by the health care provider that the Covered Employee is incapacitated from 960 

work due to the serious health condition, including due to organ or bone marrow donation; 961 
• information Information regarding the need for intermittent leave or reduced leave schedule, 962 

including a statement that such leave or schedule is medically necessary where the claim for 963 
benefits is for leave on an intermittent or reduced leave schedule and an estimate of the 964 
frequency and duration of leave needed; and 965 

• other Other such information that is permitted to be obtained pursuant to Section 31-51 mm of 966 
the Connecticut General Statutes and related regulations. 967 

For Leave to Care for Family Member with a Serious Health Condition:  968 

The Employer may require a certification from a health care provider that includes: 969 

• The name and address of the Family Member; 970 
• A statement that the Family Member has a Serious Health Condition; 971 
• The date on which the Family Member's Serious Health Condition commenced; 972 
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• The probable duration of the Family Member's Serious Health Condition; 973 
• A statement that the Covered Employee is needed to care for the Family Member; and 974 
• An estimate regarding the frequency and anticipated duration of time that the Covered 975 

Employee is needed to care for the Family Member; and 976 
• other such information that is permitted to be obtained pursuant to Section 31-51 mm of the 977 

Connecticut General Statutes and related regulations. 978 

The Employer may also ask the Covered Employee for: 979 

• A statement confirming the relationship between the Covered Employee and the Family 980 
Member; and 981 

• Information that proves to the satisfaction of the Employer the identity of the Family Member. 982 

 For Leave to bond with a newborn Child: 983 

The Employer may require: 984 

• The Child's birth certificate; or 985 
• A statement from the Child's Health Care Provider stating the Child's birth date; or 986 
• A statement from the Health Care Provider of the person who gave birth stating the Child's birth 987 

date. 988 

The Employer may also require other such information that is permitted to be obtained pursuant to 989 
Section 31-51 mm of the Connecticut General Statutes and related regulations. 990 

 For Leave for Placement of a Child for Adoption or Foster Care: 991 

• The Employer may require a certification from the child's health care provider or from an 992 
adoption or foster care agency involved in the placement or the Connecticut Department of 993 
Children and Families that confirms the placement and the date of placement and other such 994 
information that is permitted to be obtained pursuant to Section 31-51 mm of the Connecticut 995 
General Statutes and related regulations. 996 
 997 

• The Employer may also require that the Covered Employee provide written notice of any change 998 
of status as an adoptive or foster parent while an application for benefits is pending or while the 999 
Covered Employee is receiving benefits. In this instance, the Covered Employee, within five 1000 
business days of such change in status, may be required to provide written notice of the change 1001 
to the Employer.   1002 
  1003 

For Leave for a Qualifying Exigency arising out a Family Member is on Active Military Duty or Has Been 1004 
Notified of an Impending Call or Order to Active Duty in the Armed Forces: 1005 

The Employer may require: 1006 

• A copy of the Family Member's active duty order, a letter of impending activation from the 1007 
Family Member's commanding officer, or  other documentation in circumstances where, for 1008 
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good cause shown, the Covered Employee is unable to produce the active duty orders or letter 1009 
of impending activation;  1010 

• A statement of the family relationship between the Covered Service Member and the Covered 1011 
Employee requesting benefits; 1012 

• Information from the Covered Employee that proves to the satisfaction of the Carrier the 1013 
identity of the family member; 1014 

• The name and address of the Family Member being cared for; 1015 
• The dates or period of time for which leave is requested, including frequency and duration of 1016 

leave; 1017 
• A description of the reason for qualifying exigency; 1018 
• Any available written documentation which supports the need for leave (e.g., a document 1019 

confirming the service member’s Rest and Recuperation leave; a document confirming an 1020 
appointment with a third party, copy of a bill for services for handling legal or financial affairs, 1021 
etc.);  1022 

•  If leave is needed to meet with a third party (e.g., childcare, financial advisor, military event, 1023 
etc.), the name, address and contact of the individual/organization and a written description of 1024 
the meeting; and 1025 

• Other such information that is permitted to be obtained pursuant to Section 31-51 mm of the 1026 
Connecticut General Statutes and related regulations. 1027 

Family Leave to Care for a Family Member who is a Covered Service Member: 1028 

The Employer may require a certification from the Covered Service Member's health care provider that 1029 
includes: 1030 

• The date on which the Covered Service Member's Serious Health Condition commenced; 1031 
• The probable duration of the Serious Health Condition; 1032 
• A statement that the Covered Employee is needed to care for the Family Member; 1033 
• An estimate of the amount of time the Covered Employee will be needed to care for the 1034 

Covered Service Member; 1035 
• An attestation by the Covered Service Member's Health Care Provider and the Covered  1036 

Individual that the Serious Health Condition is arises from the Covered Service Member's active 1037 
duty in military service; 1038 

• A statement of the family relationship between the Covered Service Member and the Covered 1039 
Employee ; 1040 

• Information from the Covered Employee that proves to the satisfaction of the Carrier the 1041 
identity of the Family Member;  1042 

• The name and address of the Family Member being cared for; and 1043 
• Other such information that is permitted to be obtained pursuant to Section 31-51 mm of the 1044 

Connecticut General Statutes and related regulations. 1045 

The Employer must accept as an alternative form of certification an Invitational Travel Order (ITO), or 1046 
Invitational Travel Authorization (ITA) issued by the Department of Defense to any family member to 1047 
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join an injured or ill service member at his or her bedside. An ITO or an ITA constitutes automatic 1048 
certification of military status and serious health condition. 1049 

• The Employer must accept the ITO or ITA as complete and sufficient certification of the need for 1050 
leave, even if the Covered Employee’s own name is not on it.   1051 

•  The Employer may require proof of a covered family relationship between the Covered 1052 
Employee and service member. 1053 

• If the Covered Employee needs leave beyond the expiration date of the ITO or ITA, the Carrier 1054 
may require certification of status via normal procedures. 1055 

 [Overpayments 1056 

If the plan includes a section regarding overpayments or subrogation, the Employer should state any 1057 
provisions for recouping any overpayment of benefits.] 1058 

Claim Denials 1059 

The plan should indicate that if a claim is denied, the employee will be provided with, at a minimum: 1060 

1. The specific reason for the denial; 1061 
2. The specific law or section of the policy that caused the denial; 1062 
3. What documentation was relied on for the denial; 1063 
4. What documentation can be provided, if any, to reconsider the denial; and 1064 
5. Reference to the reconsideration and appeals processes and timeframes. 1065 

Reconsideration and Appeals 1066 

The plan must include a section notifying the Covered Employee that upon notice of a preliminary 1067 
determination that the Employer will deny a claim or make another adverse determination, the Covered 1068 
Employee may request reconsideration of the determination via the plan's internal appeal process 1069 
before the Covered Employee exercises the right to appeal a denial of the claim to Connecticut 1070 
Department of Labor (“CT DOL”).   The Employer's reconsideration process shall not require the Covered 1071 
Employee to submit a request for reconsideration less than ten calendar days from the receipt of notice 1072 
of its preliminary determination. 1073 

 The Employer's reconsideration process must extend the ten calendar day filing period where an 1074 
individual establishes to the satisfaction of the Employer that circumstances beyond the individual's 1075 
control prevented the filing of a request for reconsideration within the prescribed filing period. 1076 

If the Employer denies the request for reconsideration, it must advise the Covered Employee in writing 1077 
(or electronically, if the Covered Employee consents) that the Covered Employee may appeal to the CT 1078 
DOL and identify how to contact the CT DOL. 1079 

The Employer shall be required to furnish the CT DOL all documentation requested by the CT DOL in 1080 
accordance with CT DOL regulations. 1081 

Definitions 1082 

If it includes any of the following definitions, the plan shall include definitions that are no more 1083 
restrictive than those required by the CT Paid Family Leave Act and policies: 1084 
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From Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 31-49e and 31-51kk: 1085 

• Base period 1086 
• Base Weekly Earnings 1087 
• Covered Employee 1088 
• Employ 1089 
• Family member 1090 
• Grandchild 1091 
• Grandparent 1092 
• Health care provider 1093 
• Parent 1094 
• Reduced leave schedule 1095 
• Serious health condition 1096 
• Sibling 1097 
• Son or daughter 1098 
• Spouse 1099 
• Subject earnings 1100 

From the CT Paid Leave Authority Glossary of Terms: 1101 

• Intermittent Leave (if distinguishing from Reduced Leave Schedule) 1102 
• Family Violence 1103 
• Incapacity 1104 
• Bonding Leave 1105 
• Caregiver Leave 1106 
• Armed Forces/Armed Services 1107 
• Health care provider (as applied to Armed Forces/Military Leave) 1108 
• Qualifying Exigency Leave 1109 
• Inpatient Care 1110 
• Continuing Treatment by Healthcare provider 1111 

 1112 

 1113 

 1114 

 1115 

  1116 
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EXHIBIT B 1124 
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PLAIN LANGUAGE GUIDE 1127 
TEMPLATE 1128 

1129 
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INSTRUCTIONS TO EMPLOYERS 1130 

Employers shall provide employees a written description of the proposed private plan in plain language 1131 
(“plain language guide”) at least two weeks in advance of the vote. For purposes of this requirement, 1132 
“plain language” shall be defined as reasonably capable of being understood by the recipients of the 1133 
document.  1134 

The plain language guide shall include the information in the template below. An employer may add 1135 
other information the employer wishes to provide to the employees about the plan, such as information 1136 
about additional benefits and examples, provided such additional information is accurate, complete and 1137 
non-coercive.  Italicized text in the template indicates language that may be modified by the employer. 1138 

 1139 

 1140 
 1141 

PLAIN LANGUAGE GUIDE 1142 
 1143 
INTRODUCTION 1144 
 1145 
An Act Concerning Paid Family and Medical Leave creates the Paid Family & Medical Leave Insurance 1146 
Program to provide wage replacement benefits to eligible employees who need to take leave from work 1147 
for reasons allowed under the Connecticut Family and Medical Leave Act (CT FMLA) or the family 1148 
violence leave law, specifically:  1149 

• Because of their own serious health condition; 1150 

• To care for a family member with a serious health condition;  1151 

• To bond with a newborn baby, newly adopted child or newly placed foster child; 1152 

• To care for a family member who became ill or was injured in the course of duty while 1153 
on active duty in the military; 1154 

• To address specific issues associated with a parent, spouse, or child’s active duty in the 1155 
military 1156 

• To address specified needs associated with family violence. 1157 
 1158 
 1159 
The CT Paid Family & Medical Leave Insurance Program is run by the CT Paid Leave Authority and is 1160 
funded by contributions of ½ of 1% of the wages of employees working in Connecticut.  Starting on 1161 
January 1, 2022, employees may apply to the CT Paid Leave Authority for wage replacement benefits. 1162 
 1163 
As an alternative to the CT Paid Family & Medical Leave Insurance Program, an employer can apply to 1164 
the CT Paid Leave Authority for permission to offer its employees a private plan.   1165 
 1166 
For a private plan to be approved, it must provide its employees with all of the same rights, protections 1167 
and benefits that are provided to employees under the Connecticut Paid Family & Medical Leave 1168 
Insurance Program and comply with the requirements established by the Connecticut Paid Leave 1169 
Authority.  An employee’s rights under the CT FMLA and the family violence leave law are the same, 1170 
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whether or not the employee receives income replacement benefits through the Paid Family & Medical 1171 
Leave Insurance Program or through an employer-provided private plan. 1172 
 1173 
In order to apply for permission to offer a private plan, the employer must show that a majority of its 1174 
employees working Connecticut voted to approve the proposed private plan. 1175 
 1176 
You are receiving this information because your employer wants to apply to the CT Paid Leave Authority 1177 
for permission to offer its employees a private plan.  1178 
 1179 
 1180 

EXPLANATION OF THE PRIVATE PLAN 1181 
 1182 
 1183 

What does this Plan do? The plan is an {Employer}-sponsored benefit plan that provides 
compensation to eligible employees who take leave from work for a 
“qualifying reason,” as defined below. 
{Employer} is offering this Plan is as an alternative to the publicly 
administered Connecticut Paid Family & Medical Leave Insurance 
Program.  
{Employer} certifies that this Plan gives its employees all of the same 
rights, protections and benefits provided to employees under the CT 
Paid Family & Medical Leave Insurance program.  
 {Employer also certifies that this Plan provides the following rights, 
protections or benefits that are greater than those required by CT law:    } 
 

{How is this Plan different 
from the previously 
approved Plan?}  

{If an employer is seeking to make material changes to the Plan, it must 
explain those changes in this section of the Plain Language Guide as well 
as in connection with any other relevant Questions and Answers in other 
sections of the Guide} 

Who is covered by this 
Plan? 

All employees of {Employer} working in Connecticut are covered by this 
Plan 

• The plan is not limited to certain segments of the {Employer’s} 
workforce 

The plan covers future employees, not just employees who were 
working for {Employer} at the time of the vote. 
 
The plan covers former employees of {Employer} for up to 12 weeks 
from the date they separated from {employer} or until they are eligible 
for coverage from the CT Paid Leave Authority or another private plan 
approved by the CT Paid Leave Authority, whichever comes first 

• Former employees are covered no matter why they left 
{Employer]. 
 

What are the benefits 
provided under this plan? 

An eligible employee who is unable to work because of one of the 
“qualifying reasons” listed below, will receive income replacement 
benefits from the plan to replace the lost wages. 
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If your wages are less than or equal to the Connecticut minimum wage 
multiplied by forty, the weekly compensation offered to you will be 
ninety-five per cent of your base weekly earnings.  If you earn more than 
that amount, your weekly benefit rate also include 60% of the amount 
your base weekly earnings that exceeds the Connecticut minimum wage 
multiplied by forty. 
 
In all circumstances, the total weekly compensation shall not exceed an 
amount equal to sixty times the Connecticut minimum wage.  
{The employer may provide illustrative examples.} 
 
{If the plan provides income replacement benefits at higher levels, the 
employer may modify this section accordingly. Under no circumstances 
can the employer provide lower income replacement benefits.} 
 
{If the employer does not provide any paid time off to its employees, it 
may omit the following language:} 
 
{The Employer requires or does not require} you to use employer-
provided accruals to supplement the income replacement benefits 
provided under this plan. 

• The combined total of income replacement benefits and 
employer-provided accruals cannot exceed 100% of the 
employee’s wages. 

• You have the right to retain at least two weeks of their 
employer-provided accruals instead of using them during your 
leave. 
 

Does this plan provide me 
with job-protected leave if 
I need time away from 
work? 

An employee’s rights to job protection under state and federal law are 
the same, whether the employee receives income replacement benefits 
through the Paid Family & Medical Leave Insurance Program or through 
an employer-provided private plan. While the plan itself does not 
provide job protection, in most cases, employees receiving income 
replacement benefits under this law will also be entitled to job 
protection under a separate law called the CT FMLA. For more 
information about the CT FMLA, please consult the Connecticut 
Department of Labor. 
 

Who is an “eligible 
employee” to receive 
income replacement 
benefits under this Plan? 

{The plan may waive this earnings requirement} 
Any employee of {the employer} who is working in Connecticut and has 
earned at least $2325 while working with {the Employer} in the highest 
earning quarter in the first 4 of the past 5 quarters is eligible to receive 
income replacement benefits from the plan 
 

What are the “qualifying 
reasons” that I can receive 
income replacement 

If you meet the eligibility requirements, you can receive income 
replacement benefits if you need to take time off from work for any of 
the following reasons: 
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benefits? • To care for yourself because of your own serious health 
condition, including pregnancy and organ or bone marrow 
donation 

• To care for a family member with a serious health condition 
o “Family member” means your parent, spouse, son, 

daughter, sibling, grandparent, grandchild, or individual 
related to the employee by blood or affinity whose close 
association the employee shows to be the equivalent of 
those family relationships. 

• To bond with a newborn child, newly adopted child or newly 
placed foster child 

• To address specific issues associated with a parent, spouse or 
child’s active duty in the military;    

• To care for a family member who became ill or was injured on 
active duty in the military;  

• To address specified needs associated with family violence. 
 

What is the maximum 
amount of time I can 
receive income 
replacement benefits? 

The plan will provide up to 12 weeks of income replacement benefits 
within a 12-month period for the reasons listed above, with the 
following exceptions:  

• The plan provides for 2 additional weeks of income replacement 
benefits for a serious health condition resulting in incapacitation 
that occurs during a pregnancy. 

• An employee can receive income replacement benefits for a 
maximum of 12 days out of the 12 weeks if the reason for leave 
is to address specific needs associated with family violence 

 
{The intended method to calculate the 12 month period (e.g. rolling 12 
month lookback, calendar year, etc) must be explained here. 
 
If the plan provides income replacement benefits for a longer period of 
time, the employer may modify this section accordingly. Under no 
circumstances can the employer provide income replacement benefits for 
a shorter period of time.} 
 

Do I have to be out of 
work for a certain amount 
of time before I can 
receive income 
replacement benefits 
under the plan? 

No.  There is no waiting period.  An eligible employee may receive 
income replacement benefits under this plan on the first day the 
employee is unable to work because of one of the “qualifying reasons” 
listed above.  

Can I receive income 
replacement benefits for 
absences of less than a full 
week? 

Yes. The plan provides income replacement benefits to employees who 
need to take time off from work for periods of time that are less than a 
full week.  
 
Benefits can be received on a pro-rated basis for absences that are less 
than a full day.   
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Under the CT FMLA, there are rules regarding when an employee can 
take job-protected leave for less than a full week.  This plan does not 
change those rules. 
 

Do I have to pay for these 
benefits? 

{The employer will need to answer this question based upon the plan 
it has retained however, the employee cannot be required to 
contribute more than 1/2 of 1% deducted from their wages up to the 
defined Social Security wage base (using the same calculations for 
determining total wages as are used to calculate FICA) and done so 
through payroll deduction, to coincide with each pay cycle.} 
 
Default response for employers following the statutory scheme: 
Employees contribute ½ of 1% up to the defined Social Security wage 
base to pay for this plan.  
 

How will I apply for 
income replacement 
benefits? 

{The employer will need to answer this question based upon the plan 
it has retained.  At a minimum, the answer must include contact 
information for filing a claim or requesting information about the 
plan} 
 

What is a “serious health 
condition” 

For the purpose of determining if you are entitled to income 
replacement benefits because of your own serious health condition 
or to care for a family member with a serious health condition, 
“serious health condition” means an illness, injury, impairment, or 
physical or mental condition that involves (A) inpatient care in a 
hospital, hospice, nursing home or residential medical care facility; or 
(B) continuing treatment, including outpatient treatment, by a health 
care provider. 
 

Who counts as a health 
care provider 

In order to qualify for income replacement benefits because you need to 
take time away from work because of your own serious health condition 
or to care for a family member with a serious health condition, you may 
need to provide medical documentation from a health care provider. 
 
The plan shall accept any of the following as a “health care provider”:  

• A doctor of medicine or osteopathy who is authorized to 
practice medicine or surgery by the state in which the doctor 
practices;  

• A podiatrist, dentist, psychologist, optometrist or chiropractor 
authorized to practice by the state in which such person 
practices and performs within the scope of the authorized 
practice;  

• An advanced practice registered nurse, nurse practitioner, nurse 
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midwife or clinical social worker authorized to practice by the 
state in which such person practices and performs within the 
scope of the authorized practice;  

• A Christian Science practitioners listed with the First Church of 
Christ, Scientist in Boston, Massachusetts;  

• Any health care provider from whom an employer or a group 
health plan's benefits manager will accept certification of the 
existence of a serious health condition to substantiate a claim 
for benefits;  

• A health care provider as defined above who practices in a 
country other than the United States, who is licensed to practice 
in accordance with the laws and regulations of that country; or  

• Such other health care provider as the Labor Commissioner 
determines, performing within the scope of the authorized 
practice.  

 
Can I have income taxes 
deducted from any 
benefits I receive? 

Yes, if you request to have income taxes deducted from the income 
replacement benefits you receive, the amount specified shall be 
deducted and withheld in a manner consistent with state law.  
 

My spouse and I work for 
the same employer. Will 
we have to share income 
replacement benefits? 

No. Spouses working for the same employer are each entitled to 
compensation under this plan; they do not have to share the number of 
weeks of compensation. (It should be noted, however, that under the 
federal FMLA and state FMLA, employers may require spouses who work 
for the same employer to share their job-protected leave entitlements.) 
 

What rights do I have if I 
am denied income 
replacement benefits? 

You are entitled to request a reconsideration of any denial of benefits to 
{the plan administrator} If you are not satisfied with the results of that 
reconsideration or prefer to not request reconsideration, you may file an 
appeal with the Connecticut Department of Labor. 
 

Who at my employer may 
I contact if I have 
questions about this plan? 

{The employer must complete this section based on its specific situation. 
The employer must provide employees with information on who to 
contact for more information and how to contact them.} 
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