# STATE OF CONNECTICUT

Department of Administrative Services Division of Construction Services Office of the State Fire Marshal

Policy Directive: 1, Addendum 2 Replaces: New Administered by: Office of Education and Data Management Date: March 27, 2020 Duration: Until Revised Authority: State Fire Marshal

# SUBJECT:

# MAINTAINING CERTIFICATION

#### Purpose:

To outline the number of training hours required to maintain certification and the policy and procedures regarding continuing education credits.

#### **Training Hours**

#### Discussion:

To maintain certification, fire marshals, fire investigators and fire code inspectors must earn continuing education credits. The number of continuing education training credits required for fire marshal certification is established in Connecticut General Statutes (CGA) 29-298, and for fire investigators and fire code inspectors in Regulations for Connecticut State Agencies (RCSA) 29-298-16. All continuing education credits must be earned within the individual's three-year certification cycle.

- 1. Fire Marshals must earn 90 hours of continuing education credits during their three- year certification cycle.
- 2. Fire Investigators must earn 30 hours of continuing education credits during their three-year certification cycle.
- 3. Fire Code Inspectors must earn 60 hours of continuing education credits during their three-year certification cycle.
- 4. Individuals who are certified Fire Investigators and Fire Code Inspectors, but are not certified Fire Marshals, must earn 90 hours of continuing education credits during their three-year certification cycle.

# **Certification Cycle Training Status**

- 1. Fire officials have 24/7 online access to their training record. It is the official's responsibility to verify his/her training record periodically to verify all credits have been added.
- 2. Six months before a fire official's cycle end date, the Office of Education and Data Management (OEDM) will send a reminder email to notify the official that s/he has not yet met the required training hours.



3. Three months before a fire official's cycle end date, OEDM will send, via certified mail, an intentto decertify letter to notify the official that s/he has 90 days to earn the necessary credits, request an informal compliance conference or a hearing (within 30 days from date of letter), retire certification, or request an extension.

# **Certification Cycle Extensions**

In some circumstances, certified fire officials are unable to complete the mandated number of continuing education credits during their three-year certification cycle. In certain documented situations, a request for an extension may be granted. Examples of extenuating circumstances that may result in an extension include:

- 1. Military deployment
- 2. Personal medical problems
- 3. Family medical problems
- 4. Death in family
- 5. Incarceration
- 6. Personal hardships such as divorce

The request for an extension must be submitted in writing to OEDM, and documentation is required to substantiate the request. The length of extension granted is determined on a case-by-case basis.

# **Continuing Education**

Per CGS 29-298 (b), the State Fire Marshal and Codes and Standards shall conduct education programs designed to assist fire officials carry out the duties and responsibilities of their job. OEDM, on behalf of the State Fire Marshal and Codes and Standards, awards continuing education credit for live classroom and online training that is sponsored by OEDM or an outside entity. The following applies to all training regardless of delivery method or sponsorship:

- 1. Qualifying continuing education programs must be relevant to the duties of the fire official seeking credit. There should be a clear linkage between the subject matter presented in the continuing education program and the duties of the code official.
- 2. A fire official may earn up to 50% of his/her mandated continuing education credits from training programs designated for building officials.
- 3. Instructors must meet one of the following standards:
  - a. Be a certified Level I Instructor (minimum), NFPA 1041 Fire Service Instructor Professional Qualifications.
  - b. Possess a current State of Connecticut teaching certificate.
  - c. Be recognized by OEDM as being qualified to teach the subject matter.

All instructors must submit a resume detailing their education and/or experience in the subject matter being presented.



#### **OEDM Sponsored Training**

- 1. Training announcements will be posted on OEDM's LMS, website and sent via fire listserv for the spring and fall semesters, conferences, and special offerings.
- 2. Attendance will be tracked by OEDM and stored in database.
- 3. If space permits, fire officials may audit classes in the precertification training program. Applications must be made through OEDM's Administrative office.

#### **Outside Credit**

- 1. Applicants are encouraged to get prior approval from OEDM before attending non-OEDM programs to ensure continuing education credits will be awarded.
- 2. Fire officials must submit an outside credit application to OEDM for review of applicable content and number of training hours. The applicant must provide all information requested, including, program title, program description, hours attended, date started, and date completed, program sponsor, and location of program. In addition, the applicant must provide proof of attendance (i.e. certificate of completion or official transcript). When attendance is not documented the application will not be processed.
- 3. Outside credit applications for classes not pre-approved must be submitted to OEDM 30 days prior to the fire official's cycle end date. Outside credit applications must be submitted within ten days of the training.
- 4. Should OEDM determine that a training is not related to the duties of the fire official, it will notify the applicant of such a determination. If OEDM determines the number of continuing education hours are less than the amount indicated on the application, the applicant will not be notified. Applicants may check their training record in the database.
- 5. OEDM will consider, on a case-by-case basis, awarding credit for teaching training that is relevant to the duties of the fire official. Credit will be awarded for teaching on an hour-for-hour basis, one time only within the instructor's three-year cycle, to a maximum of 50% of the required credit hours.
- 6. OEDM will consider, on a case-by-case basis, awarding credit for courses relative to the duties of a fire official and administered by an accredited college or university, or a recognized national organization (i.e. ICC, FEMA, NFPA and IAAI).
- 7. OEDM will consider, on a case-by-case basis, awarding credit for documented service on state or national professional organization panels or meetings (i.e. 541 Committee, NFPA, ICC etc.). Such



credit will be awarded at a rate of 50% total time attended to a maximum accumulation of 50% of the required training credit hours per three-year training cycle.

- 8. OEDM will award credit for Connecticut Codes and Standards Committee Activities. Attendance and participation at Connecticut Codes and Standards Committee and Sub-Committee meetings will be credited on an hour-for-hour basis. The maximum accumulation of such credit will be 50% of the required credit hours per three-year cycle. Participation in administrative appeals to the Committee will not be recognized for the award of continuing education credit.
- 9. If a fire official's outside credit application is denied, and s/he wants to appeal the decision, the fire official many, on forms provided by OEDM, present his/her appeal to the Fire Marshal Training Council. Following review, the Council will present its recommendation to OEDM. In all cases, OEDM, in consultation with the State Fire Marshal, will make the final determination.