
Contractor Prequalification Program  

Required Documentation

Letter from Bonding Company

On bonding company's letterhead, indicating date of letter, company name, company address, company aggregate 

work capacity (the maximum amount of work the company is capable of undertaking for any and all projects), single 

limit (the estimated cost of a single project that your company is capable of undertaking) and contact information for 

bonding company's representative. Prequalification is contingent upon the bonding company having at least an “A-“ 

(A-minus) rating by the A.M. Best Company. 

Status Letter from the State of Connecticut Department of Revenue Services (DRS)

Commonly known as a DRS Letter of Good Standing, and may be obtained from the DRS website at:

https://www.elicense.ct.gov/Lookup/LicenseLookup.aspx 

The following are required for the Contractor Prequalification Program. Required documents and application fee must be

uploaded to the application using the Document Upload and Payment functions. Applications will not be considered

complete until all requirements are met. 

Note: DAS reserves the right to request additional or supporting documentation.

Company Financial Statement

Provide for the most current fiscal year. This statement must be prepared by a licensed Certified Public Accountant 

and conform to generally accepted accounting principles. The statement must include information concerning 

company's current assets, current liabilities, total liabilities and equity.

Under Conn. Gen. Stat. § 4a-100(d), private companies seeking to become prequalified by the Department of Administrative 

Services (DAS) are required to submit, among other data, company financial information. If a private company takes reasonable 

measures to maintain the secrecy of this information, such as stamping the specific data “CONFIDENTIAL,” DAS views this 

information as private, not subject to public disclosure under the Freedom of Information Act.  Specifically, in such a situation, DAS 

will treat the information as exempt from disclosure as a “trade secret” under Conn. Gen. Stat. § 1-210(b)(5)(A).

Unsolicited information will not be considered, returned or retained and may cause delays in processing applications.

This DRS status letter is only valid for 30 days from date of issuance.  It is the applicant's responsibility to ensure it is 

current until the application is approved by Contractor Prequalification Staff.

Note: for the purpose of Prequalification, the DRS status letter must indicate no current outstanding tax liability to the 

State of Connecticut and must be current and valid.  For questions, please call DRS at 860-541-3254.
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Aggregate Work Capacity Requested Initial Fee Renewal Fee

$   5,000,000.00 - or less $600.00 $300.00

$   5,000,000.01 - $   8,000,000.00  $750.00 $375.00

$   8,000,000.01 - $ 10,000,000.00 $850.00 $425.00

$ 10,000,000.01 - $ 15,000,000.00 $1,000.00 $500.00

$ 15,000,000.01 - $ 20,000,000.00 $1,500.00 $750.00

$ 20,000,000.01 - $ 40,000,000.00 $2,000.00 $1,000.00

$ 40,000,000.01 - or more $2,500.00 $1,250.00

Register with the Secretary of State

Ensure the company is registered with the Connecticut Secretary of the State and the most recent Annual Report is 

filed: https://service.ct.gov/business/s/onlinebusinesssearch?language=en_US 

Application Fee shall be paid via American Express, MasterCard or Visa on the application portal.

Information on applicable company licenses, registrations and/or certifications from the State of Connecticut 

Do not include company sales and use tax permit or out-of-state licenses.

Company's Safety Manual Table of Contents Page

Current Experience Rating Worksheet from the National Council on Compensation Insurance, Inc. (NCCI) 

Signature Sheet

Signed by an authorized person identified in the online application. See application for instructions.

Performance Evaluations

All 100% completed jobs that required prequalification under 4a-100 must be listed under Project Evaluations. It 
is the applicant’s responsibility to ensure these are all listed.

Performance Evaluations are requested electronically within the application. It is the applicant's responsibility to 
follow up with evaluators to ensure completion of evaluations.  Applications will not be submitted until all 
qualifying evaluations are complete.

For more information, please visit the Secretary of the State website, or call at 860-509-6003.

Applicants must provide 3 evaluations per classification. Only projects that have been completed within the last 5 years 
will be considered. Water treatment plant is the exception as it requires 1 evaluation with no time limit. Private project 
evaluations may be added to meet the required number of evaluations.

Fee

Renewal fee is one-half (1/2) of the full application fee for the requested AWC.

Late Renewals (submitted after certification expiration) will be charged the full Initial Fee.
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