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All renewals must be processed through National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). The 
Department does not accept cash, checks or paper applications. 
 

1. What are the important dates relative to the RENEWAL of Adjuster and MVPD 
Appraiser licenses? 

 Renewal instructions will be emailed starting on April 5, 2023. 
 All renewal applications MUST be processed electronically through nipr.com 

from: April 1, 2023, through June 30, 2023. 
 All current licenses expire June 30, 2023. 
 New licenses issued through March 31, 2023, will have a June 30, 2023, expiration 

date and must renew. 
 New licenses issued after March 31, 2023, will have an expiration date of June 30, 

2025. 
 The effective date of the next 2-year license period is July 1, 2023, to June 30, 

2025. 

2. Where will the renewal instructions and procedures be sent? 
Renewal notifications are emailed to the current email address listed on your license 
record. To verify what email address we have on file, go to NIPR’s website, Select “Go 
to Online Application” link, and you will then select “Product Type: Demographic 
Update.” 

3. I didn’t receive my emailed renewal notification; How do I obtain a 
replacement? 
Unfortunately, we are unable to email duplicate notices. You do not need your 
original notice to renew. You may renew your license through nipr.com, select 
“Licensing Center,” Select “Renew a License” beginning April 1, 2023. 

4. Why am I unable to get into my renewal with my Connecticut license number? 
When Connecticut transitioned to SBS, November 2021, license numbers were 
converted to a National Producer Number (NPN). 

https://portal.ct.gov/cid
https://nipr.com/licensing-center/renew
https://nipr.com/
https://nipr.com/
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5. What is my National Producer Number (NPN), and where can I obtain this 
information? 
National Producer Number is located on your renewal notification. If you did not 
receive your notification, you will be able to obtain your NPN by going to the State 
Based Systems (SBS) website, select ”Print License” or once you start the renewal 
process through nipr.com. Under Licensing Center, select “Renew an Existing License”. 

6. I no longer want my license, what do I do? 
Do not take any action. The license will automatically expire effective June 30, 2023, if 
no payment is received. Connecticut does not issue a fine or penalty for an expired 
license. The expiration of the license is not considered an administrative action and 
does not have to be reported. Due to heavy processing volume during the renewal 
period, we will not process cancel/termination requests. 

7. What is my residency status and where can I obtain this information? 
The residency status is located on your renewal notification. It will show Resident, 
Non-Resident, or Non-Resident DHS. If you did not receive your notification, you may 
verify this information by going to the State Based Systems (SBS) website, select 
“Print License.” Your status will show on the Print License page. 

8. I am changing (or have changed) my Designated Home State (DHS) from one 
state to another. How will this affect the license renewal process? 
It will not affect your Connecticut non-resident renewal. Proceed with your renewal. 

9. How much is the renewal and by what method can it be paid? What type of 
payment does NIPR accept? 
The renewal fee is $80.00 plus the NIPR transaction fee. NIPR accepts MasterCard, 
Visa, American Express, PayPal or Electronic Check. No cash, check, or credit card 
payments are accepted at the Department. 

10. Can I pay by phone? 
No, all renewals must be completed online through nipr.com. 

11. Do I need to complete Continuing Education? 
No, Connecticut does not have CE requirements for Adjusters or MVPD Appraisers. 

12. Do I need to submit a Letter of Certification or proof of my current resident or 
DHS license for renewal? 
No, we will verify proof of status through NIPR. 

https://www.statebasedsystems.com/solar/index.html
https://www.statebasedsystems.com/solar/index.html
https://nipr.com/
https://www.statebasedsystems.com/solar/index.html
https://nipr.com/
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13. I want to change my Designated Home State (DHS) to Connecticut, can I do 
this? 
No, you must renew your non-resident license during the renewal period. 

14. May I have an extension of time to renew my license? 
No, there are no Regulatory provisions allowing for extensions. 

15. Is there an exemption for military service? 
Yes, the renewal fee will be waived during the year in which a licensee is called to 
active military service. Provide a copy of military orders and/or discharge papers to 
the Department at cid.licensing@ct.gov. Make sure to include licensee’s name and 
NPN; Subject: Military Waiver. 

16. Will I be able to amend my license while renewing my current license? 
No. Amending a license is a separate transaction with a separate fee of $130.00. You 
must renew your current license first. After you have received email confirmation 
from NIPR that your application has been approved, you may then submit your 
amendment application. 

17. How can I submit any required documentation needed for my renewal? 
Attach any required documentation to the NIPR Attachment Warehouse while you 
are processing your application. The processing of your renewal application will not 
begin until the required documents have been attached to the document 
warehouse. If no documentation has been submitted to the NIPR warehouse within 
60 business days, the application will be considered deemed abandoned. You will be 
required to submit a new application/fee. The Department does not issue refunds on 
deemed abandoned applications. 

18. If I received an error message or cannot complete the renewal, who should be 
contacted? 
Please contact NIPR at: customerservice@nipr.com or (855) 674-6477. 

19. I am unable to connect to the NIPR website. What might be the problem? 
Please try on another computer or use a different browser such as: Google Chrome, 
Firefox, or Microsoft Edge. 

20. What is the processing time for renewal applications? 
It is anticipated that volume will be heavy during the month of June and may take 15-
20 business days. Please be patient. You will receive an email notification when your 
renewal has been processed and ready to print. The Department will not be able to 
respond to status calls, during this time. Note: if you answer “yes” to any of the 

mailto:cid.licensing@ct.gov
https://nipr.com/licensing-center/attachments
mailto:customerservice@nipr.com
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questions on the renewal application, the processing time will not begin until all 
required documents have been attached to the NIPR warehouse at 
https://nipr.com/licensing-center/attachments. 

21. Can renewal applications be submitted in batches by the Insurance Company 
or Agency? 
Yes. Information can be found at the following link: https://www.nipr.com/products-
and-services/nipr-gateway/resellers 
To become a NIPR customer, please contact NIPR Marketing via email at: 
marketing@nipr.com or (816) 783-8467. 

22. My company is asking for a receipt of payment; how do I obtain this? 
You may obtain the receipt of payment, by going to nipr.com. Under the Licensing 
Center, select, “Helpful Tools”; Scroll down to select “Learn About Licensure.” Select, 
“Print Your Application Receipt.” You will not be able to print a renewal receipt of 
payment from the Department’s website. 

23. I missed the June 30, 2023, renewal deadline. Is there a grace period? 
No, there is no grace period. Starting Monday, July 3, 2023, you must reinstate the 
license by applying for a new license at: NIPR. Do not select “Renew a License.” The 
reinstatement fee is $130.00 plus the NIPR transaction fee. 

24. Can I get a refund for my renewal payment? 
No, Connecticut statutes do not provide for refunds of renewal application 
payments.  

25. May I change my address while renewing my license on nipr.com? 
No. You must update your address through NIPR’s website. Select “Go to Online 
Application” link, and you will then select “Product Type: Demographic Update.” Please 
allow 1-2 business days for your information to get updated, before submitting your 
renewal application. 

26. I hold both the Adjuster and Motor Vehicle Physical Damage (MVPD) Appraiser 
licenses. Will I be able to renew both licenses at the same time? 
Yes. As you are going through the online renewal process, a list of licenses you 
currently hold in Connecticut will come up. You will check off each license you would 
like to renew at that time. 

 
Additional questions/inquiries should be directed to NIPR at:  
customerservice@nipr.com or (855) 674-6477. 

https://nipr.com/licensing-center/attachments
https://nipr.com/licensing-center/attachments
https://www.nipr.com/products-and-services/nipr-gateway/resellers
https://www.nipr.com/products-and-services/nipr-gateway/resellers
mailto:marketing@nipr.com
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