
STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
INSURANCE DEPARTMENT 

Bulletin No. FS-4C-19 

December 3, 2019 

To: ALL CAPTIVE INSURERS DOMICILED IN CONNECTICUT, BRANCH CAPTIVES LICENSED 
TO TRANSACT BUSINESS IN THE STATE OF CONNECTICUT AND RISK RETENTION 
GROUPS FORMED AS CAPTIVES, DOING BUSINESS IN THE STATE OF CONNECTICUT 

Re: FINANCIAL REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

In accordance with Section 38a-91 gg of the Connecticut General Statutes, each captive insurance company 
domiciled, including the dormant captives, agency captives, or, in the case of a branch captive insurance company, 
licensed in the State of Connecticut must file annual financial reports with the Insurance Commissioner. Such 
filings must be made with verification under oath from two executive officers of the captive. Financial statements 
and reports are due on the following dates unless the captive is permitted by 38a-9lgg to file an application for an 
alternative date with the Insurance Department and the Commissioner has agreed to the alternative date. 

Type Annual Filing * Alternative Date, if Permitted Accounting 
Defined in§ 38a-91aa Due Date Basis 

Association Captive March 1 Not Permitted GAAP 
Branch Captive March 1 60 days after end of fiscal year GAAP 
Industrial Insured Captive March 15 75 days after end of fiscal year GAAP 
Pure Captive March 15 75 days after end of fiscal year GAAP 
Ri sk Retention Group March 1 Not Permitted GAAP 
Special Purpose Financial Captive March 1 60 days after end of fiscal year Statutory 
Sponsored Captive March 1 Not Permitted GAAP 
Dormant Captive March 15 75 days after end of fiscal year GAAP 
Agency Captive March 1 7 5 days after end of fiscal year GAAP 

* Applications for permission to file on a fiscal year basis will require a written request addressed to the State of 
Connecticut Insurance Commissioner, including the captive insurance company's fisca l year and a commitment to 
providing the financial report within 60 or 75 days after the end of their fiscal year, as applicable. 

The required annual financial statements except for the dormant captives will be certified by an independent 
public accountant and will include a statement of opinion on loss and loss adjustment expense reserves made by a 
member of the American Academy of Actuaries or a qualified loss reserve specialist. The statement of opinion on 
loss and loss adjustment expense reserves will accompany the unaudited financial report, due at the Connecticut 
Insurance Department, as prescribed in the above chart. Audited financial reports are due 5 months following the 
end of the captive insurance company's annual "calendar" or "fiscal" accounting period. Each association captive 
shall file its report in the form required by sections 38a-53 and 38a-53a. This form may also be used by pure, 
industrial risk insured and special purpose captive insurance companies; however, they may apply to the 
Commissioner for perm ission to fil e in an alternative form. 

Branch captives must submit a copy of all reports and statements required to be filed by the jurisdiction in which 
the alien captive insurance company is formed . These must be filed with verification under oath by two executive 
officers of the alien captive insurance company. The Commissioner may waive the requirement for completion of 
the annual captive statement for business written in the alien jurisdiction if the reports and statements provided to 
the alien's domiciliary jurisdiction give adequate information concerning the financial condition of the alien captive 
insurance company. Filings made by alien companies in their domiciliary jurisdiction which provide the same 
essential information as is required in the reports filed by Connecticut domiciled captive insurers will generally be 
granted a waiver even though such information is presented in a different format. 

www.ct.gov/cid 
P.O. Box 816 • Hartford, CT 06142-0816 

An Equal Opportunity Employer 

www.ct.gov/cid


For Risk Retention Groups: 

The Liability Risk Retention Act of 1986 U.S.C. 390let seq. (LRRA) requires that each Risk Retention Group, 
doing business, as a registered (non-Connecticut domiciled and not Connecticut licensed) company in the 
State of Connecticut, to submit an electronic copy of the annual financial statement with the NAIC (including 
certification and actuarial opinion statements) as described in Connecticut General Statutes, Section 38a-5 3, and 
this must be submitted by March I of each year. 

Each Risk Retention Group, doing business as a Connecticut domiciled and State of Connecticut licensed 
company, is required to submit an electronic copy of the annual financial statement with the NAIC, as above, 
and also submit one electronic copy of the financial reporting statements (including certification and actuarial 
opinion statements) with the Connecticut Insurance Department. 

Each risk retention group is also required to submit quarterly financial statements, electronically filed with the 
National Association oflnsurance Commissioners. Quarterly filings are to be made as follows : 

Quarter Ending Due Date 
March 31, 2020 May 15, 2020 
June 30, 2020 August 15, 2020 
September 30, 2020 November 15, 2020 

Please refer to State of Connecticut Insurance Department Bulletin Number FS-4RR-I9 for further 
information and clarification. 

All required filings, applications for deviations and requests for waivers may be made electronically via email to 
Janet.Grace@ct.gov may be sent to the Captive Division: 

P.O. Box 816 
Hartford, CT 06142-0816 

Mail sent by private delivery should be directed to: 

Captive Division 
153 Market St. 
6th Floor 
Hartford, CT 06103 

Questions and additional requests for information should be directed to Captive Division via e-mail: 
Janet.Grace@ct.gov or by phone to (860) 297-3813 . 

Insurance Commissioner 
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