
 

 

 
  

 
 

 
 

 
 

  
  

 
         

 
 
 

  
 

   
 

 
 

              
   

    
        

 
 

 
 

  
 

     
    

     
    

 
 

   
 

 
   

 

 
       

 
 

   
  

                                                         
     

STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
INSURANCE DEPARTMENT 

Bulletin PC-90 
January 3, 2020 

(Replacement of Bulletin PC-45-03 dated October 30, 2003 and Bulletin PC-84 dated June 16, 2017) 

To: ALL EXTENDED WARRANTY PROVIDERS AND EXTENDED WARRANTY 
REIMBURSEMENT INSURANCE POLICY INSURERS 

Subject: EXTENDED WARRANTY CONTRACTS AND REIMBURSEMENT 
INSURANCE POLICIES 

This Bulletin PC-90 is intended to provide guidance to extended warranty filers and insurers of the 
Insurance Department’s (the “Department”) revised extended warranty filing procedures. Insurance 
Department Bulletins PC-45-03 dated October 30, 2003 and Bulletin PC-84 dated June 16, 2017 are hereby 
withdrawn and replaced by this Bulletin effective for extended warranty filings made on and after January 
1, 2020. 

I. EXTENDED WARRANTY FILING REQUIREMENTS 

Conn. Gen. Stat. §42-260(c) and Conn. Agencies Regs. §42-260-1 et seq. set forth detailed consumer 
protection requirements for extended warranty providers to sell and market extended warranties in 
Connecticut.  Extended warranty forms are required to be filed with the Department for informational 
purposes together with a filing fee of thirty dollars per form ($30/form).  As described in III. below, all 
such filings are required to identify—by the SERFF Number or State Tracking Number—the extended 
warranty reimbursement insurance policy1 form (and the insurer) covering the obligations under such 
extended warranties. 

II. EXTENDED WARRANTY REIMBURSEMENT INSURANCE POLICIES 

Conn. Gen. Stat. §42-260(d) provides that an extended warranty contract provider may not issue, sell or 
offer for sale extended warranty contracts in this state unless they are insured under an extended warranty 
reimbursement insurance policy issued by a Connecticut authorized insurer (or the extended warranty 
provider is able to satisfy certain financial security requirements as set forth in Conn. Gen. Stat. §42-
260(d)).  Insurers selling extended warranty reimbursement insurance policies are required to file rates and 
forms for these products pursuant to the insurance commercial risk rating statutes under chapter 701 of the 
Connecticut General Statutes.  For extended warranty filings made on and after January 1, 2020, the 
Department will limit its review to the extended warranty reimbursement insurance policies covering the 
obligations under such extended warranties. 

1 The policy is often filed with the Department as a Contractual Liability Insurance Policy (“CLIP”). 
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III. FILING PROCEDURES 

Extended warranty filings are required to: 

1. Be filed via SERFF by, or on behalf of, the Extended Warranty Provider. 

2. Be submitted with a filing fee in the amount of $30 via SERFF Electronic Funds Transfer 
(“EFT”) for each form filed with the Extended Warranty. 

3. Contain an explanatory memorandum with the following information: (i) identity of the 
extended warranty provider; (ii) a brief description of the program to which the filing pertains; 
and (iii) the SERFF Number or State Tracking Number of the insurer issuing the extended 
warranty reimbursement insurance policy covering the obligations under the extended 
warranty. 

4. Include the same caption as in the original filing for changes of previously submitted filings 
and an explanatory memorandum describing the changes. 

If you have questions concerning this Bulletin, please contact George B. Bradner, Property Casualty 
Division Director at george.bradner@ct.gov or (860) 297-3866. 

Andrew N. Mais 
Insurance Commissioner 
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