How do I know when I need to publish an item?
Publishing needs to happen when one of three actions take place to an item: creation, modification, or deletion. A majority of items require a manual publish by the System Administrator while some are automatically published. Below is a breakdown of actions for specific tasks:
The following items are automatically published:
- Initial creation of a folder
- Initial upload of a Media Library item
- Deletion of an item
- Relinking pages w/deleted media library items
- Approved pages
The following items require manual publishing:
- Initial creation of a page (System Admins ONLY)
- Initial creation and changes to Agency Navigation item
- Initial creation and changes to a List item
- Initial creation and changes for a Blurb
- Changes to a Folder*
- Changes to an Agency Navigation*
- Changes to a List*
- Changes to an Existing Page*
- Changes to a media library item*
- Initial creation and changes on Approvers
- Creating a Friendly URL
- Unpublishing a page
* Changes to any of the following actions include updates to content, hyperlinks, metadata, teaser/description, page file/title name, document/image file name, tagging, images, alt. text on an image, and dynamic list filtering options.
How do I publish a page I created or edited?
If the page you have created or edited follows a workflow, there are three ways to publish a page, depending upon your role:
I created a new page or edited a current page but it is not showing up on my website.
Make sure you save your work and it has published. Newly created pages and any changes made to existing items will not show up until they are fully published.
If you have submitted your work through a workflow, check with your Approver. They must approve the work for them to be published and show up on the website.
I published a page and somehow the rest of the document is no longer available. Is it possible to restore this page when the version tab is not showing previous versions?
Answer: Unfortunately, without page versions enabled, which is activated when a folder is assigned a workflow, there is no way to revert back to previous versions of the page. Without versioning, every publish is essentially over-writing the file, so there is nothing to revert back to.
I want to set a page to automatically publish at a future time and date. How do I do this?
Answer: Unfortunately the Sitecore system does not have a "scheduled publish" function in the way you are needing. The way it works now is that if a page is not to be viewable on the web until after a certain date/time, then any manual publishings/approvals that occur prior, will result in a 404 error if someone tried to view that page on your website.
But once that scheduled date/time is reached or passed, then any manual publishing/approval that occurs for that page will result in the page being viewable on the web.
So a publish date can be set for Sept 30th at 12am in the Publish section of the page properties, but another manual publish will still need to be done at 12am or shortly after to view that page on your site.
Sitecore is not publishing my changes.
Answer: There might be some odd HTML code on that link causing it not to display. Remove it, republish the pages, and see if that works.
When I attempt to publish a page, I get an error message that said it is saved as a draft, I continued and it said it won’t be published and it isn’t published.
Answer: When you come across a page when editing that shows that message alert, it means the page has a workflow assigned to it. Make sure to select the “Bypass Approval" or "Approve" from the "Edit" drop down on the Home tab or from the Review tab.
If you select the “Publish Content” icon on the Publish tab, the publish will run but the changes you made will not show up on the live site. Learn more about publishing pages with a workflow.