How do I restore a page that was accidentally deleted?
Answer: Visit the Recycle Bin for instructions. You can restore prior versions as well if the page has a workflow assigned to it.
I am having trouble with removing a page from my website. The page has been deleted from Sitecore, but still remains on the website. How do I go about fixing this?
Answer: Any time you delete an item, you'll need to publish the parent folder in which it was initially found. Make sure "publish sub-items" is checked in the Publish dialog box.
For example, when deleting a "Most Popular" link item, you'll need to publish the "Most Popular" links folder before the deletion will be reflected on the live site.
I have a press release that is showing twice under my News and Press, yet I deleted it.
Answer: In order to finalize the deletion of an item, the parent folder must be published with the "Publish sub-items" option selected.
I want to delete a specific page, and when I do, Sitecore tells me it will create 14 broken links. All the links are the same though. This happens every time we delete items from the content editor and the media library. Why does Sitecore show extra broken links? It should show each link one time shouldn't it? Not the same link multiple times.
Answer: This is most likely due to versioning. When you delete a page, Sitecore will want to fix the broken link on every version of a page that the deleted page was linking too. This way if you ever had to go back to an older version, the older versions will not contain broken links.
With Sitecore, you should be able to bulk change all of those links at once by choosing link to another item or remove links, then hit continue, if needed choose the page to replace the link, then click okay. Sitecore will then fix the broken link on all those links at once.
My page keeps saying the following:
Please initialize your module with a starter category in Website Admin prior to use. If you are not ready to use this module, change it to not be shown on the internet or intranet in Module Configuration.
Answer: It could be that some text was part of a page that was recently deleted from that folder, but the parent folder was never published to finalize the deletion.
Sitecore is still displaying the old page, as the parent folder of items must be published in order to finalize deletions.
In order to finalize the deletion of an item, the parent folder must be published with the "Publish sub-items" option selected.