Publishing a Page
Typically, Content Authors can only submit a page to Content Approvers for review to be published. However, a Content Author can be granted publishing permissions upon request from their System Administrator. As Content Authors create or edit an existing page, they will notice a change in the blue message bar based upon their permissions and the Home tab on the Experience Editor Ribbon.
This blue message bar indicates the page is assigned a workflow and can By-Pass Approval or Submit for review to a Content Approver. When you select the By-Pass Approval link, enter in a comment that will be saved in the system and the page will publish.
Content Authors with publishing permissions on pages that are not assigned a workflow can publish the page by selecting the Publish Content icon in the Experience Editor Ribbon found on the Home tab.
This means Content Approvers will not be notified of the published page.
- From the ribbon, select the Home tab.
- Select the Custom Publish icon.
- A Publish Item window will open with publishing options. Ensure the following options are selected:
- Smart Publish - This will publish the page.
- Publish subitems - This will publish all pages under a folder.
- Publish related items - This will publish any dependent files linked to page(s) being published, such as images and document files.
- Publish language: English
- Publish targets: Internet (web)
- Select Publish.
- A confirmation window will open asking if you are sure you want to publish the items.
- Select OK.
- A dialog box will appear indicating items are being published. Once complete, it will show the results.
- Select Close when done. The item(s) is now published.